THE BEST CHOICE - RENOVATED SOUTH BEACH - POOL / STEPS FROM THE BEACH / WATER VIEW
THE BEST CHOICE - RENOVATED SOUTH BEACH - POOL / STEPS FROM THE BEACH / WATER VIEW
The Alden is an intimate and private oasis located front of Creek and its newly rejuvenated Art Deco structures have been entered into the National Registry of historic buildings. Also features a pool, as well as a landscaped water view from the unit.
The Alden is just steps away from Lincoln Road, Collins Avenue, the beach and landmarks such as The Fontainbleu. The Alden is stylishly Deco set in a functional design that integrates luxury with an active lifestyle.
*Air conditioning*Linens *Towels *Clothes iron and ironing board
*INTERNET & TELEPHONE
*Kitchen , microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, glasses, dishes, pots, pans, all utensils
* 47 " Color LED HD TV with cable
* Free Wi-Fi in the building
Metered parking on the street or public parking lot one block away
Interaction with Guests
Once you make the reservation you will receive a confirmation mail with all the check in information.
The area includes several restaurants just round the corner. A supermarket and beach shop across the street will provide amenities for your stay.
There is convenient taxi service along Indian Creek Rd. as well as several bus lines which stop at the corner. A Deco Bike rental is just one block away.
I arrived in Miami VERY early in the morning after an overnight flight and Adrian had given me a code to the front door of the condo so it was easy to get in. It looks exactly like the pictures and was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and had plenty of blankets and pillows. The kitchen area is supplied with the basic items you would expect like glasses, plates, bowls and a couple pots and pans. Quite a few items were missing if you wanted to do any real cooking but that's certainly not how I wanted to spend my time. Some paper towels would be nice but not expected.
A few negative items but certainly nothing major. The toilet ran almost constantly. The shower took a LONG time to get hot and then didn't drain well so you end up standing in an inch or so of water. Only two bath towels and they weren't exactly large towels, either. One of the two windows that open didn't work, the crank for it just spun endlessly. The freezer didn't work because the door for it had broken and fallen off at some point. Would have been nice to be able to make ice.
Checkout was somewhat interesting. Adrian called me the day before to discuss checkout details and said it would be fine for me to leave at noon and just leave money for cleaning. I was headed back to the room a little before 11am to get my stuff together and leave. I got a call from the cleaner who spoke almost no english but handed the phone to someone else. He explained that I needed to be out of the room already so it could be cleaned. After going back and forth for a couple minutes with me explaining that just wasn't possible it was finally determined that she would come back in 30 min. The whole thing was a little odd but really not a big deal.
Overall I enjoyed my stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. It's a great location just a couple blocks from the beach, really easy to get to and from on the bus and a great value.
The room was clean and beautifully finished, the bed was comfortable, the location is central. The space exceeded my expectations, thanks Adrian for a great weekend in South Beach!
keys were left in the room for us as we arrived late (12am). building is secure with 24hr concierge. the toilet made a high pitched when we arrived, we fixed this temporarily with some paper and Adrian had the maintenance man attend to this the next day. It is a simple apartment in good location. You can hire a scooter and get around easily to the main strip and south beach. We did not try public transport but there are bus stops close by. We only has one roll of toilet paper and ran out in our 4 day stay but we asked concierge and the gave us some. I am not sure if thats standard or they didnt know we weren't one of their hotel guests. Bed is comfortable, the sun does come through the blinds in the morning but that gets you out of bed to explore miami! :) overall nice place but as others have mentioned, more toilet paper would be good. There is now a hairdryer which is fantastic!
Judy it was a pleasure having you as my guests! I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay at my apartment. I am so sorry about the toilet noise the night you arrived but fortunately the plumber fixed it definitively. As you can read in the listing this is a privately managed unit that does not belong to the hotel, so we provide linens and toilet paper but if you require more quantity guests should buy it just around the corner at the Triton Supermarket. Anyway I really appreciate your advise and I said my maid to provide more toilet paper for future guests. Thank you again for being so nice guests!!
Overall, our experience with this rental was ok. It is a no-frills type of a place in a fairly good location in South Beach. It is clean and cute but there were some things that should be improved.
Specifically, we felt that our stay would be have been better if these improvements were made:
- Provide more towels - we only had 3 bath towels and 1 hand towel. Especially if you are staying longer than a couple of days!
- Provide essentials such as extra toiler paper (we only had less than 1 roll and ran out - I don't want to worry about toiler paper shopping on vacation); there were also no tissues or paper towels.
- There was no hair dryer that I could find!
- Toilet made a continuous high pitched noise and I had to open the toilet tank to fix the issue. I am not sure if the fix was permanent
- The cleaning lady provided us the key but she spoke no English at all; if my husband didn't speak Spanish, it would have been a challenge
- Wifi password that was provided did not work
- Pool was not open during our stay
- TV channels did not work - very fuzzy, not possible to watch at all
- One of the windows did not close all the way; this unit overlooks a major street and it was quite loud in the morning and during the day
- I was thrilled that there was an Nespresso coffee machine but unfortunately there was no coffee pods to make any coffee. This would have been nice, although perhaps not required.
Nathalie , Thank you very much for taking the time to provide with such a detailed review on the place. As I always say on my reviews I got notes on how the guests experience the condo and what needs to be improved. In regards to daily cleaning, I would like to remind you though that as this is a private unit not affiliated with the hotel, so we do not provide with linens or toilet papers. When you rent a privae apt you have to buy what you use, we do not provide the services as we are not a hotel. Anyway I will consider buying more towels or extra toilet paper for future guests. I am so sorry condo management changed internet and cable provider just when you were in, a couple of days after you letf they sent me the new wi-fi password. I apologize for that. And lastly I will also consider providing some nespresso pods for future guests. Thank you again for your review, it was a pleasure hosting you! Adrian
- Clean, bright, spacious apartment
- 5 minute walk to midbeach/south beach. Which is a bit quieter than south beach with all the hotels etc.
- 25 min walk to Lincoln Mall with loads of restaurants
- Quick responses from Adrian
- No cleaning during your stay
- Only 2 bath towels for our week long stay which were not cleaned/replaced
- 1/2 used roll of toilet paper
- No 'handover'. Collected keys from the cleaner who doesn't speak English. No guides etc in the apartment.
- Great TV, but every channel is almost unwatchable due to poor reception quality
- Intermittently working Air Con which was very noisy
- Although close to the beach - the area is pretty residential. Not much in the way of shops/restaurants on its doorstep
- Parking is a NIGHTMARE! Although there is no claim of parking in the description, so just a note!
- Although in a 'Hotel' the apartment is not apparently allowed to use the hotel services. Reception will refuse to look after your bags if you have a late checkout etc which meant us wasting a few hours on our last day. The pool was closed and unavailable for the duration of our stay.
The hotel is situated in the Alden Hotel. You can see more details online via (website hidden)/tripadvisor.
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide with such a detailed review on the place. I got some great notes on how the guests experience the condo and what needs to be improved. In regards to daily cleaning, I would like to remind you though that as this is a private unit not affiliated with the hotel, it is a service that we offer but needs to be arranged in advance and has an extra cost per day. Lastly, in regards to parking, it is usually a nightmare to park in Miami Beach, but you do have public and private parking lot options around the block, which we recommend for a fast parking option. Although private parking is usually a bit more costly, you can make sure there is always room and safety for your car.
Thank you again for your review, it was a pleasure hosting you!
Nice Apartment with a great Location. Host Adrian managed to provide us excellent stay in Miami Beach.
Adrian's apt was neat and clean, great location close to the beach. One thing that was not Airbnb standard was paying his cleaning person cash upon arrival, which should have been charged during the Airbnb reservation process.