Quiet, private room in Philadelphia

House - Private room · S Mole St, Philadelphia, PA 19146, United States

The Space

Hi! I have a spare room in my row-home in S. Philly. It is located 11 blocks from the City Hall, and there are international supermarkets nearby. Public transportation going north/south/east/west of the city is 2 blocks away and there is street parking in front of my house.

When we have free time (when my boyfriend is staying with me), we like to show people around, and or to cook together with the guests, but not all the time. Any time of the week will be OK for me to host. I usually go to sleep late at night and get up early. I try to use the least gas for heating during the Winter, and during the Summer I try not turn the air conditioner (I rather have fresh and hot air than cold and not so fresh air).

I have two cats and plants. When I am away, friends take care of them, but if they are not able to, you might have to water the plants (once a week), give water to the cats, and scoop the litter (once every three days). They have a food dispenser, so no need to feed them!

Guest's space:
Your room has a double/full size sofa bed, a small desk, and a small closet.

I have a washer, no drier and also a small backyard. The bathroom, kitchen, living room, basement and backyard are shared. The kitchen is all furnished and I do not mind sharing any spices that you need. I will provide sheets/blankets/towels and, unless you are staying for more than a week, you will not need to wash them after you leave.

My neighborhood:
My block is very clean (I make sure of that by picking up whatever as been thrown away), and it is very quiet!. All neighbors look after each other and we are very friendly. I have a small garden in front of the house and in the city lots behind my house there are several trees (I compost all the organic scraps there).

Public transportation:
Bus lines and the Broad train line (North-South line) run within two blocks of the house. Of course you can bike to-from Center City (I have an extra bike that you could borrow). The bus going north to Market street passes 1/2 block from my house. A bus going east-west on Washington Ave. is 1 block from my house.

Nearby attractions:
If you prefer eating out, there are Dunkin Donuts, Vietnamese, Chinese, Mexican, and Soul food restaurants and a Diner at less than 3 blocks from my house. Within three blocks there is also a supermarket (Save a Lot), an Asian supermarket, and a Dollar Store and small grocery stores. Also, I am about 7 blocks from South Street and from the Italian Market.

My block is very quiet and your room has a window facing several trees behind my house. It is very refreshing to hear the songs of birds in the mornings. The bathroom's window also faces these trees!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Pull-out Sofa
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $20 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 4 nights
Weekly Price: $350 /week
Monthly Price: $800 /month
Security Deposit: $400
Check In: 7:00 PM
Check Out: 9:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • I had a great stay at Gaff's, whose house is really close to a train station, which is really convenient. Gaff is an incredibly nice host, always willing to help and make your stay as good as possible! I recommend you go to her place!

    August 2013
  • I spent a week at Alina's house in South Philadelphia and had a wonderful experience throughout. Although I never actually got to meet Alina she was incredibly nice and helpful in the entire booking process. Instead I stayed with her friend Helen, who looked after the house and was friendly, intelligent, and an excellent host. I regret that I couldn't spend more time there, as I had to work but I would definitely recommend Alina's place to anyone; It met all of my needs, is located near the subway and her two sweet cats are an added perk.

    May 2012
  • My first experience with Airbnb and a very pleasant one. Gaff is very hospitable and truly interested in other people. She let me very free, but was also available for a chat. The contact was so good, that I invited her to my concert, which she attended with friends. I had a private room for a great price. Very close to center city, I walked everywhere I went. Her cats were very nice as well.

    March 2012
Per Month
From
$55
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 19 times
Languages
English, Español, Português
School
Drexel University
Work
Drexel University
About
Having lived and/or visited countries in Latin America America, Europe and Asia, I love to learn as much as I can about other cultures. I like to exercise (practice Martial arts and bike to-from work) and have a healthy life style. I avoid consumption of oily/rich, processed or read meats, and whenever possible, I buy locally grown vegetables. Besides English, I will be happy to communicate in Spanish or Portuguese. Also, having lived in Philly for the last 7 years, I could direct you to the most important touristic attractions!
View full profile
Calendar Updated
3 months ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings