Guest private patio area with BBQTwo of my guests enjoying the snorkeling in our own bay (about 2 mins from the studio)
South Kona studio, 2 min from beach
Hosted by Kristina
Kristina is the host.
2 guests
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Private, lockable, ocean-view studio in quiet, beachy subdivision. Self-catering. Dark and quiet at night. Spectacular views. Secluded beach and snorkeling bay, 2 mins away, at bottom of hill.

The space

Welcome to South Kona, Big Island of Hawaii! I offer a private, ocean-view studio apartment on the garden level of a single-family home in a beachy, rural subdivision/community comprised of interesting custom homes. This studio is separate and lockable from the main house and has a private entrance via side staircase. Sleeps two guests max. I can take parties of--(a) one adult; (b) two adults; or (c) one adult and one older child.

Our own secluded, uncrowded, black-pebble beach and bay offers easy access to outstanding snorkeling, kayaking, diving, fishing and swimming. The north finger reef hosts absolutely astounding snorkeling. Dramatic pinnacles dotted with coralheads teem with zillions of colorful tropical reef fish and other creatures. Unlike beaches in town, it's very uncrowded here most days and you will probably have the whole beach to yourself. :) The beach is about two minutes' drive away via a crazy steep road. You can walk it-- but driving is recommended.

This property is located between mile marker 96-97 in South Kona; about 45 minutes from Kailua-Kona and about 25 minutes from the actual town of Captain Cook. Please see island map in my Photos for approximate location.

Spacious, cozy, clean, comfortable studio outfitted with all you need. Self-catering. We have cooktop cooking--including utensils, dishes, glassware and pots/pans. Also there is a coffee grinder, drink blender and even a pancake griddle! NEW: Ultra-luxurious, certified organic King mattress by Nest Bedding with topper on brand new platform. (A recent guest called this a "rockstar" bed. ) Also, pleasant cement patio outside: a picnic table, gas BBQ for grilling up that great island fish or island-grown beef. Save money on restaurants—eating out is pricey! Cook here at home. New patio chairs and table also outside.

Please note: This is a setting quite off the beaten track, so if you are looking to walk to nightlife, convenience stores or Starbux, this location is NOT the place. If you want to see canopies of stars, hear birds and whales and the crashing surf, and be near premier, uncrowded snorkeling, well, that's more like us. Most guests love our rural location for just these reasons. At night, it's a safe, peaceful, quiet, dark, breezy and simply gorgeous out here. This is not a five-star resort room, nor should you expect it to be. It's a cozy, cottage-like, fully outfitted apartment in a mature, family neighborhood. A little bit funky, a little bit sweet, a lot homey, a lot comfy.

No streetlights, no highway noise, no frogs and NO chickens. Just crashing surf (in winter).

Our quiet subdivision is stair-stepped onto the dramatic, steep slopes of Mauna Loa, (the world's largest active volcano) creating commanding, 180-degree panoramic ocean views. This affords us vistas all the way to Kailua town 25 miles to the north. Clear horizon lines run 35 miles straight out to sea. Sunsets are extraordinary experiences on this part of the island, especially at our location and elevation. You feel like you are on top of the world --yet still close to the beach. Our leeward (Kona means "lee" or calm) side of the island is characterized by mostly dry, sunny weather year round, with a light increase in rain in the summer months. Average year-round temp is 80 degrees. Perfect.

In winter, we can hear the raucous humpback whales from up here (November through April). Star-swept skies astonish. Cool elevation of about 750 feet means that ocean breezes keep us naturally comfortable all day, every day. We don't have the loud shrieking frogs that have invaded much of the rest of the island.

Summer conditions are calm and placid, ideal for snorkeling. Although it can be a bit more rainy.

The beach right below us is a sweet pebble cove with a protected bay. Snorkeling along the finger reefs here (in calm conditions) is excellent. Our beach is a TRUE best-kept secret. Shore divers love this area, also known for its abundant sealife, startling pinnacles and breathtaking coral gardens. (The Kona Aggressor dive charter parks just to the north of our bay.) Kayaking is premier and it's easy to launch (in calm conditions) from our paved beach parking lot.

Hiking along the ancient King's Trail and to "Secret's" mini black sand beach is also accessible from the beach. Walk even farther north and reach the place we call the "Secret Grotto" -- A gorgeous, secluded black sand beach surrounded by coco palms.

Free use of my snorkeling equipment (with signed waiver) beach umbrella, beach cooler & chairs, sunshades, reef shoes, surfwear, noodles, beach towels and beachmats.

Free, reliable and fast Wi-Fi. Furniture includes brand new organic king size platform bed from Nest Bedding, end tables, dining table and chairs, sitting chairs and lamps, two dropleaf tables, two armoires for storage. Futon couch. New 19-inch flat screen/DVD player with a few good movies and a few B or C movies. :) There's also a classical acoustic guitar in the room available if you are a musician. We are on a self-sustaining rainwater catchment system here, so water conservation is requested and appreciated.

Enjoy often spectacular sunsets in the evenings, amidst the sounds of hundreds of roosting mynah birds, (depending on the time of year). It's tranquil and dark out here... a great location to experience the real vibe of Authentic Kona, Hawaii.

Your hosts in the main house are friendly, longtime Hawaii Island residents with a Maltese dog and grumpy-faced cat.

We are approx. 23 miles south of Kailua-Kona, about an hour south of the airport. With the new bypass open, we are under 30 minutes to Keauhou Bay.

LOCAL DRIVING DISTANCES (North): We are 15 minutes south of Pu'uhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (the best preserved cultural refuge and ancient temple complex in the state) and "Two-Step," featuring outstanding snorkeling, said to be among the top three in the state. Twenty minutes from world- famous Kealakekua Bay--a pristine bay and protected marine reserve/underwater park great for swimming, dolphin sightings and whale-watching. Ten minutes to beautiful, sandy Hookena Beach where you can rent a kayak. Five minutes to the famed coffee belt of the Honaunau Valley.

It's about 12 miles north to the town of Captain Cook, with services such as gasoline, restaurants, grocery and banking. It's 45 minutes to Kailua or Keauhou if you DO want some nightlife, dining, bigbox retailers, sportfishing, golf, luaus or tennis.

In short, South Kona is home to a great variety of different beaches and attractions all within minutes.

HEADING SOUTH: We are about one hour and 20 minutes to the phenomenal Hawaii Volcanoes National Park with (currently) two live eruption sites. Punalu'u Black Sand beach, with an abundance of sunbathing turtles, is about 45 minutes south as are turnoffs for the Green Sands Beach and South Point. (A paved 12-mile access road takes you to within hiking distance of these spots.)

My place is great for a single or couple who want a nicely located spot near the beach that's still in the West side tropical zone... but seek a setting well away from the retail, heat, tourists and bustle of Kailua town.

(NOTE: Food and other provisions are the responsibility of the guest and are not provided.)

Hiring a car for mobility's and convenience sake is mandatory.

No minimum required stay except during the holidays. Winter rates (November through April) are higher. Ironman week is higher. Christmas week must be booked as a 7-day minimum block. (Can be more nights; cannot be less.) Same with New Year's week. Sorry, short-stay requests for dates too far in advance cannot be accepted. There is a non-refundable, $85 preparation/turnover fee and $150 refundable security deposit required.

NOTE ABOUT TAX: Due on arrival. I must collect Hawaii excise and accommodation tax IN CASH of 14.42% on MY payout amount. I'll let you know this amount when you book. The collection of tax is mandatory and non negotiable.

I can often take you last minute, or for a short stay so please enquire.

NOTE: For security reasons, the AirBnB map here does not show my exact location, (mm 97) so if you want to know approximately where it is, just ask.

IN CLOSING: I do ask that you complete your AirBnB Profile, especially if you have no reviews or references. I'm only interested in hosting self-sufficient guests who are quiet, courteous and respectful and who desire a quiet rural location. Do read the listing and house rules carefully to make sure it's a fit for you before booking. Please be aware that while we take every precaution to prevent insects from entering the flat, one or two might make it inside as they do in all homes in Hawaii. They are harmless and easy to remove. Please let us know immediately and we'll take care of the unwanted visitors.

I cannot issue refunds for booking errors. Please book carefully.

If my long ramble has not answered all your questions, write with ANY and ALL questions about the place, location or its amenities, and I'd be glad to answer!

Mahalo! and e komo mai! (Welcome).

Once you book, and they release our contact info, I will email you the detailed guest info. I've hosted guests from around the world and enjoy introducing them to this wonderful spot. :)

SVENJA January 2015
10 Excellent
"Perfect place for all activities that one can think , very good location, great beach .
Lovingly decorated and clean. Thank you for the many useful insider tips and great equipment for water fun , really everything is there, you could possibly need .
And the best : a very nice and welcoming host . High praise .
Mahalo, Kristina"
Perfekte Unterkunft für alle Aktivitäten, die man sich nur denken kann, sehr gute Lage, toller Strand. Liebevoll eingerichtet und sauber. Danke für die vielen nützlichen Insider-Tips und die super Ausrüstung fürs Wasservergnügen, ist wirklich alles da, was man brauchen könnte. Und am besten: eine sehr nette und zuvorkommende Gastgeberin. Großes Lob. Mahalo Kristina
10 Excellent

Uda, Germany,
Ein schönes Aparment mit guter Ausstattung in super Lage. Alles entspricht der Beschreibung und es mangelt an nichts. Kristina ist sehr nett und gibt super Tipps. A really nice appartment next to the bay. Good equipment for snorkling and several books are helpful for a really nice vacation. Kristina is really nice and gives good tips. I would return to this place for my next vacation on Hawaii.
10 Excellent
Feedback to you
Thank you for the great time in South Kona Studio! We enjoyed especially the snorkel stuff and the books about Hawaii. The Studio is really nice!

Guest access

Separate, private, lockable, ocean view studio apartment for two in quiet, beachy subdivision. Self-catering. Snorkel and beach equipment. Secluded, uncrowded beach in the subdivision is 2 mins by car. Fridge, limited indoor cooking and new outdoor gas BBQ grille available. Your own patio with furnishings. A lazy outdoor cat for company. :-)

Interaction with guests

I greet them and leave them be if they wish, or I am available to answer questions if they need. If they want to share a glass of wine, I'm up for that too. Otherwise I give them their privacy.

Other things to note

NOTE ABOUT TAX: Due on arrival. I must collect Hawaii excise and transient accommodation tax IN CASH of (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)% after Jan 1 2018) on MY payout amount. I'll let you know this amount at the time of booking. This is the same tax levied on every Hawaii hotel room night. The collection of tax in cash is mandatory and non negotiable, and is allowed by Airbnb in their TOS. My TAT license is posted in the room. I thank you... and the state of Hawaii thanks you. :)

License or registration number

Learn about this number

Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises

Sleeping arrangements
Common spaces
1 king bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 4PM - 11PM
Check out by 11AM

We're very mellow ... so if you are too, we'll get along well. This is a family home and neighborhood. Quiet time 10PM-7AM. These are our neighborhood association curfew hours which must be respected. No loud parties at any hour. It's a very quiet area, so please respect our nearby neighbors, as sound carries here and I wish to maintain good relationships with them!

• Only your approved and registered guests allowed on property.

• Check-in time is 4:00PM-11:00PM. Please text with an ETA. Mahalo. Accommodations tax in cash due upon arrival.--Please have it ready.

• We do ask that you conserve water; we're on a self-sustaining rainwater tank system. No long showers. Please finish showering by 11:00pm, as late showers wake us upstairs.

• Extreme caution required for BBQ and cooktop use. Never leave unattended!

• No smoking. (If you simply must, you can always walk up to the street, just so it is not on the property.) This includes e-cigs/vapes. Also, no burning candles, Incense or mosquito coils inside or outside.

• Please remove your own trash (take it with you) as we have no trash service out here: Trash and mixed recycles can be taken to nearby trash station at mm 99-100. Trash must NOT be left in the flat or in the carport.

• Divers: Rinse your ocean gear, especially wetsuits, on the boat docks before you leave your charter--not inside the apartment in the bathtub.

• Please don't move furniture. This includes the bed. Furniture moved incorrectly will break.

• Energy conservation required. Please turn off all lights and fans when leaving the room.

• Read the listing carefully before booking. Make sure the studio and its location/amenities are a good fit for you. Ask questions first if anything is not clear.

• Leave South Kona Studio as you found it.

Last but not least, please enjoy your stay with us!

I will email a PDF file of complete information to you once you are booked.

e komo mai ! (Welcome!)

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - 15 outdoor stairs
Pet(s) live on property - One lazy cat, One Maltese dog


114 Reviews

Check In
Kyle User Profile
September 2017
Excellent! This is a really great little studio apartment by the beach in a very quiet part of the island. It has nice ocean views from right inside the room. You can lie in bed and see the ocean and even feel ocean breezes in the morning. The apartment itself was extremely clean, comfortable and cozy, and came with a lot of amenities for the price. The furnishings and amenities are exactly as described. The king-size bed is amazing! I like the decor. It’s decorated in a cute island-style way which I appreciated. It’s also got snorkel, gear and other beach gear, like chairs, coolers and umbrellas for guests to use. (Plus a BBQ, which I didn’t get the chance to use.) The beaches nearby (one is a black sand beach a short hike away) are unique, beautiful and uncrowded. There are tons of fish on the reef in the bay just down the road. When I arrived, Kristina gave me a nice orientation about the South Kona area and pointed me toward the hidden gems and gave me lots of practical advice about things to do and see and what to avoid. Kristina was courteous, helpful, quiet, and overall an excellent host. When you book, she sends a very useful and amazing PDF guidebook which you can use for your entire stay on the Big Island. Communication was good and immediate. The location is in a peaceful, neighborhood, great for solitude after a busy day exploring the island, and I should note, it’s a lot cooler here than in town. There’s also a funny, affectionate (outdoor) cat named Buster that I wanted to take home with me. Overall, the apartment was affordable, relaxing, quiet and a great deal compared to the local hotels. Would book again.
Kristina User Profile
Response from Kristina:
Thanks so much! Please come back soon. You are always welcome here.
September 2017

Marco User Profile
September 2017
UNCOMFORTABLE, I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND IT. My wife and me had planning this trip since long, hoping to recover stress and exhaustion accumulated during a hard and unlucky year. We were looking forward to enjoy the island and relax in a comfortable and cozy accommodation. Unfortunately we were unlucky. We have chosen this accommodation because of the good and many reviews – honestly, where do this good reviews come from? How do people really judge a good and honest accommodation? The reviews are completely misleading us and in our opinion they got all wrong. I am starting by saying that if you run a business, like truism service and accommodation business, you MUST offer a minimum of service, particular if you want to get well-paid. That is not the case the accommodation we were offered – overpriced and no services. Summary: I won’t go back and I won’t certainly suggest this accommodation to anybody. This SELF-SUSTAINED, SELF-CATERING accommodation is extremely UNCORFOTABLE, OVERRATED, POORLY SERVED and certainly OVERPRICED. For few hundred dollars more we may have gone to a hotel where you could have fresh bed-sheets every morning, all the water as possible in the shower, possibility to flush the toilet when needed, and many other basic accommodation service. We found one nice hotel in Kailuna-Kona at the same price of our accommodation. With a regular hotel, if you do not like the infrastructure you can find another one on the spot without losing money. Unfortunately you cannot do that with Airbnb and if you end up with an accommodation below the “booking” promises, you cannot certainly change it unless you lose your money. This is bad side of Airbnb. I guess everything depends on luck and the honesty of the hosts promoting their accommodation.
Kristina User Profile
Response from Kristina:
I’m not sure what caused this guest to blow up. He was cordial while here and proclaimed the place was “good for us” when they checked in and saw the room. They even shook my hand and said goodbye and “thanks” upon check out. He never spoke to me once about any of the issues he mentions here. If he had, I would have happily worked with Air to re-accommodate him. The bed is a brand-new, king-size, $1900.00 Nest Bed setup which all guests universally love. Just to be clear, no guest is ever asked not to flush. And because we were in the wet season during their stay, I didn’t even ask this guest to conserve water at all. I also left an extra set of clean sheets for them and offered fresh towels for midway through their stay as well. But because it is self-catering accommodation (clearly explained in my listing) there is no maid to service the room daily, which they apparently expected. These guests may not have understood the difference between an Airbnb accommodation and a hotel. To future guests, I believe I am clear on what we offer and where we are located. Our 100-plus positive reviews attesting to enjoyable guest stays, my hospitality and local knowledge reflect that! I always respect my guests and love helping them make the most of their time here in Hawaii at a very affordable price point. Aloha.
September 2017

Joseph User Profile
August 2017
This South Kona studio was an amazing home base to get to all of the go-to spots in the area, tons of non-crowded beaches, and a TON of hidden local gems (the best farmer's market, fruit stands, locally-roasted coffee, meal options). The studio was very comfortable and is an amazing value, but the real reason to stay here is the host. Kristina is not only an expert on everything Hawaii, but also very timely with her communication. I'd never been to the island prior to this trip, and with my wonderful host's help, my itinerary made sure to include some of the best choices (and perhaps more importantly, avoiding the tourist traps that aren't nearly as worth it). If you want to experience Kona from a local's perspective (with bits of touristy stuff sprinkled in), Kristina's studio is the place to be.

Anna User Profile
June 2017
Kristina's place is beautiful and peaceful! She's very close to a wonderful snorkeling beach and knows where all the great spots are on the island. She is a wealth of j fo! Thanks so much!
Kristina User Profile
Response from Kristina:
So glad you enjoyed your stay. You were great to host!
June 2017

Kevin User Profile
May 2017
Kristina's place was great! Perfect views and a short drive down the road to Pebble beach. Note the road is pretty steep going down the hill. We drove into town most days and her place was not far from many excellent locations. Kristina provided a wonderful pdf with tips about the location and things to do.

Clark User Profile
May 2017
This is a very nice studio! It is larger than it looks online. VERY quiet. It was great to have a full kitchen. As advertised, the bed is super comfy, King size. There is a quiet overhead fan that keeps the room very comfortable when the porch door is open. I like bed having my coffee on the porch ever morning and enjoying it her gorgeous view. Kristina is a wonderful host! She really knows the island and gave me some good tips. For those of you who want to snorkel she REALLY knows where to go. She is very quiet and respectful of your space. At the current time she has a very friendly cat-Buster who will probably hang out with you if invited. This is a good location if you want to explore the entire island , but if you are coming for a golf vacation this is about an hour and a half drive from Mauna Kea, Mauna Launi and Hapuna. Still a great place!!!!!
Kristina User Profile
Response from Kristina:
Such a delight hosting you. Thank you once again for sharing the bottle of champagne with me. Please know you are always welcome back!
May 2017

Elise User Profile
April 2017
Our stay was wonderful! Kristina was a great resource on Island adventures, and prompt in response to any questions we had. A central location & offered the comforts of home. The studio was perfect. Highly recommend to anyone.
Kristina User Profile
Response from Kristina:
Thank you so much. You two--and your fish catching skills-- are always welcome back. :-)
April 2017

Hawaii, United StatesJoined in July 2010
Kristina User Profile
Advertising copywriter. Magazine features journalist. Substitute teacher sometimes. Homeowner here since 2004. Love outrigger paddling and tennis. Live aloha!
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.

This is Kristina’s place.
Mr helps host.

The neighborhood

Similar listings