Skip to content
Living room with deskView of the TV unit in the livingroom
Private room in apartment

Master Bedroom nr Porter/Harvard

Jacey

Master Bedroom nr Porter/Harvard

2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
HOME HIGHLIGHTS
Jacey is a SuperhostSuperhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.

Please read my full description to ensure my place is a good fit for your needs and personality!

And kindly send me a message before sending a request so we can be on the same page before a booking.

And feel free to inquire about long term stays as well!

Amenities

Free parking on premises
Kitchen
Wifi
Cable TV
TV
Dryer

House Rules

No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

Availability

11 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Gabrielle User Profile
Gabrielle
June 2017
CLEANLINESS: This is definitely a special case -- they forgot I was coming the first night, and I slept in dirty sheets. They then apologized, and later, after I requested a refund for the days I wouldn't be there (more than 5 days later), though they wouldn't perform that refund…
Jacey User Profile
Response from Jacey:
This is misleading and unfair. I honestly believe if Gabrielle would have received a full refund, she would have written a positive review. She found out during her stay that she was able to move into her new apartment early. I checked in to be sure that she wasn't leaving because of an issue with the place, but just a change in plans, and she assured me so in a message. In the middle of her stay, she cancelled the nights she would no longer be there (without reading airbnb's cancellation policy). Despite the airbnb policy (must cancel BEFORE checking in to receive a full refund), she believed she was entitled to cancel during her stay and receive a full refund. The cancellation policy is not my personal policy, but one we both agreed to when we joined the platform. I understand the policy made her angry because she didn't get full flexibility (though even in a hotel you need to cancel a day BEFORE the stay, so I'm not sure where she'd be able to change her plans during a stay and receive a full refund), but it is also her responsibility to be aware of it when she books. In fact, when she first inquired about staying, she was going to book longer because she said she *might* need to stay longer until she finds an apartment. I told her to only book the days she knows for sure she'll need. And, if I get another inquiry, I'll give her the chance to book it first. Sadly, in the end it appears none of these gestures seemed to foster any good will from Gabrielle. When she wanted to change her plans, I told her that while it is not a requirement by airbnb, my personal policy is that I do refund guests who change plans for any nights I'm able to rebook. That is above what the airbnb policy requires, but that is my own personal policy of what is fair. I also travel as a guest frequently and am very aware of the guest perspective. I gave Gabrielle as much as I was able. I refunded all nights I was able to rebook. Even hotels do not do this (if you're not in the cancellation window, you're just out of luck at a hotel). Gabrielle, clearly, did not appreciate my going above the policy to refund her as much as I could, unfortunately. A completely separate issue: I was out of town when Gabrielle was staying and arranged for a friend to coordinate check in. This is the only time in 5 years that my friend did indeed make a mistake and thought Gabrielle was arriving the day after. When Gabrielle arrived and texted me about the room, I immediately apologized, said "something seems not right, please call my friend (or simply go downstairs to find her) and she will fix it immediately." I also called my friend and told her to check in on Gabrielle who had the door closed. Gabrielle did not contact my friend or come out of the room so she didn't allow my friend the chance to fix it then. I'm not sure why. My friend of course recognized that mixing up the dates was her mistake and was prepared, as was I, to do whatever we needed to do to make it right. My friend wrote Gabrielle an apology letter, fixed up the room beautifully, bought Gabrielle flowers, chocolates, and a gift card. I reached out to Gabrielle and asked if there was anything else we could do to make it right. She said "no worries" and seemed forgiving at the time. While she did not ask for it, I went ahead and refunded her first night stay because that mistake was ours and not how we want to welcome anyone. Again, we're human and made one mistake like this in five years and did everything we could to address it. So when Gabrielle minimizes our gestures and our willingness to do whatever we could for her to "they apologized," that is not fair. It is not an accurate description of the lengths my friend and I went to try to make this right for Gabrielle. And we're happy to go to those lengths, but it's very difficult when you do all you can for someone who remains unreasonable and unforgiving no matter what you do. It is critical to us that we own up to mistakes and are prepared to make things right. But when someone is unwilling to allow anything (real apologies, gestures of