View of cottage from the gardenRelax on your secluded deck
Entire home/apt
2 Guests
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
$110 AUD
Per Night
381 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Forest Cottage is the perfect romantic retreat for couples to sample country living by the coast. It is unfortunately unsuitable for children and pets.

"Breakfast with the parrots, a sundowner with a pair of frogmouths, and supper with the possums".

View of cottage from the garden

View of cottage from the garden


The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Weekly discount: 25%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

What makes the cottage unique is that guests enjoy the best of beach and bush: just one and a half hours from Melbourne, yet situated close to Bells Beach and the Ironbark Basin section of the Otway National Park.

The private self-contained 1 bedroom/1 bathroom cedar studio is located on a spacious two acre property, surrounded by gum trees and natural bushland. It features an abundance of native wild life including brushtail and ringtail possums, echidnas, and an occasional swamp wallaby and sugar glider. A bird list is available on request.

The queen sized bed comes with a wool underlay and cotton sheets beneath a downy doona. The ensuite bathroom has a shower, and a hairdryer and complementary toiletries are provided. Facilities include TV with DVD, a kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, double hot plate, toaster oven, electric skillet, rice cooker, kettle, crockery, cookware, and cutlery. Plunger coffee, a variety of teas, milk, and a welcome treat are provided for your pleasure. Please let me know if you have any dietary restrictions. Gas heating and an electric blanket ensure your comfort in the cooler months. Shady verandas and a ceiling fan ensure comfortable temperatures in the warmer months. Please be aware there is no oven and the food preparation area is limited.

Guest Access

There is a shared entrance with the main house with ample off road parking. The cottage is sufficiently secluded for privacy, separated from our home by gardens and screening woodland.

Interaction with Guests

We welcome guests but then leave them undisturbed. As we live on the property, we are available at all times should a problem arise.

The Neighborhood

What we love about the neighbourhood is the proximity to the beaches of the Surfcoast and bushland of the Otway National Park's Ironbark Basin.
From the cosiness of your cottage a myriad of possibilities awaits you! Bells Beach, the world famous surfing venue is just a couple of minutes drive away. A 10 minute walk will bring you to the cliff top walking paths that wander along for miles just above our spectacular coastline. A few minutes of drive way, Jan Juc, Torquay and Point Addis have pristine and safe beaches for swimming, boasting magnificent scenery and often perfect waves! Many other activities are close at hand, including surfing, wineries, winter whale watching, spring wildflowers, golf courses where kangaroos graciously share the fairways with the locals, the Surf Museum and much, much more!

Getting Around

A car is essential to make the most of your stay. We recommend a hire car from the airport. The closest public transport is infrequent and a 10 minute walk away.

Other Things to Note

The hot water system and space heater run on LPG.

+ More

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not child-friendly (0-12 years)
Check-in is after 3PM

Guests are asked to respect the property and its environment. No smoking indoors, please.

We have two much loved cats. As our home is separated from the cottage by only gardens and woodland, we respectfully, but firmly, ask you to leave your own pets at home.

Your suggestions for improvements are always welcomed.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
Safety Card
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay
Relax on your secluded deck

Relax on your secluded deck

54 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 12 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

Your Host


Lorna

Lorna

Jan Juc, Australia · Member since January 2012

Born in Yorkshire, I have lived and worked in many places including England, Mauritius, Australia, and California. Now retired, I am enjoying a relaxing time on the Surfcoast of Victoria with my husband John and our cats Della and Archie (named after characters in the mysteries we both love to read).

As a host, I aim to make guests feel at home. I enjoy cooking, love to try out new recipes, and make my own bread, cakes, and preserves.


+ More
Response rate: 100%(past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections

Additional Hosts