Malibu Romantic Hilltop Pool House

House - Entire home/apt · Decker Road, Malibu, CA 90265, United States
Chantal
Your host, Chantal
10 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The Space

4th of July Weekend is OPEN! Just had a cancellation. Book NOW for an amazing holiday weekend!!!

The perfect Malibu vacation getaway, the Pool House house is nestled among the chaparral, manzanita, sugar pine and sumac of the Santa Monica Mountains, high above the Pacific Coast Highway with ocean and canyon views.

This beautiful single private guest house is available for rent by the night, week or month year round. No rentals over one month in our high season, from May to August.

We call this amazing place "The Malibu Island Pool House". There is a private swimming pool exclusively for you. You do not share the pool. You have a large redwood deck with gas bar-b-q, surrounded by colorful gardens.

The house consists of one large room with a king sized bed, a separate full kitchen and 3/4 bath with shower. Sliding glass door opens to a sparkling private pool for a cool dip or invigorating swim anytime of day.

Ideal for one or two people maximum for Monthly renters.
For Nightly & Weekly renters, there is a futon for a 3rd person. You will all be in the same room. No children below the age of 7 years old allowed.

If you wish to book, please include in your message this specific information:
Number of People
Ages of Children
Intentions of having guests
If you have Pet Allergies.

Smoking allowed outside only, on decks or patios. Use ashtrays only. No butts on the ground. This is a highly flammable area.

No parties or more than 2 day guests unless cleared by the management.

Artists, writers, surfers, musicians, athletes, students, artistic people thrive here. Or anyone who wants to get away from the hustle & bustle of the city life for a relaxing stay in the peaceful hills.

There is a large private parking lot for your car(s), etc. The house is fully furnished in tropical woods. It has everything in it that you need. Only an 8 minute drive down the canyon to the most pristine beaches in southern California.

A few more miles to beautiful Malibu city with all that it offers in the best of shopping, dining and recreation.

For long term renters, this house is perfect for someone who goes to Pepperdine University, or works in Thousand Oaks, Westlake, Malibu or Agoura/Calabasas.

A small dog will be considered if well behaved and trained. A refundable pet deposit will be required. Dogs must be with the guest at all times, not left alone in the house and never tethered outside alone. We have coyotes and other animals on the mountain. No pet should ever be left alone outdoors.
Westlake Village and Agoura Hills are down the valley side of the hill and Zuma Beach is down the beach side.

Please look for the location on mapquest so you know where we are located before you respond. Top of Decker Canyon Rd. at Lechusa Rd. Malibu 90265

ADDITIONAL FEES:
Rental rates include 12% sales tax.

Cleaning fee is added to all rentals.

Cleaning service includes: Changing of bed linens and towels and cleaning of floors and surfaces & bathroom. No dishes or laundry service. You must do your own dishes and take out your trash before you check out.

A Security deposit of $500 may be required depending on length of stay. Refundable when rental time is completed if the house is left as it was when you arrived.

Airbnb adds their own service fees.

Sorry No Children under the age of 7 years allowed for liability reasons. Infants who cannot walk or crawl are ok.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Extra people: $30 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $1920 /week
Monthly Price: $3350 /month
Security Deposit: $500
Cleaning Fee: $65
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We had a wonderful time at the Malibu Pool House. The view was spectaculer. Chantal was a wonderful host. Very accommodating. She made room for my parents at the last minute and made them feel at home. She is also a wonderful cook. So glad we found her place. I highly recommend staying. Hope to come back! Thank you Chantal

    June 2014
  • The stay at Chantal's place was amazing! She was a very lovely host and the place was really wonderful. It was a real honour to spend the night in the Titanic bed.

    February 2014
  • The house was incredible. Very clean and relaxing! Can't wait to go back!

    September 2013
  • We did not receive directions, check in or check out info so our experience was a bit challenged.

    Pros:
    Views are beautiful and the pool was refreshing. The stargazing was also amazing as its hard to see the sky anywhere else around LA.
    The grill was convenient as well
    We were able to bring our little pup

    Cons:
    The bathroom door was broken
    Bed is stiff (although some may like this)
    And we were glad to have brought our own pillows.

    Overall the stay was nice but a bit more clarity regarding check out and what the cleaning deposit covered would have been appreciated. We were later chastised for not doing the dishes when I had assumed it was covered by our $60 cleaning fee. Needless to say, it was disheartening to receive a negative email by the host immediately upon our rerun home. Especially after spending $700 on a two night stay and never having received information regarding check out. Nor did she mention anything when I called as we were about to leave asking of there was anything I needed to do before I left.

    The final unapologetic email exchange left us feeling pretty terrible about the stay.

    September 2013
    Chantal
    Response from Chantal:

    Holley, We are sorry that you did not feel you had a pleasant experience at Malibu Island. Our listing is very specific about the cleaning NOT being inclusive of your dishes and the instructions on check in and check out were in your reservation from Airbnb. Very easy to see. We did not tell you AGAIN when you were leaving because we assumed you read the contract or the information. You never told us about the broken door or we would have fixed it immediately, as we did for the next tenants who informed us of the problem. A lot of people love the bed's firmness, that is a matter of taste. I am not sure what apology you were expecting but we are very sorry you did not leave feeling wonderful about Malibu Island like everyone else does. However, thank you for staying with us.

    September 2013
  • My fiance and I are extremely happy that we stayed at the pool house. We were looking for a place to relax and escape the city for a few days, and this was perfect. On a clear day, you can see the ocean from the deck, and on a cloudy day, you are above the clouds, which makes for an equally stunning view. The property itself is beautiful, and the pool house is nice, spacious, and clean. It's about a 10-15min drive down the mountain to get to the beach (El Matador, La Piedra, and El Pescador are the closest - they are all smaller and more secluded than Zuma and Point Dume). The other side of the mountain leads down to Thousand Oaks and Westlake Village, which is where you'll find the nearest supermarkets and a good selection of non-beach restaurants. A few days during our stay, the beaches down in Malibu were overcast and windy, but the pool at the house was warm and sunny. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

    July 2013
  • Everything was wonderful, thank you Cahntal!

    February 2013
  • Chantal's place was perfect for our short stay . It was neat, quiet and very comfortable. It has a great location and views Thanks so much.

    October 2012
  • We had a lovely experience while staying at Malibu Island's Pool House. The accommodations are perfect and the property an oasis. Chantal is a pleasant hostess and her generosity ensures that we will stay at her property again.

    October 2012
  • What a lovely place to sit by the pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens, an abundance of birds welcoming the day and view the beautiful Pacific through the spectacular canyon. The perfect hide-away for two people. What a gift that Chantal will share her pristing piece of paradise <3

    July 2012
  • Chantal's Malibu Island house was an amazing trip and we couldn't have asked for more from Chantal. The location was great, and the property itself was the perfect place to relax. Even when we had a small problem with the shower head Chantal had it fixed practically instantly!

    We wouldn't hesitate to return.

    July 2012
Per Month
From
$285
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 232 times
Languages
English, Français
Work
Gillberg Design, Inc.
About
Hello everyone, and thank you for checking out my listing. I'm originally from Haiti, and I speak fluent French and English. If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
4 days ago
Similar Listings