Frank Lloyd Wright, Design, & Space

House - Entire home/apt · East Daisy Lane, Fox Point, WI 53217, United States

A quiet oasis ten minutes from the Lakefront and downtown Milwaukee: this is not your average urban or suburban dwelling.

The Space

The house offers up to 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms (3 are ensuite), and the full enjoyment of the many other spaces (living room, dining room, den, patio, three seasons room) within an interior of 3500 ft2.

Its location is only 10 minutes north of downtown Milwaukee in a very safe suburb .

The house was originally designed by two architects much influenced by one of the most brilliant architects of the 20th century, and the architectural integrity (the iconic FLW ledge-ceilings, central stone fireplace) has been carefully protected and recently enhanced.

Sight lines both inside and out are outstanding. For example, looking south through the floor to ceiling living room windows, there are no neighboring houses visible - only an expanse of grass, meadow, and a ravine.

Simply, the house and setting offer peace and comfort for groups to enjoy time together, enjoying each other's company in an open-plan layout or over a 10-person dining room table.

Or they may wish to flow from inside to outside, through a three seasons room of wraparound glass windows, onto a 100-foot patio that is softened by traditional woodland and meadow, and occasional deer. By night that space offers the opportunity to BBQ or share quiet conversation under the stars in a very clear setting.

Groups consistently say the house offers very good value and is ideal for reunions, corporate retreats, family and other gatherings . Because the house is only one level and has bathtub bars it is also suitable for older guests.

This last year I have added hardwood flooring to the kitchen, a stainless steel dishwasher, a flat panel TV for films, further windows in the living room, and a re-surfacing of the large circular driveway ( it parks about nine vehicles).

Authentic mid-century and modern furniture with a professional architect's designer touch, !8 foot indoor tropical garden, central Tennessee Stone fireplace, 13 foot high ceilings, classic oak paneling, and a golden ceiling in a master bedroom create a "Wow!" effect.

Other amenities include full sets of cookware and dishes, linen, a two-car garage, WiFi., and a range of shopping at the nearby, expanded Bayshore Mall/Town Center (Trader Joe's, Apple Store, LA Fitness, some ten restaurants...)

Rates are based on 8 guests and the season.. A two night minimum stay is required. A discount may be available if there are only 2-4 guests. Additional guests beyond 8 are $50/person/night.

Guest Access

Everywhere

Interaction with Guests

The privacy of guests is respected.

The Neighborhood

The best neighborhood in the North Shore of Milwaukee! It has the feel of the Northwoods, the architecture is diverse and the gardens amaze, the streets are wide and empty, the neighbors quiet and unobtrusive, and Lake Michigan can be reached by foot, bike, or a two minute car ride.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 12
Bedrooms: 4
Bathrooms: 4
Beds: 9
Extra people: $50 / night after 8 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Security Deposit: $1000
Cleaning Fee: $100
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 1:00 PM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Andrew was a great host and the house is beautiful. Great place for a fun weekend with friends and family.

    April 2014
  • House was wonderful and the owner was a pleasure to work with!

    Thank you again!

    February 2014
  • The house is uniquely designed outside and inside. Everyone in my group loves the architecture. We had a good time here in spite of a few bad things.

    The fact that the house is extremely dusty really turned us down. A couple of my friends could not really stay too long inside the house due to dust allergies. Did I say dusty...

    Besides, all bathroom doors cannot be locked from inside; one is not even completely closed and the other cannot flush properly.

    Due to poor designed of kitchen table, we had to pay so much money for breaking tabletop. But upon further inspection, my group noticed that the glasstop was not securely balanced on the table. The mirror was resting on a small platform down the middle and the sides of the mirror were hanging off of it. This added so much stress to each side of the mirror making it easy to crack.
    The host did not even try to understand this table design/ construction issue that we found and (maybe) try to discuss win-win solution between both parties.

    In conclusion, not recommended.

    December 2013
    Andrew
    Response from Andrew:

    The background to a slightly spiteful review -

    I was led to believe this group of eight was older and more mature. As it turned out, they were ten exuberant students in their early 20s, and some were smokers.(They went outside to smoke though when I returned the outside doors were wide open and it was Winter.)

    Their relatively careless attitude was more Florida Spring Break than a house with fine, original teak furniture deserves, and there was damage including breaking an artisan glass table top by using it as a cutting board.

    The lesson is to follow the principle of another Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired house that you must be at least 25 years old to rent the house unless prior arrangements have been made.

  • We had a wonderful relaxing birthday get a way at Andrew's house.I would highly recommend this amazingly beautiful relaxing house.

    November 2013
  • We had a GREAT time here! The location was ideal in respect to beach
    proximity and space for our group. Andrew was accommodating to our
    requests. Here are the small items that we noticed in terms of a detailed
    review: We found the value of this home to be good. Andrew was a gracious host.

    You'll enjoy the home and area. Here are the observations from our group:

    * Location was ideal for us, especially for a drive from Chicago
    * Ample towels/sheets/etc. were provided
    * You need to drive to get to the beach, but Andrew drew us a map to get there... the beach was clean and a lot of fun
    * there are beds for up to 8 people, though you can sleep more with sofa and sleeping bags
    * we saw a few bugs in the bathroom
    * we needed to re-wash some dishes in the kitchen and found dirt/dust on surfaces in the bedrooms
    * some amenities like large trash bags and hand soap were not in the bathroom, so bring them yourself
    * A/C must have been older so some parts of the house got cold, but others would not fully cool

    July 2013
    Andrew
    Response from Andrew:

    Amit and his friends held a joyous college reunion at my house during a local heat wave. I was glad his group fully enjoyed the kitchen (and dishwasher), large dining room/living room, four bedrooms, and the patio with a BBQ. His gathering could not have taken place at a hotel (and the cost of rooms only at any hotel would have been at least 50% higher). It was also a bonus that many appreciated the architecture.

  • Our group of 10 (7 adults and 3 toddlers) had a pleasant stay. Andrew was keen to make sure that our stay was comfortable. He advised us about picking nearby area beaches. The kids loved running around in the open layout and spaces. Adults were impressed with the architecture that allowed for an indoor garden, large windows for ample natural lighting and spacious rooms. We used the patio for outdoor grilling and made good use of the kitchen. I would recommend this home for a group getaway.

    June 2013
  • Andrew was very hospitable, and I could tell he wanted us to be comfortable and happy. He was very attentive in our communications and for checkin. Unfortunately, the house--though definitely well-furnished and curated--wasn't clean enough for my family who's used to well-vacuumed and scrubbed surfaces. There was a slight mustiness in the air, and the kitchen area (counters, sink) didn't seem like they'd been scrubbed in a while. With a little more cleaning care, though, it seems it'd be a great place.

    May 2013
    Andrew
    Response from Andrew:

    I liked Kathy and will devote even more time to the kitchen. However, my house features a 20, foot tropical indoor garden and acres of woodland around.

    On a positive note, their dinner party for ten seems to have gone well, assisted
    by the new dishwasher.

  • The house was gorgeous and in such a peaceful setting. The owner was gracious and accommodating.

    July 2012
Per Month
From
$325
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 112 times
Languages
Français
About
My interests are architecture including restoration, baroque art, many styles of music, the (website hidden) favorite films include "Paris, Je T'Aime" , "Life of Pi", "An Education"and for books enjoy the writing of John Le Carre and Michael Chabon. I am still excited when I figure out a way to make my house more cool looking, a pair of bucks decide to hang out in my back meadow, or when the apple trees are brimming with fruit.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings