Joglo Ganesha WIFI and POOL!

House - Entire home/apt · Jalan Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia

The Space

Desa Sanctuary, The Village offers unique accommodations in original antique wooden homes that have been refurbished and restored offering all the modern comforts. Just the right mix of Bali Modern with traditional hand carved Javanese Joglos perched atop open floor plans.

The Village is a private and secure residence situated down a lane on the same street as the famous healer of EAT, PRAY, LOVE. Just minutes from the center of town....ideal for those coming on retreat to Ubud, the cultural center of Bali.

Joglo Ganesha, the grandest Joglo of our Village, features a generous living area with a sumptuous Bali Bed and dining area overlooking the garden and pool. A fully equipped kitchen with double stove top and refrigerator, allows you to make this your home away from home. We also offer an electronic keypad safe large enough for a laptop.

The master bedroom upstairs , with King bed, features detailed carving in the ceiling with expansive glass windows. Shower in the en-suite bathroom nestled in the treetops. Air con completes your comfort. Sit on your private terrace and watch the sunset over the gardens and pool. Joglo Ganesha enjoys a garden view.

For those needing to have room for friends and family, there is an open air Bali Bed with traditional mosquito nettings, as part of our living room, which is fan cooled with a private second bath. The downstairs can be enclosed with bamboo blinds.

The Village features a beautiful pool and WIFI is available everywhere in our Village, so you can be online having a sunset drink by the pool, or reclining in your bed.

Joglo Ganesha, can accommodate 4 persons in total. Prices are valid for 2 person occupation at USD $90 a night, including breakfast for two. Additional occupants, (up to 4 persons total) $15/night/person.

A short distance from Ubud center, Desa Sanctuary is a great place to make your home away from home. A full staff of delightful helpers makes this the best'll never have to lift a finger!

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 0
Beds: 2
Extra people: $15 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $630 /week
Monthly Price: $2250 /month
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • This was my second stay at Desa Sanctuary which I now call my home in Ubud. I had two weeks staying in Joglo Ganesha, the first with my husband and then with my girlfriend. Nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff, from booking taxis to making breakfast and providing ideas for our days out. The wonderful warm smiles we received on our return from adventures around Ubud and genuine interest shown in our activities made the two weeks so relaxed and happy. It was great to catch up with David and Brenda again. Also thank you for our lunchtime surprise of black rice pudding.

    February 2014
  • Dear Sanctuary Team,
    Thank you so much for a wonderful stay in the Desa Sanctuary. The accommodation was perfect and the staff so friendly and supportive in every way.
    Our only reason for not giving 5 stars is the NOISE that we had to deal with . The bikes , the chickens, etc. took a while for us to get used to and whilst I know that you are not able to control the environment, it was a surprise to find it so hectic.
    Thanks again and we wish you all a wonderful new year.
    Lorraine and family.

    January 2014
  • We feel fortunate to have found Desa Sanctuary Villa and our new friends who make up the amazing staff. Nengha, you're a wonderful sharer of the Bali culture -- thanks for guiding and driving us! Taman, we miss your bright smile as we start our days! you too, Komang.

    The Villa is extraordinary -- a few notes:
    some people remarked that it's out of town. It's an easy cycle (which was even faster than motorbikes when there was a ceremony) or 10 minute walk to the start of town and 20 minute walk to Monkey Forest. Don't let that deter you.
    yes, the pool is shared, but it's so lovely and I only saw one person there in our five days and who wants to spend more than a few minutes at a pool when there is so much of Ubud to experience. I suppose if you're dying to be right in town, enough to stumble out of bed and into a yoga class, or from a bar into bed, you might consider carefully, but I walked to Yoga Barn in 12 minutes.
    The breakfast is very good and they bring it quickly without rushing it. (Try the Muesli!)
    The bed is extremely comfortable, the shower nice and hot, the room is beautiful and they clean it well.
    (as an aside, one of us got food poisoning in Seminyak and they took great care with us, even making us the exact rice that the dr. recommended!)
    I can't imagine anyone will be disappointed. Enjoy Bali heaven!

    January 2014
  • We stayed at Joglo Gensha for our 2nd part of our honeymoon. And what a place it is! One of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, beautiful jungle courtyard with an amazing pool ( which was great to jump into after a long day of traveling around Bali ), and one of the most helpful staff on hand that we have ever been around. Scheduling taxis, offering rides, holding our bags for a late checkout, etc. We cannot say enough about David and Brenda's place in Ubud. A def. must stay if you are in the area!

    October 2013
  • We had an amazing stay at this place. To summarise key experiences: beautiful villa exactly or rather better than the images on the website, functional pool, extremely courteous and helpful staff and very well location. I summary - I will we had stayed longer here.

    September 2013
  • We, a Dutch family of four, stayed at the Desa Sanctuary august 13 and 14 2013. We booked well in advance, triggered by the online description, stating '2 bedrooms', ' four person capacity', 'airco', 'a short walk from Ubud downtown'. The garden with pool that the house 'Joglo Ganesha' is situated in did not disappoint, nor did the 'upstairs'. The staff is very friendly and available, serving a good breakfast.

    However there are some issues:
    - there is only one bedroom with airco. The other 'room' is in actuality the open space on the ground floor, comprising the sitting area and kitchen, also providing a double bed. The space can be partially screened off with large rolled-up curtains; there is (obviously) no airco there. This arrangement is visible on the photo's but not evident and conflicting with the 'two bedrooms, airco' statement. In one piece of text you refer to an extra bedroom, in another text to 4 person capacity, and yet somewhere else it is described as guest-room. We find all this misleading and comparing with other accommodation in the area, the price too high.
    - the description states a short walk (2 minutes) to the downtown area, but it took us a half hour at a normal pace to get there. Taxi's are expensive by Indonesian standards, and not easy to get going to town, also leading to unanticipated costs.

    Other -smaller- issues:
    - ' secure' is a term you use, but the gate to the alley (and all outside world) was open day and night, with no key to be found, nor any watchman on duty we’ve seen. That is not security the way we understand it;
    - the pool was out of order for the duration of our stay because too much chloride/salt was administered. No sign was put up, but then we had already bathed because we had not been informed;
    - the directions to the accommodation are a chaos. We booked 'Joglo Ganesha', but should have been looking for the Desa Sanctuary, which only becomes evident through the e-mail address. The Desa Sanctuary sign on the road is ever so small, and is far overshadowed by the sign saying 'Rumah David'. It all appears to be the same thing, after some searching. Then you have to enter an ally and an improbable doorway up some stairs, where no follow-up sign helps out. It is all quite unfindable.
    - During searching the accommodation, we talked to Brenda on the phone while trying to locate the Joglo Ganesha and after quite some effort, but she did not find it necessary to receive us personally or speak to us about the finding-issue. We experienced this behavior as disinterested. Back home, we received a review from Brenda: “nice guests,friendly and sweet. Hope to see them again” but we’ve never meet Brenda of David.
    All in all we are mildly disappointed.

    August 2013
    David And Brenda
    Response from David And Brenda:

    We are sorry to hear of your disappointment and would have loved to have heard about this during your two day stay, instead of after when we cannot correct things for you.

    First I would like to apologize about the pool...Yes...we did have an issue with the chlorine level and thank you for the idea to POST a SIGN stating that.

    We have (we hope) been clear in our description of the downstairs sleeping accommodation
    "For those needing to have room for friends and family, there is an open air Bali Bed with traditional mosquito nettings, as part of our living room, which is fan cooled with a private second bath. The downstairs can be enclosed with bamboo blinds."

    I apologize for the "two minutes to Ubud".....when we actually opened it was a two minute scooter ride to Ubud....However with traffic and tourism, it is now sometimes 10-15 min. Very rarely do people walk to town. Transport is easy to request from our staff who can arrange it for you....that is their job and they are great at it. (I've changed that now on our page)

    We suggest all our guests print the map that we provide in our pictures as this really helps with locating places in Bali, that do not have "typical western street addresses". It's the other great reason to book our drivers from the many drivers from the south do not know the Ubud area.

    Lastly, Sakming is our top staff for meeting, greeting and taking care of any issues. She is also the person to communicate with on our airbnb page and helps us with reviews if we did not personally meet someone and she did....David and I both work at other jobs and cannot be full time at the Village....we are sorry you felt we are disinterested...just the opposite...which is why I wanted to answer all your concerns...

    I hope these small things did not make your enjoyment of Bali less and again, if we can host you again, we will do our best to make it all up to you.

    August 2013
  • We loved Desa Sancturary and our stay in Joglo Ganesha! It's a gorgeous oasis tucked away in the hustling Ubud. The beautiful dwellings surround a pool set in amongst lush tropical gardens. The facility is really peaceful and quiet (at least it will be after we left with our noisy kids!). Joglo Ganesha was simply beautiful, every tiny detail, of which there were many. The pictures give you a great idea of what to expect, yet I was still pleasantly surprised. All staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. It's not right in the centre of Ubud, but only a 10-15min bike ride- easy.
    Definitely recommended, it was the perfect place to unwind and a wonderful introduction Bali.

    July 2013
  • David and Brenda have a wonderful villa with some of the kindest staff! The staff was incredibly attentive to anything my family needed and remind me of why I love the people of Bali so much! The villa itself is simple and tasteful - I love open-air designs and the first floor has a really nice feel to it and great for sharing space with my family. The upstairs is nicely sealed off and airconditioned for when you want to get away from the heat and rest.

    My only criticism is I picked this property so my family and I could walk into town. The description says 2-min from Ubud center, and the map that we received showed it was in a location that it was not. By walking Ubud center is 30min, and by scooter/taxi it's at least 5-min in *good* traffic. They did change their location on the map after I asked, but the description still says 2-min to Ubud center which should be clarified. Though we had a wonderful stay, I would have picked a differently property so that my family didn't have to rely on a taxi to go into town everyday.

    May 2013
  • This is a great little "sanctuary" very private with only a few rooms and a small pool which is enough to cool off when you need to. Quiet and beautifully landscaped, like your own private jungle! The total area for the resort is not large and spacious, everything is fairly compact but still very private. Great room overall, lower bathroom had some ant issues all over the toilet every evening so we did not use it really at all. The main level "second bed" is like a day bed and very much out in the open (you can roll down the wall blinds if you want for privacy or protection from the weather) but my friend and I opted to bunk up in the main room upstairs which was all enclosed and huge with lots of space and air con. The main bathroom has its own door and is open air & a great size too, we didn't have bug issues in there at all. On the main level there is a little gas cooker so you can make some snacks/light meals if you want - big fridge as well. They have basic tea/coffee supplies, cutlery, salt/pepper/sugar etc. We did not have a pot or anything in our unit but we just asked and they had what we needed to use right away - but there was no can opener available. The included breakfast was always good and there are a few options. Main area (lower floor) of the room is very open so expect some random insects here and there but lovely to relax in the evening. The staff were AMAZING here! Nothing but fantastic, friendly and personal service!! The location is near houses etc so we did hear roosters every morning and into mid morning and traffic so it is not going to be completely quiet as you are not isolated. You can walk from the resort to little mart to get some basic supplies for your fridge as well. Easy to walk or get a taxi to the main shopping area of Ubud if you want, just be mindful of the "sidewalks" and their condition. You do need to be more self sufficient here as there is not a restaurant or spa or anything on site - it is easy enough to get out for dinner and you can also order in - the staff were fantastic at helping us with this as we needed to use the hotels phone. There are many pamphlets for restaurants spas etc etc, I might just suggest checking the prices when you order as some have changed. Overall great little gem of a find!

    May 2013
  • We loved this stay, the house was as shown and very comfortable and clean, the staff great. I will be back there :)

    July 2012
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 387 times
David, my husband was a set designer and furniture designer for the movie industry in Los Angeles for thirty years and worked with the tops in the industry....Steven Spielberg, Jodie Foster, Robert Redford, Bruce Springsteen and many more. His built the Captains Chair for Star Trek Insurrection and had the most "ordered" bed in TV history from the TV hit, "Mad about You". He designed furniture for many top Restaurants in Los Angeles from the Saddle Peak Lodge in Malibu to Malibu Adobe with Ali McGraw. His resume is extensive and his client list is long....Billy Crystal, David Hasselhof, Arnold Schwarzanegger to Keenan Wayans. He has translated that skill into building ten amazingly different houses since he's come to Bali. Our house is amazing and you will see why he is so in demand! I have a variety of interests that keep me busy. I was a hairdresser for 30 years in the US and clients still find me, even in Bali. I love doing hair and spending quality time with people. I have spent years doing spiritual growth work and now work with others with addiction and codependency issues and also do Money Coaching. I love this work and the chance to give back what I was taught. I've been an artist my whole life so our home is filled with original art ( mine and others) and I have an awesome studio..Anyone that loves to paint will fall in love here. My latest passion is teaching Zumba, What a blast! As you can see, we are both loving our life and filling the hours manifesting our dreams. We both are creative artists and love to explore the world and the people in it. Since we've been in Bali we've been taking in South East Asia. We love Vietnam, and Thailand for their amazing cuisine. We are frequently traveling, so we are sorry that we don't get to meet all our guests, but we leave you in the hands of an amazing staff and manager, Sakming, who will be your contact person.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
3 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings