User Profile Image

Comfortable Room in Modern Building

United StatesNew YorkBrooklyn
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bed
Per Night
Your credit card won’t be charged
196 travelers saved this place

About this listing

One large room with queen bed available in modern 2BR apartment. Private balcony, full size kitchen, access to building roof deck. Great location for exploring North Brooklyn and Manhattan with easy access to mass transit. Close to cafés / bars.

Comfortable Room in Modern Building
Verified Photo

The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared)
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: $20
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

One large room with queen bed, TV in bedroom (Netflix and streaming services), and reading area available in modern 2BR apartment. Great location for exploring North Brooklyn and Manhattan with easy access to mass transit. Close to cafés / bars.

I have a very comfortable modern apartment with a private balcony and large, fully stocked kitchen with breakfast island. There is a building gym, communal roof deck with views of surrounding Brooklyn and Manhattan. Also comes with my hypoallergenic dog Molly, who is a very loving and affectionate member of the household.

Guest Access

Full kitchen access. Living room has a very large leather couch for relaxing and listening to music/watching TV. Television is equipped with local channels in addition to Netflix, Hulu+, and other streaming services. There are also laundry facilities in the building that use a payment card I am happy to share upon request. Bathroom comes with soap and shampoo, along with a salon quality blow dryer.

For kitchen cooking feel free to use any condiments / spices / pots & pans--with the exception of the cast iron cookware, which require special care to cook with (though if you're comfortable with them, exceptions can certainly be made).

Interaction with Guests

I will be present, along with my dog Molly. Molly has free access to the apartment, with the exception of your private room (unless you want to invite her in!). She also has a dog walker that comes every Monday through Friday between 1-2pm - he has keys and will quietly let himself in and out of the apartment for her 30-minute walk. While I spend evening time in the living area, I am happy to share the space and defer to any requests vis-a-vis the television.

The Neighborhood

I live in a quiet corner of North Brooklyn bordered by Williamsburg and Bushwick (some call it East Williamsburg) with many bars and eateries that cater to locals, so expect friendly and outgoing staff and customers. Downstairs from the apartment is a great bar/restaurant called Sweet Science that can be the jumping off point to your NYC trip, and a 10 minute walk up the road leads you to plenty of great (and small) music venues. Surrounded by 24-hour delis and markets for groceries, snacks, beer, etc.

Getting Around

I am a 5-minute walk to the L train (Montrose stop), 5-8 minutes to the J/M (Lorimer stop). All three of these trains will get you into the east side of lower Manhattan in 10 minutes or further out into Bushwick. The L train goes through the heart of Williamsburg in Brooklyn and then into the main arteries of Manhattan (East & West Village, Union Square). Very walkable neighborhood with plenty of car services I can recommend as well. If you are flying into JFK there are several options from taking the subway to taking a taxi to arrive at my address.

Free street parking is available on the surrounding blocks, however there is alternate side street cleaning Monday - Friday so remember to check the signs.

Other Things to Note

Please note check-in time is 2pm. I realize some guests arrive in NYC earlier but I usually cannot accommodate check in or luggage drop-off until 2pm or later. This is to both ensure my present guests don't feel rushed and to prepare fresh linens and clean the room. In addition, I cannot hold onto luggage past check-out of 11am. Thanks for your consideration.


House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check-in is after 2PM

I ask that if you smoke, you do so on the balcony. Please no additional guests that you may encounter on your trip--though if you have friends or family living in NYC, they are absolutely welcome to drop by. On Sunday-Thursday (non-holidays) I would ask that quiet hours be observed after midnight.


Availability
1 night minimum stay

Comfortable Room in Modern Building
Verified Photo

Your Host


Casey

Casey

New York, New York, United States · Member since June 2014

I enjoy music, dining out, baking, playing/chilling with my dog, and hanging with friends. I was born and raised in Kentucky, but I've got a solid city girl streak at this point as well. I'm a bit of a music geek--I partake of all forms and varieties. Outgoing and friendly, I really enjoy meeting new people and getting out to enjoy all that New York has to offer.

I have lived in NYC over 10 years now, so please do not hesitate to ask for recommendations or help around the city.

Response rate: 93%(past 30 days)
Response time: within a day

Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Brooklyn

    More places to stay in Brooklyn: Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums