single room in comfy family home

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Melville Rd, London, E17 6QS, United Kingdom
Mirjam
Your host, Mirjam
42 Reviews
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

Check out the listing of our double room for more photos:http://www.airbnb.com/rooms/260931

We are a cosmopolitan family, husband (Turkish), son (British) and myself (German) in a very cosmopolitan neighbourhood with lovely restaurants, pubs (many of which are also fabulous music venues and one with an extraordinary little theatre attached to it), bars, and a great variety of shops.

We are a 20 minute bus ride (fast connection!) away from the Olympic parc. You can also hire a bike from our local bike shop around the corner and cycle along the river Lee and the lovely Lee valley to the Olympic parc (20 min.).

We offer a "scrumptious breakfast" (I am quoting my son!), Mediterranean style if my husband is in the kitchen, more continental when I am in charge :-)

Our property is in a quiet road within 10 minute walk of the Victoria Line (Underground) and train station (direct link to Liverpool Street in the heart of the city). It is a five minute walk to Lloyd Park and the William Morris Gallery! The Lea Valley river and regional park with their great sports facilities can be reached within 20 minutes on foot.

Walthmstow village - a real gem - is only a 10 minute walk away and offers a variety of small places to eat out among which a highly recommendable Tapas bar with a Spanish chef right opposite an Italian restaurant that is also second to none (Italian chef!).

And: Our piano and WiFi connection are available to all ... as is the affection of Biscuit, our cat!

The Neighborhood

We live in a very cosmopolitan neighbourhood with lovely restaurants, pubs (many of which are also fabulous music venues and one with an extraordinary little theatre attached to it), bars, and a great variety of shops.

Walthamstow village is a real gem.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 1
Weekly Price: $300 /week
Monthly Price: $705 /month
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • I had a lovely stay in London. Mirjam's Haus is really comfy and nicely furnished. The room is big and also wonderful, even with an own washbasin. The neighbourhod seems to be quite safe and is nice. The breakfast is wonderful, too bad that I didn't have too much time in the mornings. Mirjam is very friendly and made my stay wonderful, thank you!

    June 2014
    Mirjam
    Response from Mirjam:

    Next time we have to share one of those long breakfasts where you can talk about everything and anything and make plans for the day/week ahead.

    With a big smile,

    Mirjam

    June 2014
  • Mirjam is a very kind person, I really appreciated her welcome.
    The house is very clean , and my room was comfortable.
    And i felt at home during my whole stay. It was just Perfect !

    Thank you for the delicious muffin, Mirjam.

    Will come back soon !

    June 2014
    Mirjam
    Response from Mirjam:

    Thank yo so much, Christian, I really appreciate your feedback. Do come back soon for some more muffins :-)

    Mirjam

    June 2014
  • Mirjam is an absolute Joy!! I enjoyed the happy energy of being there. My room was clean and comfortable and I felt very welcome. Know that if you need to spend time in Central London, you will have an hour commute from her door to the center … because she moved from the address listed in her AirBnB listing … but so worth it to be with such a wonderful person. I will love to stay there again …

    June 2014
    Mirjam
    Response from Mirjam:

    Thank you for your very helpful feedback, Amanda.

    As you know I have let everybody who as approached me recently know about the fact that I have moved and told them exactly where I am now within the Borough of Waltham Forest and urged them to double check with the transport for London website that the location still suits them.

    This is really all I had time for since the end of last month when I arrived at 225 Hall Lane.

    Photos will follow soon and have already been made available upon request.

    June 2014
  • Mirjam has recently moved to a new place. Although it's a little further from the underground station (15 min bus ride, so about 40 mins to get into central London), I decided to keep my reservation based on these reviews...

    I was not disappointed! Mirjam is such a warm and welcoming host. She picked me up from Walthamstow Station, which was much appreciated after a 5 hour bus ride from Swansea, and told me to make myself at home! The room was cozy and the bed comfortable, Mirjam made the extra effort of giving me a guide of events in Walthamstow, and gave me the inside scoop on things I shouldn't miss out on in London. And I especially enjoyed our conversations over breakfast in the morning!

    June 2014
    Mirjam
    Response from Mirjam:

    Thank you so much, Arvind, for your kind words. I miss our breakfast talks!

    Mirjam

    June 2014
  • What to say.. I have been at Mirjam's house for 4 weeks and everything was just perfect!
    Im very exigent, and they were more than i expected!
    They were so kind all the time and the house is very beautiful and cozy! I loved my room, i felt like home! And is very easy to get to their house!
    Thank you for everything and i miss you all so much! Hope to see you soon!!

    June 2014
    Mirjam
    Response from Mirjam:

    Dear Fabiane,

    thank you so much for your kind words. You are very much missed by us as well.

    June 2014
  • My experience staying in Mirjam's home was outstanding. She is a warm, friendly, and accomodating host, and was kind enough to offer laundry help. Her home is very clean and tidy, and she told me to treat it as my own home. She was also extremely helpful in telling me all about the local sights and shops. Getting around London from Mirjam's home is easy: you can walk to the Tube/bus station (Walthamstow Central) in about 10-12 minutes, or you can walk 3-4 minutes to local bus stops.
    Her family was kind and friendly, and Biscuit the cat is very sweet and easy-going.
    I hope to stay with Mirjam and her family again in future; I almost can't imagine staying anywhere else!

    April 2014
    Mirjam
    Response from Mirjam:

    Come back soon, Kat. Biscuit and everybody else misses you already.
    Mirjam

    April 2014
  • Miriam's apartment is very nice and cozy. I am grateful to her (email hidden)e offered me a lovely room and give me private spaces. In addition, it only take 10 minutes to get the tube .

    Thanks to Miriam, I find another side of London in addition to Big Bang and Buckingham Palace. I have to say London is a colorful world

    By the way, I love Biscuit, the shy cat.

    April 2014
    Mirjam
    Response from Mirjam:

    We are looking forward to hosting you again Xioafei :-)
    Mirjam

    April 2014
  • War ein toller AUfenthalt. Das Zimmer war genau wie beschrieben, Mirian, Husein und Tarkan sind sehr nett. Besonders haben mir die gemeinsamen Frühstücke mit Hussein gefallen. Mal schauen, vielleicht kann ich mich auch mal für das schwimmen im Meer begeistern.

    December 2013
    Mirjam
    Response from Mirjam:

    Vielen Dank, thanks a lot Alexander. It was great fun having you around. Hope you had a good onward journey to Spain.

    December 2013
  • Thank you for your kind hospitality Mirjam. Please say thank you to your husband as well. Her home is a little bit far away from the city but it is comfortable place to stay. I love Biscuit. He is so adorable and lovely.

    November 2013
  • My experience has been wonderfull, everyone so kind with me ...... The house was warm and confortable, Mirjam so considerate, Huseyin so friendly in our breakfast chatting , little Tarkan so clever and Promising great artist ..... Their cat biscuit so funny was lovely too ...... I think to come back with them in the future , because they àre really special people .....

    November 2013
Per Month
From
$44
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 285 times
Languages
Deutsch, English, Français, Português, Türkçe
School
University of Heidelberg
Work
The Open University
About
I am Senior Lecturer and Associate Head of Department (Languages) in the Faculty of Edcuation and Language Studies at the British Open University. I have been living in London for most of my adult life and feel very much at home here. Having grown up in a vicarage back in Germany I am not only used to but throughly enjoy having people from all walks of life sharing my/our home. My husband, Huseyin, comes from a Turkish family where - like in many Mediterranean families - guests and visitors are not only always welcome but will be honoured and treated with respect. We are both very much looking forward to being your hosts.
View full profile
Response Rate
90%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
5 weeks ago
Similar Listings