The living room - filled with art and books.Stacked washer and dryer off of the kitchen.


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bed

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bed

Per Night
You won’t be charged yet
20 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Wake in a beautifully decorated private bedroom to a simple complimentary breakfast of cuban style espresso and fruit.

You'll have access to a well-maintained apartment complex with a common courtyard, wooded views, and easy access to the Triangle via Wade Avenue and I-40. Bike, bus, or walk to local universities and RTP.

The apartment itself is a second story walk-up with private balconies, a shared bathroom, and two cuddly cats-in-waiting.


The space
The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Amenities

Prices
Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Security Deposit: $100
Weekly Discount: 20%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description
Description

The space

Enjoy a sweetly decorated bedroom that looks out onto a (soon to be) plant-filled patio. The apartment has a shared bathroom; a kitchen that includes a dish washer and gas stove; a small stacking washer/dryer; and a comfy living room with various levels of seating.

Guest access

Feel free to share all of our main living spaces, including the main balcony. You're welcome to WiFi access, space in the refrigerator, use of the kitchen, and any food we may be growing!

There will be fruit, coffee and tea available for breakfast.

Interaction with guests

I work in the next town, so you'll have plenty of privacy on weekdays. I tend to stick around on weekends. I keep pretty quiet but sometimes blast music when cleaning ... we can negotiate times for relative silence, if you need it.

The neighborhood

We live in an older neighborhood in West Raleigh near NC State University. About a mile in each direction you can find restaurants and shopping in Ridgewood Shopping Center on Wade Avenue or the Hillsborough Street District, which is frequented by local college students.

Getting around

The neighborhood has a bus stop right outside for the #4 "Capital Area Transit" bus which runs every 30 minutes and can connect you to NC State's "Wolfline" bus system or "Triangle Transit" for traveling to Chapel Hill, Durham and surrounding areas. Regional bus passes are about $5/day and passes for Raleigh only are about $3. If you're a student, your university may offer free or discounted bus passes and the NC State buses are free.

We're also located near an entrance to the local greenway system.

Other things to note

There are two a very laid-back cats living in the house: Smitty and Alice. They'll sleep with you, ask to be picked up, and generally be a joy.

Smoking is allowed on the large porch (which your room and the living room overlook) but not inside.

I will not tolerate any bigotry or hatefulness towards disadvantaged groups. To put it plainly, no racism, sexism, homophobia, transphobia, fatphobia, ableism, xenophobia or general hatefulness. I *will* tolerate being called out if I slip up on this rule.


House Rules
House Rules

No smoking indoors -- we have a nice porch!
No pets, except service animals.
Occasional overnight guests are okay, but please try to keep it to the weekend and provide some warning.

ABSOLUTELY NO:
Sexism
Racism
Homophobia
Transphobia
Fatphobia
... or general hatefulness.
(Yes, we stole that from the internet)


Safety features
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
Availability
3 nights minimum stay

Hosted by Mariel

Raleigh, North Carolina, United States · Joined in January 2013
Mariel

I am a native to the area and an administrator at a local university. My first Airbnb trip was to Mexico City, celebrating my college graduation. I loved how easy it was to book the trip and how interactive the hosts were. My work schedule doesn't allow me to be quite as hands on as they were, but I love sharing my hometown(s) with newcomers and visitors.

My background is in art and design, so I like to think that I've created a pretty comfortable and beautiful space for folks to spend time in, here. You'll probably find me baking, reading, or drawing if we spend a weekend (or three) together. Otherwise, I keep to myself, as my job requires quite a bit of social interaction and I'm an introvert at heart.

Response rate: 90%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections