Beautiful Apartment in Boystown

Apartment - Private room · N Pine Grove Ave, Chicago, IL 60613, United States

Fully booked at the moment, but check out my other space nearby! You can find it by clicking on my profile to the right.

The Space

Welcome to my place! I'm Jason, a Ph.D Candidate in Sociology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. I live down here in Chicago's Boystown area in the heart of the Lakeview neighborhood doing my dissertation research. I love to travel and host. Please join me and feel right at home!

***About the Space***

This apartment is a 1 bedroom on the first floor of a 4 story apartment building on the north end of Chicago's Boystown neighborhood. During your stay, you'll have full use of the bedroom, which has a real bed with foam mattress and incredibly comfortable sleeping pad. With my schedule involving going to bed late and waking up early for research, I will be sleeping in a space in the living room, which you won't even notice is there come morning, or, more likely, over at my boyfriend's apartment.

Although the common areas are technically shared, I'm out of the house working so often, you'll have it almost entirely to yourself. You'll have your own guest bedding, towels, and pillows which are only used for guests and are always, of course, freshly laundered.

You'll have a kitchen, full bathroom, living room with desk and dining room all available for your use. The whole space has hardwood floors and several plants which keep the air quality pure and fresh. A coin-laundry is available a floor down from the apartment. If requested, I can also have a bike available for you to use while you're in town.

The apartment is non-smoking, but I have a backdoor and walk area which you are welcome to use.

I have wireless internet available with a solid internet connection.

***About the neighborhood***
This apartment is on the north end of the Boystown neighborhood, located on in the east side of the Lakeview area and close to Uptown and Wrigleyville. It's a quick 5 minute walk to the Sheridan station on the Red Line of the L train system, a mile from Wrigley stadium for your baseball fix, and 10 minutes at most from some of the best LGBTQ bars and coffeeshops in town.

The apartment is in the residential section of the neighborhood, so we have the best of everything. It's close enough to have all of amenities of living in Boystown/Lakeview: bars, dancing, fantastic coffeeshops, food, bookstores, and shopping. But, it's also a very quiet block, with people walking their dogs and picking their children up from the Jewish day school on a nearby corner.

In warmer weather, a French style farmer's market is a 15 minute walk away. Or, take a walk or run along the Lake Shore trail just a block away. In colder weather, I would recommend a cup of hot coffee at my favorite coffeeshop (I'll share the secret when you get here) and taking a tour through the LGBTQ community center, a 9 million dollar facility, which is a 5 minute walk from the apartment. No matter what the weather, stop to get a bite to eat at our local favorite for pizza, The Pie Hole, or enjoy some excellent vegan/veggie fare at Chicago Diner.

I know some people prefer to explore the city on their own and others prefer to have some advice, I'm happy to accommodate both! As a Ph.D student studying this part of Chicago, just ask a question. If I don't know it, I know just the book to find the answer in!

***Food***

I try to offer a complete experience staying here by providing breakfast. As best I can, I try to maintain a sustainable lifestyle, buying food and goods produced with sustainable practices and fair trade worker protections. I'll happily accommodate any gluten-free, vegetarian, or vegan food preferences you might have.

The rental price includes basic breakfast items: coffee, tea, bagels/toast, cream cheese, butter, peanut butter, yogurt/kefir, cereal, and milk/soy milk. We'll talk when you book to determine your preferences! Note that while breakfast items are provided, I don't cook or prepare breakfast for you. If it's a weekend however, I tend to make something a little more elaborate, which you're welcome to join me for. I make a great omelet!

Otherwise, please feel free to cook anything you'd wish to in the kitchen. I have a full supply of spices and basic items which you can use. All cookware is also available. The Whole Foods market is a 5 minute walk away and the Jewel Osco a bit further at 15 minutes.

***Pets***
I have two of the loveliest cats, Lily and Sasha. Lily is a calico and Sasha is a black tabby. While Sasha is more of a quiet watcher, Lily is very friendly and would love it if you played a game of fetch with her! Of course, I keep my house spotless: there is no cat hair on the floor and you shouldn't even notice that a cat box exists. They won't have access to your room while you are staying.

If you have pets of your own, feel free to send me a message for us to discuss!

***Check-in***

I try to provide as flexible a check-in as I can. Most days, I work from or near home and can coordinate a check-in most times of days. However, guests should be somewhat flexible in their check-in. I have research responsibilities that sometimes prevent me from being there for a last minute mid-day check-in. If you have an absolutely firm check-in time, please arrange it with me well ahead of time so we can make mutual arrangements.

***Public Transit***
-5 minutes to CTA Red Line Sheridan station
-Multiple express buses stop a block away every few minutes. I can pick up and get downtown within 20-25 minutes at the drop of a hat usually.
-Nearby major streets always have cabs speeding along

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $5 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $400 /week
Monthly Price: $1100 /month
Cleaning Fee: $10
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • My stay at Jason's place was cut tragically short because of work stuff, but everything was great for the night I stayed. The bed is comfortable and Jason is a nice guy. The apartment is in a convenient location, close to boystown, the lake, and near public transit.

    January 2013
  • I didnt meet Jason, but the area is very strategic. The bed is very confortable. The cats are unbelievable friendly. Jason has greats books. The shower was perfect. The only issue was FUR! Cat fur for everywhere. If you are allergic, get out of this place. I am not allergic, but at the end I needed to take some pills to survive.

    January 2013
    Jason
    Response from Jason:

    Fabio stayed in my place for two weeks while I was out of town, and he left the place a bit of a mess. Unlike a hotel, most long-term airbnbs do not come with a daily maid service, hence the cheaper prices. I recommend guests staying long-term to expect to clean after themselves.

  • This place was a dream come true. It was clean, quiet, and comfortable - everything I'd hoped. Jason is an excellent host (he was flexible about my arrival and departure, and promptly responded to my numerous requests to extend my stay) and I really enjoyed hanging out with his cats. I will confidently refer this location to anyone that I know who is looking for a place to stay in one of the city's coolest neighborhoods.

    THANKS, JASON!

    December 2012
  • While I did not meet Jason in person, he arranged for a good friend to meet me at his place with the keys. Once there I was greeted by 2 lovely kitties, great books, and a great room to sleep. While I only stayed one night because of my travel plans, I would most definitely plan to spend some time in this lovely place and terrific neighborhood. Thank you Jason!

    November 2012
  • Jason was a great host, and made us feel welcome without being intrusive. We loved playing fetch with the cat Lily!

    October 2012
  • I had a good time exploring the neighborhood which has loads of dining options to offer and the nearby lake area. Spacious apartment with comfy bed. Thanks Jason.

    October 2012
  • The apartment was perfect. Jason gave me the run of the place and the cats were great company. I think the apartment is in a great location. The transit system is incredible and you end up seeing more of the city than if you stayed downtown. Thanks Jason!!

    October 2012
  • Jasons place was great.Near all the attractions that I prefer.Hes not there much as was very busy.I had the place to myself and two adorable (email hidden) problem with noice as it is very quiet an great for sleeping.Lake Shore Pk. is only a couple of streets away and I visited often. I hope to be staying again soon.GTEAT PLACE JASON!

    October 2012
  • Nice ,quiet neighborhood ,close to subway and the bars/restaurants in Boystown.
    Highlight of the trip was the bike that Jason let me use..Awesome..

    September 2012
  • Jason is a nice person, although we haven’t seen him a lot. The location of the apartment is great and in a safe neighborhood. The two cats are really lovely. The bed we stayed is comfortable. Only one major thing I really have to complain: the apartment was overall not clean. The bathroom is so dirty especially the toilet. The kitchen and the living room we didn’t use either because of the same reason and he should clean the cat toilet more frequently – it stunk. Even our bedroom was dirty all over. I’m sorry about my complaining and I hope he will change for other guests.

    September 2012
Per Month
From
$60
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 68 times
School
University of Wisconsin-Madison, The University of Texas at Austin
Work
University of Wisconsin-Madison
About
I'm a Ph.D candidate at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. I'm currently writing my first book, Boystown, based on my research on Chicago's gay neighborhood. My husband Austin is a local attorney specializing in LGBT law. Usually I spend most of my days writing and then spend my night out with friends. I'm friendly, queer, and into cooking, writing, and yoga.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
5 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings