Urban Homestead w/ Bikes & Chickens
Urban Homestead w/ Bikes & Chickens


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 bath


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Come stay in a French-country inspired house walking distance to 6th St, minutes away from Franklin's BBQ (#1 BBQ in US), VIA 313, Veracruz Tacos, Launderette Eat farm fresh eggs from the backyard... my Golden Girls will thank you for being a friend.


Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Security Deposit: $100
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: $95 / night

Description

The space

NOTE: If dates are shown as available, don't hesitate to instant book. I keep my calendar up to date. If the dates are not available, message me because I have several other listings.

If you have ever wanted to have backyard chickens or want to see how urban gardening is done in Texas, this is the place to stay! Stay for a long weekend while you visit Austin or make this your landing spot while you get permanently settled into Austin. The house is equipped with full kitchen if you are wanting to cook up some fresh eggs from the chickens for breakfast.

One bedrooms, with full bed will accommodate up to two people comfortably. I have a second guest room if you have more people in your party. I also rent entire house (4 bedrooms) to parties of 6+ people. See listings under my profile.

Take the bikes for spin around Lady Bird Lake or relax in the backyard with the chickens Dixie, Delta Burke, Blanche, & Rose (named after favorite sitcoms Golden Girls and Designing Women).

Guest access

Guest bedroom with full bed
Guest bathroom with essential toiletries
Bicycles
Washer/Dryer
Living Room for relaxing
Central HVAC
Washer & Dryer (or Line Dry)
Hi-speed Wireless Internet
Large equipped kitchen (I love to cook and have all the utensils you could ever need)
Kitchen stocked with staples
Fresh Eggs from Chickens for breakfast
Seasonal greens in the garden
Free Parking at house in driveway or on street.

Interaction with guests

I live in the house and love to share it with friends and strangers alike. I have lived in Austin for 12 years and my house is perfect for someone looking to live like a local. I will be happy to give you as much privacy or as much interaction and recommendations as you like.

The neighborhood

The house is on a quiet street in East Austin between 11th and 12th on Comal. There are plenty of bars, restaurants, shopping and groceries nearby. The location is a 5 minute cab ride, or 15-20 minutes biking & walking distance to downtown, the university, local eateries, bars and food trailers: Franklin BBQ, Hillside Farmacy, East Side Pies, East End Wines, Eastside King, Qui, (Paul Qui winner of Top Chef), and more... See my neighborhood guide here: https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/329306#neighborhood

Getting around

Free Parking at house in driveway or on street.

CAB/RideShare: $7 to downtown (Fare, Fasten, RideAustin are recommended alternatives to Uber/Lyft

WALK : 1 mile to downtown 6th st.

BUS: 2 bus routes are a few blocks away will take you downtown for $1.50 one-way or $2 for day pass.

BIKES: I have 4 bikes available to use for free. 2 mountain, 1 hybrid, 1 road (single gear). All for smaller people 5'2" to 6 ft. I also have locks, helmets, and lights. Must sign waiver if you borrow bikes.

Other things to note

Dates not available? Don't hesitate to inquire. I have 2 listings and may have room available.

This listing is operating with a City of Austin STR License # OL 015229


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 2PM - 2AM (next day)
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with keypad

I'm flexible with check-in and check-out but prefer the typical times 2 pm/11am.

If you borrow the bikes you must sign a waiver. Bikes must be locked up when not attended to. I provide bike locks and helmets.

House is quiet after 10 pm but we are open to having late night guests or even impromptu dance parties in the living room.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

300 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
James User Profile
April 2017
Great space, and so close to downtown. I certainly enjoyed my stay at Angel's.

Danielle User Profile
April 2017
Angel made us feel very welcomed! Love the location and having the bikes to use! Great experience. Would stay there again.

Laura User Profile
April 2017
Great host!

Kate User Profile
April 2017
Angel was a great host! Would definitely stay here again!

Kathleen User Profile
April 2017
Angel was fantastic. She provided all of the resources we needed for our stay. She also was very flexible with us when we need to drop off our bags before check-in time and also keep them in the house after check-out time. The bikes she provided were old but very functional and were key for us in exploring the city. Thanks again, Angel!

Roma User Profile
April 2017
If you like quirky then this is for you. Eclectic mix of decor, even an outdoor shower- but there is the usual bathroom as well! Walking distance to the state capital and sixth street for the music lovers. Bit of a long walk to see the bats at congress avenue bridge but worth it.

William (Bill) User Profile
April 2017
My first time using Airbnb and the experience was great.

This host has 991 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Austin, Texas, United States · Joined in July 2011
Angel User Profile

I love sharing my home with friends and strangers alike. I've lived in Austin for 13 years and am happy to point you to spots off the beaten path (Cathedral of Junk) to the sparkling jewels in the middle of the city (Barton Springs). I'm a User-Experience Designer for a Clean Tech/Energy Management start-up. I love the challenge and rewards of conserving in all aspects of life. I enjoy bike riding, brewing and drinking craft beer, gardening, petting my chickens, sewing and DIY projects, seeing live music, traveling, and eating great food. I've only been to 13 countries and 25 states. I most recently spent a few months in Hawaii living off grid on a living farm that is doing reforestation on the Big Island.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.