Home away from home

Apartment - Private room · Macarthur Ave, Randburg, Gauteng 2194, South Africa
Ros

An upstairs apartment in a lovely open-plan security-controlled townhouse complex, with gorgeous gardens, safe parking and a swimming pool. Depending on my work schedule, I might be available to play taxi driver and tour guide for a small fee.

Your host, Ros
3 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

An upstairs apartment in a lovely open-plan security-controlled townhouse complex, with gorgeous gardens, safe parking and a swimming pool. Depending on my work schedule, I might be available to play taxi driver and tour guide for a small fee.

The Space

I live in an absolutely gorgeous security-controlled (guards on premises 24/7) "townhouse complex" as we call it here in South Africa. My unit is on the first floor - no-one above, and looks out (email hidden) space.

I live there alone, and am renting out my spare bedroom (2.9m by 2.6m) which has a double bed and lots of cupboard space. You will have exclusive use of a bathroom across the hall, which has a toilet, basin and shower.

The apartment has an open-plan kitchen/living-room, and there's a balcony as well that gets lots of sun. I try to keep the place clean and neat, and would expect the same of my guests.

The area is suburban - beautiful and safe. Johannesburg is not very well served by public transport, but if you're adventurous, there is a bus that runs from outside the apartment complex into central Johannesburg, and the Sandton Gautrain station is about 15 minutes' drive away; there is a bus route from that station to within about 2km of the apartment. Johannesburg now has a City Sightseeing hop-on-hop-off bus which you can access by taking the Gautrain from Sandton station to Park station.

There is a good supermarket 5 minutes' walk away. The Brightwater Commons shopping and entertainment complex is a 15-20 minute walk away (it's where the Gautrain bus stop is), and features dozens of restaurants, shops, mini-golf, a bowling alley, a laser-paintball arena, musical fountains, and a "flea market". The huge shopping complex Cresta Shopping Centre is a 5-minute drive/40-minute walk away.

I work flexible hours mostly from home, so I might be available to play taxi driver and tour guide for a fee.... less than what commercial companies would charge, though :-)

Guest Access

You will have access to and use of all parts of the apartment except my own bedroom and ensuite bathroom, and my office. I'll make space in the kitchen for you to stash some food and you can do some basic cooking (but please, I'd rather not have three pots bubbling away on the stove all day!).

Interaction with Guests

I do work from home so if I'm on shift, I'll be cocooned away in my office or bedroom working. Otherwise I'm happy to have a chat and even to accompany you on excursions, depending on my schedule.

The Neighborhood

The neighbourhood is generally safe, though as in any big city, common sense should be followed. I wouldn't walk the streets alone at night, but walking alone during the day is fine. Just don't flaunt valuables.

As mentioned before, the Brightwater Commons shopping area is about 20 minutes' walk away, and is a great place for shopping, eating, and other leisure activities.

Getting around

There is a public bus that comes past, but to be honest, it's primarily aimed at commuters and doesn't run at convenient times or intervals. If you're willing to wait for a long period and seek advice from locals around you, then it's fine, but it can be hard work. The nearest bus stop serving the Gautrain is at Brightwater Commons, and you can get the bus to the Gautrain Sandton station. From here you can take the Gautrain to Rosebank, the city centre, the airport, and Pretoria. Note that the buses do not run past about 8:30pm nor on weekends.

Other Things to Note

I do have Wifi, but have a monthly data limit, so I would request that you use it for general email and web browsing, but not for video chats, video streaming or large downloading.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $5 / night after the first guest
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Ros was a warm, engaging host and it was a lot of fun chatting with her. She has an interesting job and has traveled the world and has a lot to tell. Her apartment is spotless, the bedroom equipped with a wonderfully comfortable bed, and the bathroom was large and just for me. I have stayed in Johannesburg many times and security is obviously an issue. Ros is in a complex with a manned gate 24x7 and security fencing around so you feel totally safe. The area is in the Northern Suburbs which is pretty much the best area of town. With a car you can be anywhere in Johannesburg within 5 to 30 minutes. Would definitely recommend and stay again on my next trip to Johannesburg.

    January 2014
  • Ros was very accommodating as it was a last minute,she was great.Her place was spotless and very quiet,recommend her place to any one.

    March 2013
  • My stay with Ros was very pleasant and relaxing. As a woman traveling alone from the States , it was a comforting to be in a secure homey environment. Ros was very easy and pleasant to converse with and I felt as if we had known each other for years rather than days. She was very keen to help me with local info , and getting around the area as well. I would not hesitate to recommend her place to all my friends in the States, and will be staying with her again after my return from Durban before I leave for the States. So don't forget about me Ros ,and as they say back home, "don't forget to leave the light on!"

    October 2012
Per Month
From
$22
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 36 times
Languages
English
Work
Sub-editor on large sports news website
About
I'm a 42-year-old South African, born in Johannesburg and lived here all my life. I have traveled extensively, both for work and leisure... the count is over 40 countries so far. When I'm home, I tend to stay in most of the time - I work flexi-time from home as a sub-editor on a large sports website. I like things to be clean, neat and organised and my home reflects that. As a guest, I'm... well.... clean, neat and organised :-)
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
4 months ago
Similar Listings