Kitchen. We have a few basics for guest use: cereal, milk, butter, essential caffeinated beverages. Giant mirrors for important outfit decisions. On the right there is a shelf and hangers for guest use. Other side entirely given over to Rosemary's unhealthy coat obsession.
User Profile Image

Best of Both: Stroll to City or Sea

IrelandGalway
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
Per Night
You won’t be charged yet
501 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Double ensuite room on a quiet street in the prestigious Taylor's Hill area of Galway City. A short walk (1.4km/0.86mile) from city centre along beautiful tree-lined streets, and equally close to Salthill and Europe's longest Seaside Promenade.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 5PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Other pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $16 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $5
Weekly Discount: 10%
Cancellation: Flexible
Weekend Price: $44 / night

Description

The space

We hope you'll feel at ease here, and have tried to make our room a warm and happy home away from home. The room is a double, with ensuite bathroom and shower. Towels and linens are provided, as well as some kitchen essentials (milk, tea, coffee, cereal).

There is free on-street parking in front of our building.

Guest access

Guests will have their own room including private bathroom, and use of the kitchen for breakfast and to prepare lunches. Wifi is available.

We prefer that guests do not prepare their evening meal in the kitchen, as it is combined with our living space. It is a short walk into town where a broad range of restaurants and bars cater for any appetite, and any budget.

Interaction with guests

Your host is Rosemary, an Irish PhD student (English) in her late twenties. (Ok early 30s). I like to cook, meet new people, and go on "adventures"; a master of the day trip, I will happily point guests in the right direction, or invite them to tag along if I can. However I'm also independent, and work long hours, so may not always have time to entertain.

I have a pet rabbit named Hossenpfeffer. He lives in his cage in the living room, but likes to come out for a while in the evening. He enjoys hopping around, eating the herbs, and getting his nose rubbed. He's virtually useless for restaurant recommendations.

The neighborhood

Taylor's Hill is a very nice area of Galway City. It is quiet, green and very safe. We love being just outside of town, away from the noise and bustle - a short walk (1.4km/0.86mile) away along quiet streets. We're also within walking distance of Salthill, and Europe's longest Seaside Promenade.

Getting around

Galway is very accessible, and we are only a a 15 minute (1.4km/0.86mile) walk to the vibrant Quay Street area of Galway City, and the same to Salthill. We walk everywhere ourselves, or sometimes take a bike.

There is free on-street parking in front of our building.

It does take a little longer to walk from the bus and train stations - around 25-30 minutes (2.1-2.3km). We do recommend taking public transport if you have luggage, or if the Galway weather sneaks up on you.

The 402 Bus from Eyre Square to Seacrest/Knocknacarra stops outside our house, and costs only €2 from town.

Other things to note

There is no smoking in the house, though I do have a private balcony on which you may smoke, if you promise not to flick ash on the lettuce!


House Rules
Check-in is after 5PM

We hope you will leave the room as you found it.

There is no smoking in the house, though we do have a private balcony on which you may smoke, if you promise not to flick ash on Rosemary's lettuce!

Please be considerate of your hosts and our neighbours if returning late.

The space is for guest use only. Please do not invite friends to use kitchen facilities, etc.

Guests are welcome to use the kitchen to enjoy breakfast, or to prepare a packed lunch. However, as the kitchen is combined with our living space, we prefer guests not have their evening meal here. We can offer restaurant recommendations to suit any taste, and any budget.

Our apartment, and on-street parking, is provided at the guest's own risk. We cannot take responsibility for loss or damage to person or belongings.


Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay.
From Feb 19 - May 31, 2017 the minimum stay is 2 nights.

Your Host


Rosemary

Rosemary

Galway, Ireland · Joined in October 2012

Grad student in my early thirties, red-head and weekend adventurer. American literature nerd, writing a thesis on the role of comedy in novels about war. Born and raised in Ireland by a Philadelphian Mom and an Irish Dad. I love to cook, and will try anything. I believe local recommendations are the only way to go for food, bars, music and scenery. I like to learn about the history of the places I travel to by Geocaching. Runs like the wind, occasionally.

Response rate: 100%(past 30 days)
Response time: within a day

Social Connections