Peaceful, tasteful & self-contained

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Week Meadow, Higher Week, TQ9 6JP, United Kingdom
Ben

The last building in the hamlet with only fields beyond and very quiet. However we are also walking distance from the Steiner School, Shumacher College and Dartington Hall. The market town of Totnes is less than 2 miles away along a river path.

Your host, Ben
23 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The last building in the hamlet with only fields beyond and very quiet. However we are also walking distance from the Steiner School, Shumacher College and Dartington Hall. The market town of Totnes is less than 2 miles away along a river path.

The Space

This apartment is part of the last house in the village with only fields beyond and is very quiet. The loudest sound is usually the whistle from the local steam railway over a mile away.
The apartment is completely self-contained with its own entrance and has a large bright bedroom/studio with a table and chairs, a small kitchen area (with sink, fridge, kettle, toaster, tea and coffee making and a gas cooker with hob and oven), a bathroom (with bath and thermostatically controlled shower) and an entrance hall area with space to hang coats.
The room is tastefully furnished with a stone Minster working fireplace, an Art deco desk, Ercol quaker chairs and original oil paintings and etchings. There is also a flat-screen television, a Blue Ray DVD player and a Sony clock/radio/ipod player. During the winter firewood is supplied for the open fire.
There is also a very sunny, private outside seating area with a table, two chairs and two sun loungers. You can park your car right outside the apartment.

Guest Access

Full access to the whole apartment.

Interaction with Guests

I'm available on phone and email prior to your arrival. And as I live next door I'm there to help if you have any questions or need anything.

The Neighborhood

Where else can you reach the sea in around half an hour or be up on the wilds of Dartmoor in even less time. But there are also fantastic walks from the door. One of the best wild swimming spots in the UK (in the Guardian's top 10) is less than a mile from the house. The medieval market town of Totnes is also less than 10 minutes drive with its many wonderful shops, cafes and restaurants.

Getting around

Totnes Station on the main line to London is less than 10 minutes drive and there are regular buses from the end of our road to the station or in the other direction towards Buckfastleigh and Ashburton.

Other Things to Note

The house was built in 1962 and was designed by modernist Arthur Grayson for the novelist and composer Bruce Montgomery. Montgomery was quite well known at the time and wrote the music for the first 6 Carry on movies. He was also a friend of Agatha Christie who apparently came to dinner at the house.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $18 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $494 /week
Monthly Price: $1394 /month
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Location:

    For us the location was ideal. The cottage is located only a short drive from the A38 and near the lovely town of Totnes. Ben’s directions were excellent and we found it with no problems. We spent the days we were there exploring South Devon which was all within an hour’s drive of the cottage. The cottage itself is located up a very narrow road / track and the turn onto the drive is tight to fit through which is not necessarily a problem but inexperienced / unconfident driver may struggle to access. To the side of the cottage are open fields and it is a very secluded location ideal for a quiet few days.

    Accommodation:

    The cottage itself was a good size for 2 people. The entrance hall (email hidden) to hang coats and leave shoes and the bedroom / living area was a good size. There was a strong smell of smoke in the room which was to be expected from the open fire. On the details Ben sent there was mention of firewood but none was provided for our stay so we could not use the fire. The cottage was kept nice and warm with the radiators on most of the time we were there and the extra oil filled radiator was good to have for a little extra heat in the evenings. The bed was comfortable and the room was reasonably clean and well decorated. We did not really use the kitchen apart from boiling a kettle to have a cup of tea in the mornings / evenings so I can’t really comment on the kitchen facilities.

    The Bathroom however was a big disappointment. There was a very strong smell of damp and mildew when we first arrived. The tiles next to the shower were covered in pink mould and mildew and the wall opposite was covered in black mould. The unit to the right of the shower was covered in hair and dust and the rest of the bathroom was very dirty. We left the window open in the Bathroom for our entire stay which helped with the smell but both me and my wife did not feel comfortable using the shower. There was also some confusion on the provision of breakfast as this is mentioned in several places including the email I received from Ben that breakfast would be served to our room. Evidently this is not the case as we not offered any but this should be made clearer in any Airbnb booking that no breakfast is provided.

    Overall:

    Would we stay there again? Probably not unless the Bathroom was sorted but we do recommend this part of the UK to visit!

    April 2014
    Ben
    Response from Ben:

    I am very disappointed you didn't mention these concerns at the time when we could have sorted them out rather than just leaving negative feedback after your departure. We do say clearly in the description that firewood is supplied in the winter. It also clearly stated that breakfast is a chargeable extra (although I have made that clearer in the Airbnb automated email too now)
    We are very sorry about the issue with the bathroom. We had been away with someone else doing the cleaning. We have since done a thorough clean of the bathroom.

    April 2014
  • Lovely place to stay - booking and arrival all easy. Ben's directions were marvellous and the place had everything we wanted. Its a great location - an easy walk to the Cott Inn which we had a wonderful meal at. And lovely walks on your doorstep. We loved having the fire on too. Only minor hitch was that the internet didnt work but Ben was very accommodating and did his best to try and fix it. Thankyou Ben, all in all a great stay and we have already recommended you to others!

    April 2014
  • We had a wonderful time at Week Meadow. Fantastic location and really easy to get around from great sea side stops to fantastic walks. There were also lots of places to eat. Had some delicious meals at Rumers and Riverford Field Kitchen (great recommendations!) It was always nice to (email hidden) to come back to. Had some trouble with the wifi which didn't bother us too much as there was lots to do and we didn't want to make too much of a fuss.

    March 2014
  • such a lovely little getaway place, exactly like the pictures. bit chilly initially but with a top up from the heater and once the fire was going it was lovely and snug and peaceful.

    December 2013
  • We had a great time at Ben's. A really peaceful place where you can relax and have a great time.
    The apartment has everything you need and the small kitchen is equipped with all you need to cook something delicious. Loved the oven with grill!
    Everything was clean and the apartment is just big enough for two. Ben is a very nice host and we would love to come back anytime.

    September 2013
  • Where else can you find a tranquil, self-contained countryside haven with good local culture... and wifi!

    I really enjoyed my stay here. Ben was a friendly and helpful host, and the place was cosy and perfect for my writing retreat. Lots of classical music and a cinema season going on at Dartington Hall which is very close by. I didn't have a car and found getting around ok - there are buses to nearby towns and it was nice to get out walking.

    The apartment is pretty much what it claims to be - peaceful, self-contained and very clean and cosy. Lovely selection of reading books was a bonus.

    August 2013
  • We did not have the opportunity to meet Ben personally but can only say the best about the house. It's located at the end of an "enchanted" little street and a very quite place. We very much enjoyed dinner at the near-by "Field Kitchen" recommended by Ben - (email hidden) to eat.

    August 2013
  • Even with a Satnav and written instructions it still took us about three quarters of an hour to track the exact place down! The area is fab and there is a good walk directly from the front door which was good for the dog. The bed was very comfy.

    On the not so good side the place smelt quite strongly of damp and despite offering delicious descriptions of the breakfasts available we had to track someone down next door to be told that Ben the owner was away and this person was housesitting. No offer of breakfast.

    This is no reflection of the Owner at all but if you do go do not allow yourselves to be persuaded to go to the "Cott" pub. He said in his bumph that the Cott Pub had been good for food and then had gone way down hill but now that it had new people there and was really good again. We had the worst meal we had just about ever eaten in this country. Pricy steak was overcooked and send back. It came back stone cold and the chips were the orginal ones and were now cold too. The people at the next table were having trouble too. The lady in charge offered us a round of free drinks and free puddings for 6 of us which we didn't take up because that was not the point.

    The place was in a really lovely part of the country which was convenient for getting around.

    July 2013
    Ben
    Response from Ben:

    I do provide extremely detailed instructions on how to find the house and you are the first people who've had trouble finding it. Sorry to hear you didn't like the food at the Cott Inn. I will change my recommendation although it's still a very nice place to go for a drink.
    The house has been professionally checked for damp and there is not a problem. The bathroom has an extractor fan but I'll make sure the place is well aired in future. Finally I should have explained to my friend who was house sitting about the breakfasts. However you didn't mention breakfast to him and they are a chargeable extra anyway.

    July 2013
  • A great self contained hideaway!!!!! A great base for spending time in beautiful Cornwall and Devon.

    July 2013
  • This was my first use of AIRBNB & I'm well impressed. Accommodation as described. A very snug little place with ear shattering silence....bliss. Comfortable bed, clean bright & modern bathroom & a useful kitchenette. If you are looking for a quiet get away with walks on your doorstep..look no further. Ben was just perfect as a host, friendly approachable , but not In your face. I'd happily use again.

    June 2013
Per Month
From
$79
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 205 times
Languages
Français
School
Chelsea School of Art
Work
West Country Lets
About
Director of a holiday cottage agency called West Country Lets in Devon. We specialise in hand-picked cottages and apartments in the South Hams and Devon areas. I moved out of London in summer 2010 to Devon. Married with two teenage sons and in my spare time into cycling (on and off road), trail running. skiing and the occasional triathlon. In the past I worked as a journalist & magazine publisher but more recently have run my own companies: a dating company, a travel company and now my agency. I'm happy with lots of styles of travelling. I have particularly fond memories of cycle camping around Europe. But a bit of luxury can be good too.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
today
Similar Listings