Welcome to my home and your new home for your stay.My front garden in Spring. The local birds love yellow.
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
62 travelers saved this place

About this listing

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room


Weekly Discount: 11%
Cancellation: Moderate


The space

I have a double bed bedroom in my house with a private bathroom for your use. ( unless other room is booked ). SEE MY OTHER LISTING. "Comfort and Quiet in The Rocks". Also a double bed room. The room contains a double bed with quality bed linen and a waffle weave cotton blanket for the warmer months and an extra quilt for the cooler months. There is wardrobe hanging space and the room is light and airy with ceiling fans. You will have use of a well equipped kitchen, with a choice of breakfast items to choose and cook for yourself if you would like and full laundry facilities ( a clothesline out the back to get the sun and a line in the garage for damp days). Free Wii Fi access.
There is a screened outdoor room that gets the morning sun and has a BBQ and day bed and a couch for relaxing and reading, or a glass of wine. The outdoor room has lovely views of the rainforest at the back of the house and the kangaroos that lounge on the vacant land at the side of the property.
There are two televisions, both with DVD capabilities and the lounge with surround sound system and a 42" screen.
The Macleay River is a 5 minute walk with the Riverside Tavern a great place to eat and watch the sunset and if you're lucky, catch a pod of dolphins playing. Throw in a line from the SWR Boatshed or grab a light lunch or a cappuccino. Take a walk right to the river mouth along the breakwall.
Horseshoe Bay has a protected beach just below the shopping village of South West Rocks where you can swim, eat or just laze in the sun. There are a number of fine sand beaches around "The Rocks", as close as a 5 minute drive or a 2.5 km walk from the house. The "Rocks" also hosts the historic Trial Bay Gaol which was built by convicts in the early days of settlement in Australia. Explore and learn some of the early history from the Rangers or the volunteers who work there. Relax at the Kiosk restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner or just take morning or afternoon tea while surveying the beach below. A bit further on you can explore the coastline from Arakoon Lighthouse with it's 360 degree views of the coast north and south. We are just 40 kms by road from Kempsey in the south and 60 kms from Macksville/Nambucca Heads in the north. We are just 15 kms from the Pacific Highway where the Sydney to Brisbane coach stops to let down or pick up passengers at Clybucca Service centre. The nearest airports are Port Macquarie and Coffs Harbour.
Come and enjoy some of the best beaches in the world where there are spots for you to be the only person on the beach. The beaches are protected by our Surf Lifesavers during the school holidays. South West Rocks also has a small picture theatre that screens some of the latest release movies if the weather is not kind or just because you can. There are a variety of restaurants to try as well as a great supermarket and a surf shop/ boutiques. Come stay a few days or a week and explore the best little holiday spot on the coast. If you might like a massage or a pedicure/ manicure you can walk from my house (3 minutes) to either but booking ahead is essential. I would be happy to make a booking for you in advance. Just ask. You won't be sorry. This is a great neighbourhood and you will want to stay longer or visit again.

Guest access

Guests have access to the entire house with the exception of the master bedroom and ensuite. So, kitchen, laundry shared bathroom are all at your disposal.

Interaction with guests

I like to welcome my guests and give them the tour of the house and where to find things like the toaster, pots and pans, laundry washing facilities if needed and of course my dog Kelsey introduces herself immediately and then goes straight to adoption of her new best friend(s). I like to give my guests space and time to settle in and am always available to answer any questions about local restaurants, supermarkets etc and where to find the kangaroos and beaches. I'm happy for guests to make themselves at home in the kitchen for meals if that's their preference. I'm always up for a chat about travel or to leave you in peace if you prefer.

The neighborhood

My neighbourhood is renowned for its peace and tranquility, abundant wildlife and native birds and of course the beautiful clean beaches which are patrolled by Aussie Surf Life Savers during weekends and school holidays.

Getting around

Having a car is ideal when visiting SWR, as there is limited public transport. There is a bus stop at nearby Clybucca Service Centre on the Pacific Highway for travellers between Sydney and Brisbane. Taxis and a courtesy bus to and from the local club and the Riverside tavern are also available.

Other things to note

I ALSO HAVE ANOTHER ROOM LISTED. LOOK FOR..."Comfort and Quiet in the Rocks". It is also a double bed room. In my late arrival home or my absence when you stay I have a key lock box for keys if required. Use of this is by negotiation and the access code will be given if required.

House Rules

No parties. Smoking outside only. Turn off powerpoints when not in use. Be responsible with recycling as much as possible. Keep kitchen and common areas tidy and clean. Prefer over 25's. Use of the clothesline for wet washing as much as the weather allows. Keep the use of the clothes dryer to a minimum please.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

70 Reviews

Check In

This host has 21 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Your Host

JennyJenny is a superhost.


South West Rocks, Australia · Joined in September 2011

I live in South West Rocks in NSW, Australia. I'm young at heart. non smoker, non drinker, love music especially live concerts. I love to travel and have been many places in my back packing days, now I'm looking forward to seeing the rest of the world and visiting places I have already been to. I have retired from full time work and a long career as a school psychologist/counsellor, but am still working part time to serve the bank (who is co owner of my house). I have two grown children who have flown the coop and am now a grandmother of two. Funny how I don't feel like one though. I'm neat and tidy, love to tell and listen to stories and meet people from all over the world.I did lots of backpacking in my youth and have seen lots of the world but never enough. Now I like my creature comforts. Since retiring, I have travelled twice to the USA, Canada and Mexico staying mostly in Airbnb accommodations in 2011-12 and again in 2013. Recently I spent 2 months in Ireland and then Italy and Turkey in Airbnb accommodations. Airbnb is a great way to learn more about the people and the areas I visited and I am hoping I can repay some of the trust and generosity I've experienced from Airbnb hosts, by having Airbnb visitors to my home and my town. This can make the world a smaller place and bring back kindnesses and care between strangers. It's always a bonus to make more friends in this world. You can never have enough friends. I have an old dog who is gentle and loving and does love to meet every visitor. She is inside at times but sleeps out and is very house trained and limited on where she is allowed in the house.

Response rate: 100%(past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Explore other options in and around South West Rocks

More places to stay in South West Rocks:
You won’t be charged yet