Cosy room(s) in quiet house

House - Private room · Cashel Ave, Dublin, County Dublin Dublin 12, Ireland
Your host, Hugh
27 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The Space

There is a single and/or double room available in Kimmage.
The house is not in the city centre, it is 3km south of city centre. The bus stop is only 2 mins. walk from house and journey times are 20 to 30 mins off-peak (there are 3 bus routes), or 10 mins by car.

The house is semi-detached, in quiet housing estate. There is electric shower, gas heating, high speed broadband wifi, cable TV, microwave, big back garden.
There is one shared bathroom. Guests are free to use the whole house & cook, & there is parking in driveway.

This is my own private home, so I will be here, coming and going from the house. It is suitable for people looking for a casual place to relax in the evening, away from the hustle/bustle of town. I will provide maps etc, and can recommend areas in Dublin to visit.
There is a small Tesco just around the corner, and a larger supermarket 10 mins. walk away.

Other Things to Note

** Please fill in your profile if you wish to stay at my house, write a few lines about yourself & put up a photo. Thanks ***

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $29 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $217 /week
Monthly Price: $743 /month
Cleaning Fee: $6
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Check In
  • Nous avons passé un moment extraordinaire à Dublin, les lieux à visiter et les bars sont magnifiques et l’accueil de Hugh était exemplaire ! Il nous a aidé à trouver plusieurs endroit où s'amuser et sa maison est parfaite et exactement comme les photos présentées. Nous tenons vraiment à te remercier Hugh pour tes explications, tes cartes et les parapluies. Merci beaucoup de ma part et de Laureen !

    May 2014
  • Hugh is a very helpful and considerate host. He helped us make sure we would catch our flight from Dublin to home. We would have missed our flight with our inaccurate travel time estimates. He was helpful in coordinating our rooms for sleeping and it all worked out so smoothly. Also, Hugh is very congenial and showed himself to be a person of good spirits ready to make his guests have a great time in Dublin. The surroundings were very nice and our rental cost was very reasonable. Thumbs up!!

    May 2014
  • Lovely room and home. Hugh is very welcoming, friendly and welcoming. I felt at home immediately.

    May 2014
  • I told Hugh I could not come the night I booked. However my account was debited, he never replied when I ask to get refund. Congrats.....

    April 2014
    Response from Hugh:

    Steve cancelled his 1 night stay 3 hours before his arrival time, then started texting looking for a refund. As per my profile there's a refund with 5 days notice, but I've refunded in other circumstances. I left a longer reply under Steve's profile if you want the full story :)

    April 2014
  • I had a great time at Hugh's place. The house is big and comfy, located in a quiet and calm area.

    Hugh is a great guy, cool and easy-going, always willing to help you with anything and keen to have a nice chat.

    Regarding the location, if you like walking (in my case I do) it is within a walking distance to the city center (around 50 min). Otherwise there are several buses as Hugh explains in his ad.

    Highly recommended!

    February 2014
  • Comfortable room, not far from city centre by bus and amiable and cheerful just. Recommended.

    November 2013
  • Was there for 4 weeks, and Hugh made me feel like home.
    He was a good help, and always ready for a talk :)
    The house is close to bus stops, small shops and fast food places.
    If i need a place to stay in Dublin again, this is where i will stay! :)

    November 2013
  • I needed a quiet place to stay for a few busy days of recording .Hugh's place was exactely what i needed with a comfortable room and good transportation to city center .Hugh himself is a welcoming , kind and a friendly guy . I highly recommand this place !

    October 2013
  • I had a one night stay in Hugh's house. While Hugh was welcoming his place was disappointing and was not anything as it looked on the photos posted on Air bnb. It was dirty and far from being cosy. I am glad I had only booked one night I would not have stayed a second night.

    October 2013
    Response from Hugh:

    Cornelia arrived late, & as she’d planned, went straight to her room & left first thing for work next morning & left a thank you note. She obviously then pondered whether she’d got value for her €24 (the majority of Dublin rooms start from €40+) & wrote above review.
    Downstairs wasn’t just dirty, it was a mess! Builders had left that afternoon after re-plastering all walls & fixing an extension (they were meant to have finished 3 days previously but over-ran), so there was a layer of plaster dust in many places & stains on carpet etc, & I was re-painting the walls.
    I’d explained that I was doing renovations to Cornelia & she seemed to accept this, & if she’d expressed any discontent on the night I would have been very happy to refund her & I could've booked her into one of the B&Bs around the corner. Her room had been cleaned, new sheets/towel etc, but if there was anything amiss in the room I could've fixed it if she'd mentioned it.

    Anyhow, in hindsight, I should have cancelled the reservation when the builders over-ran, but because Cornelia said she was arriving after 10pm & going straight to bed & leaving at 8am , ie. not using any other parts of the house, I didn’t bother. But cancelling it would have saved me a lot of hassle & Cornelia such disappointment.
    As stated in my profile, it’s a casual house, where people are free to throw their coat on the couch & put their feet up, but to try & avoid future mis-matches... : if you’re looking for a B&B /hotel standard of accommodation, I can recommend single rooms from €55-€90; so if you’re the sensitive type that is appalled by smudges on carpets or an unwiped surface or unwashed cup(s), or if you’re just the whiney type, my place is probably not suitable for you. Life’s too short…
    For everyone else, my house is one of the cheapest in Dublin, the dining room renovations are now complete & I will finish off renovating the single room when it becomes free (it’s booked til mid-Nov). Oh & 2 other guests stayed in the same week as Cornelia so you can see their reviews above/below ...

    October 2013
  • La estancia en casa de Hugh fue buena la verdad muy tranquilo todo y recomiendo quedarse en su casa el es muy simpatico y agradable......

    October 2013
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 131 times
Hi, I'm from Dublin, I'm interested in theatre, cinema, and all things cultural, and can advise you on all events in Dublin, and places worth seeing around Ireland. I have travelled quite a bit so enjoy meeting other travellers.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
3 days ago
Similar Listings