Rockridge Craftsman Brown Shingl

House - Entire home/apt · Mather St, Oakland, CA 94611, United States

The Space

spacious home with many vintage features, hardwood floors, stained glass and leaded windows, fireplace, backyard/patio area.
Sunny eat in kitchen.
Wicker love seat on front porch!
Walkable Score of 98.
Walk to Piedmont Ave and College Ave.
Very convenient to BART and public transportation, UC Berkeley,Kaiser Hospital, Children's Hospital.
Queen bed in each bedroom.
Third small bedroom with double bed.
WIFI, Cable TV
There is a crib as well as a high chair.
full eat in kitchen with stove and oven.
Separate dining room
Driveway for parking
Holiday weeks, one week minimum
City of Oakland Occupancy Taxes not included in AIRBNB fee
$85.00/cleaning fee not included in AIRBNB fee
$250.00 Refundable Deposit AIRBNB will collect
Monthly price does not include all utilities, check with owner
Please notify owner of any special events with more than 5 invited guests , additional fees may apply

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 3
Extra people: $10 / night after 5 guests
Minimum Stay: 5 nights
Weekly Price: $1250 /week
Monthly Price: $4675 /month
Security Deposit: $250
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • We had a wonderful week in Oakland, there was enough room for the five of us and for our children who live in Oakland to come visit. The house is obviously well maintained, as while we were there Judy came by to tell us that the painter was coming to do the trim outside. It was very easy to get to everywhere from the house, the Safeway was a quick walk down the street Our granddaughter thought that it was really Grandma's house when she came to see us. Believe it or not we never had any trouble finding parking and we had rented a van! We are so happy with our first experience with airbnb that we will use them again and if we need another place in Oakland we know a great place.

    March 2014
  • I do not recommend staying here. I came into Berkeley for a wedding with a group of friends. Judy's house was spacious and well kept. However, I had a very bad experience with Judy and did not appreciate her lack of hospitality. Before we even arrived she asked us to pay extra for cleaning and a separate tax. I agreed, giving her the benefit of the doubt, even though it seemed abnormal for airbnb. Then I tried to arrange to pick up keys early, as we were part of the wedding party and had lots of details to attend to. She failed to respond and when she finally did, told me there would be a $25 early checkin fee. If you've ever been part of a wedding party, you would understand the amount of stress involved on the big day so dealing with this was really not fun.

    The reason I use airbnb is to avoid the impersonal experience of staying in big hotels. At the end of the day, it's not the money I have a problem with but rather her lack of graciousness and kindness towards her guests. This was unfortunate, as every other airbnb host I've had has been just amazing and my trip was always enriched because of it!

    January 2014
    Response from Judy:

    I am sorry your experience was not what you expected. I had a really hard time connecting with you. I e mailed you numerous times and left a voice message without a response from you until late on the night before your arrival. The home was being cleaned early before your check in and since you had so many guests with you , it would be hard on the housekeeper so we discourage an early check in. I think because you were only staying one night it would have worked out better if you had connected with me earlier in the week instead of the last minute to work out any details. The cleaning fee and the Occupancy Tax are clearly stated in the AIRBNB listing

  • All fine and as described. No issues and thanks a lot Judy.

    January 2014
  • Lovely home and great location. Very comfortable and relaxing stay!

    January 2014
  • The reservation was canceled 165 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    January 2014
  • This place is amazing. One of the best AirBnb locations I've been to. **Very** close to the Safeway, Starbucks and CVS which makes getting supplies for the house a breeze even if you don't have a car. Also very close to some restaurants and locations in Piedmont and the Rockridge BART.

    November 2013
  • Our stay at Judy's charming craftsman was very comfortable. The house was warm, the bedding and beds extremely comfortable, and the kitchen well stocked with everything we needed. It was an ideal location within walking distance of Piedmont Avenue with restaurants and shops. Since we were with young toddlers (1 & 3) it was conveniently located near a variety of parks, Lake Merritt and Fairyland. We had a crib and high chair which helped tremendously with the youngsters. Although we had a Dodge Caravan we never had a problem finding parking.

    November 2013
  • The reservation was canceled 13 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    October 2013
  • We loved to stay at Judys house!
    It was absolutely clean and very comfortable.
    There`s also a sweet little garden and a wonderful living room.
    It is the perfect location for people, who like to visit San Francisco. The price is absolutely fair in contrast to San Franciscos motels and hotels.

    October 2013
  • I would highly recommend staying at 248 Mather Street. The house is not large but it is very comfortable and the five of us never felt crowded. The location is great and we had no problems with off-street parking. The house is well equipped. The front porch was great! We had come from Philadelphia in the midst of a horrendous heat wave and just being able to sit out and enjoy the summer air was most welcome.

    July 2013
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 101 times
I have lived in this area my whole life and really enjoy sharing with guests all the wonderful restaurants,shops, and attractions we have to offer here!
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings