Skip to content
The green door shown is a non-use door for the Studio flat. This picture also shows the traditional, cobblestone streets of Old Town.Entrance to the apartment building in which we own a one bedroom Apartment and a Studio apartment.
Entire apartment

Susan Istra Studio

Susan

Susan Istra Studio

2 guests
Studio
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
Studio
1 bed
1 bath

An 18m2 studio flat, very conveniently located in Old Town. Just a very short walking distance to the pijaca (open air fruit/vegetable/souvenir market), all restaurants/cafes, small supermarkets, bakeries, marina, sea, & beaches. Very cozy, private. Fully stocked kitchen, satellite TV, & more. Close enough to see events/manifestations organized by the municipality, yet quiet enough in the evenings to get a restful sleep.

Amenities

Kitchen
Wifi
Laptop friendly workspace
Iron
Hair dryer
Hangers

Sleeping arrangements

Common spaces
1 double bed

House Rules

No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 10AM

Accessibility

Well-lit path to entrance
Wide hallway clearance

Availability

49 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Molly User Profile
Molly
May 2018
This space has a great location for all of those interested in wandering the beautiful and quaint streets of Rovinj. Space was small (as described), but clean. Space is quite damp feeling so some might find that unmanageable. Susan was great with communication!
Emily User Profile
Emily
April 2018
The most perfect location- you'll see the apartment in every postcard of Rovinj! The ELIM staff were super helpful in finding things to do (as it was difficult with busses in the off-season) and we felt very welcome. Easy check in and out.
Susan User Profile
Response from Susan:
Thank you so much Emily! I really appreciate your review and that you chose to be our guests! I'm glad to hear Elim was so helpful. Yes, this time of year can be tricky...Rovinj is just starting to wake up from its winter nap (ha!), but it's still a nice time of year to visit. Thanks again Emily and Marla! You're welcome back anytime! Susan
April 2018
Kevin User Profile
Kevin
June 2017
This place is perfectly located. It is close to a lot of good stores, not too far from where a car would drop you off or a parking lot. The host is extremely responsive and helpful and so is her agency. The only downside was that the room remained very humid for the duration of o…
Susan User Profile
Response from Susan:
Kevin, thank you for your review and for being our guests. I'm glad you found the documents I sent you to be helpful, and that Elim Agency was as well. The flat is very close to the sea, which can account for your perception of humidity, and in warmer weather, when the air is more humid anyway, this could be the case. There is a fan in the flat, and you're able to open the windows. The pictures in the listing and the listing itself state that the building overlooks the sea, not that the flat overlooks the sea. The picture descriptions, if you go through them one by one, clearly state that the Studio flat is on the street side of the building. The size of the flat is also stated first thing. Unfortunately, access to the stone terrace is limited to residents & owners. I'm very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, that it was "phenomenal", the location was great, a great place, great people, great price. Hvala ljepa! Safe travels onward, Ciao, Susan
June 2017
Jacob User Profile
Jacob
June 2017
Susan is a wonderful host. We had odd travel times and she was very understanding and accommodating. The place is very cozy and the location is amazing; everything was within 10 minute walking distance. Susan gave wonderful directions and recommendations. We couldn't have asked f…
Susan User Profile
Response from Susan:
Thank you so much for your kind review Jacob! I was very happy to host you, even from a distance, and what matters most to me is that you enjoyed Rovinj and the flat! Please do return some day! Thank you for being our guests, Susan
June 2017
Lainey User Profile
Lainey
May 2017
We had a wonderful stay here. Our trip was cut short because we missed our bus to Rovinj, but all of the advice and suggestions that Susan gave us for the trip allowed us to make efficient use of our time there. We were able to really enjoy the city. Our apartment was the perf…
Susan User Profile
Response from Susan:
Lainey, thank you so much for your kind review. I'm sorry your trip was indeed cut short, perhaps you could return from France and stay upstairs in our larger apartment in the same (Website hidden by Airbnb) has wonderful views of the sea and Old Town. I'm glad you found the location of the flat, and its amenities, so suitable. Thank you so much for being our guests! Susan
May 2017
Emily User Profile
Emily
April 2017
The location was fantastic, central and easy to walk to anything we wanted to see. There were plenty of shops and restaurant close by that made either cooking or eating out smooth. The space was a little bit on the small side for two of us to stay for a long period of time. Worke…
Susan User Profile
Response from Susan:
Hi Emily! I'm glad you found the location, stores, shops, etc., to be convenient and nearby, and I'm very happy to hear how much you loved Rovinj! I hope you will return and be our guests again, perhaps the larger Apartment upstairs in the same building, and it overlooks the sea, has great views! You mentioned accuracy of the Studio flat size - it is indeed mentioned in the listing, first thing, so there is nothing inaccurate, hidden or misleading as to the size. Thank you once more for being our guests, I appreciate the reservation. Safe travels, Ciao, Susan
April 2017
Emily User Profile
Emily
April 2017
After reading such positive reviews, I was very disappointed with my experience. Susan had the instant book feature so our last-minute reservation was automatically accepted, and she was very communicative right away which I appreciated. But she then told us the next day that the…
Susan User Profile
Response from Susan:
Emily, I must say I’m very disappointed with your review, and your seeming lack of understanding that Rovinj is a seasonal, tourist town, even though I explained this to you several times before your arrival and even after your departure, prior to your review today. Still, you chose to leave a very negative, highly unfair review, which I definitely do not appreciate. You made an instant booking March 28 to arrive March 30. On March 28, I said it’s pre-season, many things (i.e. restaurants) are closed or still being prepared for the tourist season. You acknowledged this on March 29 in our Airbnb exchanges, saying “I know that we’re coming pre-tourist season”, and you “didn’t know things operate totally differently in Croatia in the off season”. You said you didn’t know to ask questions like “do your busses run regularly”, “do you have wifi year round”. I advised you 2-3x wifi is offered as an amenity on our listings, however I told you March 29 it’s off (again, pre-season). I said our internet is on for 6 months only during tourist season (~ mid April to end of October), not during winter, and most Rovinj hosts do the same. I gave you several free wifi alternatives. You then asked if it could be turned on just for you, and both my property manager and myself made every effort to do so, with very short notice to your arrival, while approaching the weekend. There was no time for it to be effectively on, prior to your departure on Sunday. I already explained after your departure, before your review today, Airbnb doesn’t provide hosts the option to state if amenities are “year round” or “seasonal only”. If I had a “wifi seasonal only” choice, I would surely select it for accuracy. I further explained we normally don’t have guests in the off season, and if we do, I simply advise wifi is off, and there’s never a complaint. When people review our listings, they’re planning their holiday well in advance, i.e. in December or February for April/May-Sept/October, or around certain seasonal, annual manifestations, when wifi is on anyway. If I changed the wifi amenity during the off season when people look at our listings to book their holiday during tourist season, when wifi is normally on anyway, and wifi is important to them, they may not book our apartment(s), thinking wifi is not available, when in reality it is. Per the municipality, building renovations, street or other construction, is allowed between Oct/Nov until May. I am hardly responsible for the level of noise - this is completely beyond my control and unfair to cite in a review. The apartment was indeed cleaned prior to your arrival, with hot water turned on, as is customary prior to every guest’s arrival. If you found things were not satisfactory, the time to mention it is not after your departure. You should’ve immediately informed me or my property manager so we could correct the situation for you. She said she saw you during your stay, asked if everything was agreeable, yet you made no mention of any issues whatsoever. As for the hot water heater, it is highly likely you turned the (labeled) hot water switch off when you turned off the bathroom lights (hence the label, in order to avoid this scenario). Emily, much of this could’ve been avoided had you asked questions, as many guests do, by placing an inquiry first, as opposed to booking instantly. You make complaints after the fact, without having allowed us the opportunity to correct any issues, which we would’ve been happy to do. You also fail to mention in your review that on April 4, you requested a refund for one night’s stay, which I readily agreed to. I certainly hope future guests will be able to see these comments for what they are - unfair, unreasonable, and inaccurate. Thank you for being our guests. Su (Phone number hidden by Airbnb)
April 2017

Hosted by Susan

Tel Aviv, IsraelJoined in March 2013
Susan User Profile
94 Reviews
Verified
I first visited Rovinj when I lived in Germany, in 2004. I fell in love with it immediately. My husband thought it would be a good idea to purchase a place. We bought a house in the Old Town in 2005, and later purchased the two apartments for rentals in 2007. My love for the town…
Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings