Nice room in a convenient location!

Private room
1 Guest
1 Bed
Per Night
Per Month
Subtotal Total
Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

This property is unavailable.

View Other Listings
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?
This host offers flexible cancellation: Full refund 1 day prior to arrival, except service fee.

About This Listing

If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and affordable room with easy access to public transport, this is a perfect room for you. LONG-TERM GUESTS ARE WELCOME (few months or more? No problem!)

Contact Host

Large closet space plus dresser for additional clothes storage

Large closet space plus dresser for additional clothes storage

The Space
Bed type: Real Bed
Property type: House
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 2.5
Beds: 1
Check In: 5:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)


Weekly Price: $288 /week
Monthly Price: $1150 /month
Cancellation: Strict


House Rules

1 night minimum stay
Nice room in a convenient location!

34 Reviews

Check In
From Paris, France · August 2014

From Cambridge, MA · August 2014

From Singapore · July 2014
Response from Tia:

Thanks, Wendy! It was great getting to know you! See you in Singapore in the future! :D

July 2014

From Orlando, FL · July 2014
Response from Tia:

Thanks Jonathan & Paola. See you both soon either here or in FL!

July 2014

From Koto, Japan · July 2014
Response from Tia:

I had a great time talking to you and having you here, Karin! Thank you for the Japanese green tea cakes, they were delicious! :) Hope to see you in Tokyo or Boston in the near future.

July 2014

From Manizales, Colombia · June 2014
Response from Tia:

Hello Vicky, as I have written to you privately via SMS (and as you have agreed), you have made a mistake by letting the study abroad agent in your home country book AIRBNB instead of a HOME-STAY for your 18-year old son Martin, who was leaving home for the 1st time in his life. Your agent requested if my place is near Harvard Square and if there is a fridge for Martin to store his food, which were the only requirements, which I have met.

1) My place does feel like home (as you can see from other reviews!) and everyone who has stayed here felt very welcome and "home" with me. Your son does not speak much English and we (me and the other roommates) always spoke with him as much as we could, we invited him to watch movies with us in our room, to play cards and/or to go to dinner on many occasions but the fact that Martin does not speak much English and is shy by nature, he always refused and stayed in his room. But he did talk to us a few times a week whenever we met in common areas to practice his English - just not for long because he is very shy and usually had some other things to do such as "skyping" with his friends from home or playing piano. On Martin's birthday, I took everyone from this apartment to Cheesecake Factory and paid for his birthday dinner as well as arranged a birthday singing with a surprise birthday cake for him. You should be very happy that I am such a nice host, not complain that "this was the only time she took him out".

2) On the airbnb contract with me as well as the description of the room, it does say that guests who stay longer than 1month are expected to help clean the common areas (kitchen, bathroom, hallway, living room). Martin never helped with any of the cleaning and I never held it against him because I understand that it is his 1st time away from home and that he is still a child. But since you are complaining, I have to mention this. In fact, he left coffee fallouts or cereal fallouts on the kitchen floor, the counters, and kitchen table almost every morning without cleaning it up, and he frequently left dirty dishes in the sink, which I had to clean. Nonetheless, I cleaned common areas without his help very frequently. During the dates you came to visit him to fly home with him (june 21-29), nobody was staying in this apartment. As I left for a vacation on June 11, I had a super cleaning done (I hired 2 male helpers) for the ENTIRE apartment, leaving the place absolutely clean before I left. The other roommate left on June 15. That means Martin was the only one in this apartment from June 15 until you both left on June 29. Whatever "dirt" you saw was caused by none else but Martin. In fact, when I came back from my vacation, the toilet was clogged and there was A LOT of EXPIRED food you both left behind in the fridge (your milk, dairy products, hams, fruits), which again, I had to clean up. You should not complain about the laundry area since that is located in the unfinished basement shared with the neighbors - and it is not even considered a part of my listing (it is just a convenience for guests to be able to do laundry in this building instead of going to a laundromats down the street, though the basement is not dirty - it is just an unfinished basement, that's all).

3) There was never "loud screams" all over the house. If Martin ever heard any "fights", he might have mistaken loud voices for "fights" since not everyone has a calm voice to speak. And since Martin is quiet as a mouse and always in his room - he can hear every sound in the entire apartment. But everyone in the apartment was always totally quiet by 11PM and Martin's bedtime was 12:30AM. I am not sure how this comment of yours is relevant.

As you can see, when you booked a stay for your 18 year old son who was leaving your home country for the very first time, you should have made it clear to the study abroad agent that you need a HOME-STAY (usually located in suburbs by the way, where there is an actual family - parents with children, who would have the legal responsibility of taking care of your son as their own child, to do laundry for him, cook for him, clean after him, take him out on weekends, and make sure what he is doing everyday). This is AIRBNB, maybe you should read the description of the purpose of AIRBNB. And even though I am just a host, I always go above and beyond to make sure my guests feel home - you can ask any other guest and they will agree with you since I end up being friends and keep in touch with many of (website hidden)/ You asked me if you could stay with Martin in his room during your time in Boston and how much money you would need to pay me extra, and I offered you to stay for free. I was also in touch with you frequently via SMS the entire 6 months that Martin was here because I know mothers are worried about their children away from home. You gave me no credit for anything, except that "the room was nice and neat". I really did not expect this negative review from you.

HAVING PEOPLE LIKE YOU POST A REVIEW FOR HOSTS LIKE ME IS VERY BAD BECAUSE YOU HAVE MISTAKEN AN AIRBNB EXPERIENCE FOR A HOME-STAY EXPERIENCE AND BASED YOUR REVIEW ON THAT. IN YOUR MIND YOU WANTED A HOME-STAY FOR YOUR SON BUT YOUR AGENT BOOKED AIRBNB, WHICH IS SOMETHING TOTALLY DIFFERENT. Therefore, your review is totally irrelevant (and you have agreed that you mistaken airbnb for a home-stay via private SMS with me) but since other guests might be confused, I had to post my very long reply.

June 2014

From Paris, France · December 2013

This host has 31 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Tia

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Member since February 2012
Response rate: 46% (past 30 days)
Response time: a few days or more


Similar Listings