care, refund) to rectify the situation and cannot tell me how I can make it right for them, I'm not sure what else I can do. Based on this review, Gabrielle is still angry about not receiving a refund for dates she cancelled during her stay because her plans changed and I feel she has tried to find something negative to say about everything she could. To say "the street isn't pretty" -- is an example. These kinds of comments appear to be throwing shade/negativity for that purpose alone. It's a quiet, tree-lined, residential side street with about 20 old Victorian homes and most guests comment that it's a beautiful area. The comments about the sheets and comforter are especially insulting and disingenuous to me. Anyone who knows me knows I like comfy things. I bought high quality brand new sheets, comforters, and pillows for that room from BBB a few weeks ago, a week or so before Gabrielle's stay. Even the mattress I bought brand new a few weeks ago. As a guest I super appreciate when places have comfy linens and I pride myself on that. I'm not sure why Gabrielle had trouble with closing the curtains, but I wish she'd mentioned it during her stay so we could have helped her. Other than the rare trip, I work from home most days doing research and planning itineraries for an author. The Wi-Fi has always worked for me and I have an extra booster to get the signal up the upstairs room. If there's an issue, we're always in contact and prepared to make it right. We live here too and use Wi-Fi everyday. Even as angry as Gabrielle is, she did not say we were ever unreachable, so that should tell you something. I'm not sure who Gabrielle is alluding to being in agreement with, as hundreds of guests have given positive reviews on accuracy feedback and stated the pictures and description are right on. The only changes are to the linens (I've bought new sheets and comforters over the years) and we've added comfy desk chairs and desks to both rooms, a wardrobe to one, and some area rugs. We've only made updates or upgrades if any changes at all. I didn't move Gabrielle to the upstairs room. Before booking on this listing I told Gabrielle that I only have the upstairs room available and I sent her the link for that listing if she wanted to book it. She said she was happy with staying in that room but it would be easier to just go forward with the booking on this listing. Again, not fair to turn around a simple interaction ("I only have x room available." "OK, fine with me, please accept the request I already sent on this listing and I'll be happy to be upstairs") into "Jacey moved me to another room." Every once and awhile (luckily it's rare), we have a guest who simply will not be satisfied and seems determined to be upset. I care deeply about the experience that a visitor to my home and my city has here. I do the best I can to minimize issues and mistakes. I'm not infallible and can only be open and willing to make things right if, on the rare instance, something does come up. That's the main thing I expect of the hosts that I stay with and my hope is always that a guest can see that I'll always do my best.
June 2017
Vaibhav User Profile
Vaibhav
April 2017
Jacey was extremely helpful and responsive. I was in the middle of moving so I was not generally available to be responsive but she took charge and kept the communication alive. She has a beautiful home and it very well located. :) Thanks Jacey
Harry User Profile
Harry
October 2016
Jacey was a great host. In constant contact to make sure I found her place and had everything I needed. Location was two blocks from the culinary institute where I was taking a class.
Nicole User Profile
Nicole
October 2015
Great location near Porter & Davis Square with shops conveniently located nearby! Jacey & her family were wonderful hosts and very accommodating. The room, itself, was very spacious and we had a closet and several drawers to use for unpacking our clothes. The only things I'd hav…
Stephan User Profile
Stephan
September 2015
Jacey was an incredible host. She went out of her way to make every accommodation and was excellent with communicationg and taking care of every aspect of our trip from parking to having a place to store our luggage. Great neighborhood with a beautiful short walk to the T and a g…
Chris User Profile
Chris
June 2015
Jacey was a fabulous host. I contacted her last minute only half-expecting that she would be able to accommodate me but Jacey went out of her to make room. She is very thorough with her expectations and keeps a detailed list of answers to any questions a tenant might inquire abou…
Yufei User Profile
Yufei
September 2014
Great room. Jacey's mom was a great host.

Hosted by Jacey

Cambridge, Massachusetts, United StatesJoined in March 2012
Jacey User Profile
299 Reviews
1 Reference
Verified
Jacey is a SuperhostSuperhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
I first became a host on airbnb when I moved out to SoCal for college. I chose Pitzer so I could create my own study called Rhetoric, Consciousness, and Power. I have recently graduated and moved to Cambridge. While I have an academic head, I have an artist's spirit. I love all f…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings