Victorian flat in Bruntsfield

Apartment - Entire home/apt · B Merchiston Crescent, Edinburgh, EH10 5AS, United Kingdom
Mary
Your host, Mary
6 Reviews
Response rate: 86%
Response time: within a day

The Space

This is a fully furnished 2 bedroom flat in a Victorian villa in Bruntsflield close to the Meadows. This accommodation is practical, pleasant and has comfortable furnishing. It has a spacious living room with high ceilings. This flat can sleep up to 4 people and is ideal for a couple with one or two children.
WIFI access included.
Fully equipped kitchen : hotplates, oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, kettle and washing machine/dryer.
Towels and Linen provided (Weekly change of linen/towels and weekly cleaning may be arranged at an extra charge)
Child cot/ travel cot and high chair can be made available if needed.
Gas Central heating
Welcome Pack and greeting service included.
Parking: Metered Parking Mon-Sat (phone number hidden), free outside these hours
Excellent bus service to all parts of Edinburgh.
Within a few minutes walking distance: Grocers, Banking Machine, Restaurant, bus Stop.

- This is a no smoking property and not suitable for pets.
- Minimum stay 1 week
- WIFI access included

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 7 nights
Weekly Price: $794 /week
Monthly Price: $1588 /month
Cleaning Fee: $53
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • My friend and I stayed here for a month and it was absolutely wonderful. They place was so very nice and it began to feel like home toward the end of our stay. We believe we were on a very nice and safe neighborhood and it was very quite at night. It was in a perfect location for us. It was a few minutes walk from a grocery store and a main street with cafés. The apartment had a kitchen that had everything we could need to cook with and the beds were comfy! There was a lot of closet space and hangers for us to use. Having a washer was very convenient, and we made do without a dryer. We also had great communication with our host! We would recommend this spot to anyone and would gladly stay here again!

    July 2014
  • My friend and I stayed four month in the amazing flat of Mary during our semester abroad in Edinburgh. The flat is located in a very calm neighborhood of the city and has a good connection to the city centre and also to the university. It's also no problem to walk to the centre (about 20 minutes). The flat contains everything you need for living: towels, linen, a full equipped kitchen… The rooms are beautiful as the flat is in an old house.
    Mary is a great landlord who's reachable almost all the time and responds very quickly. Also her assistants Angie and Ezster are very kind and always willing to help if there is any question or problem.
    We really enjoyed our stay and can totally recommend the flat!

    May 2014
  • We stayed there for three months at the end of 2013 (a couple with a girl). It is a very nice flat, just so cozy as it looks in the pictures. I have to say it is quite cold in the winter, a least for Spanish standards, but central heating works fine. We made a reasonable use of it and owner didn't ask for any extra. She was also very flexible in other respects. You will find everything you may need in the kitchen and bathroom, and the surroundings are gorgeous, with nice views to the garden. The neighborhood is safe, quiet and elegant, and neighbors are very kind, just as the owner and the cleaning service.
    Some odds: although It is well communicated to the city center by bus, it is quite a long walking distance, and it is not so easy to get to other places of Edinburgh, where you will have to take two buses. You won't find playgrounds for kids at a short distance (at least 15 min. walk to the first one in the Meadows). Despite what is said in the website, the washing machine is not a dryer. You will have to hang clothes in the bedroom —they dry up quite quickly though, thanks to the heating.
    Besides this minor issues, I recommend it without hesitation. It is a very good choice.

    December 2013
  • I stayed at Mary's flat for one week and it was great. Well decorated, totally clean. As far as I have learned, house was built in 1860s but still in very good condition. It may seem a bit away from city center but it takes only 20-25 min to walk there, so you dont really need bus! I never faced a problem, also Angie, assisting Mary, was very friendly. Neighbourhood is quiet, green. Strongly adviced. Thanks to Mary and Angie.

    September 2012
  • My husband and I stayed at Mary's flat for 1 month in July-August 2012. The flat is absolutely beautiful and very comfortable, and in a lovely area of Edinburgh with lots of cute independent shops, bakeries, cafes, and so forth. There are many bus lines within a short walking distance, and a convenient taxi stand a couple of blocks away. The neighbors are nice too! Mary was always very prompt and helpful via email, and was even so kind as to forward some mail for us. Angie from the greeting & cleaning service was a welcoming and friendly resource as well. We did have a disruptive few days when a window replacement (scheduled prior to our arrival) turned into a two-day job with noisy drilling, and requiring a cleaner to come in afterward. The window fitter and the cleaning lady couldn't have been sweeter, but we didn't know about it until we arrived and if our stay had been shorter it would have been more than a nuisance. As it was, fortunately, it didn't affect us too much, and we'd still highly recommend Mary's flat. I blogged about our time in Edinburgh so feel free to search my site (see my profile) or contact me about our stay.

    August 2012
  • The flat was beautiful and very spacious. Everything worked fine (including the internet and heating) and was super clean. The location is perfect - a beautiful street in one of the nicest areas in Edinburgh, with loads of cafes, restaurants, supermakets and parks nearby. We enjoyed our stay very much!

    May 2012
Per Month
From
$124
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 74 times
Languages
English, Français
About
Hi, I am a Professor and work on reconstructing the history of climate change. I am Scottish and my family originates from Inverness area. I recently moved to Nantes in France. I enjoy hiking and travelling. I have 2 girls and we love to spend time in our Scottish home when we can get there... We love spending time in Edinburgh and I hope visitors will too.
View full profile
Response Rate
86%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
7 weeks ago
Similar Listings