Casa de la Luna Costa Rica B&B

Bed & Breakfast - Entire home/apt · Calle Casa de la Luna, Santa Teresa de Còbano, Puntarenas 6011, Costa Rica
Your host, Virginia
10 Reviews
Response rate: 80%
Response time: within a day

The Space

Casa de la Luna" is a stylish Eco friendly bed and breakfast on the Pacific Coast in Costa Rica. The house is situated on hill bordering the forest and it is built in perfect harmony with nature. It has a stunning ocean view and incredible sunsets.

Rent the entire house or just a romantic room for two!
Travelling with a couple of friends? Ask about the dorm room that sleeps up to four! Just a solo escape? We've got a room for you too.

Nestled in the forested hills of Santa Teresa, Casa De La Luna (House of the Moon) enjoys stunning vistas of the Pacific Ocean, and every day brings the gift of another breathtaking sunset.

The open-air concept of this architectural dream truly nourishes the soul with the tranquility of the jungle; Guests enjoy the sound of waves gently crashing below as they drift off to sleep, then greet each new day to the sound of the howler monkeys in the surrounding forest.
Full kitchen . also you can enjoy kooking with the owners, or ask for menu, restaurant only for guests.,

• Rent a room or rent the entire house!
• Daily breakfast is included!
• Enjoy the large, well equipped kitchen or, better yet, enjoy the services of the house chef
• The outdoors flows in as you enjoy a good book or game of chess in the open concept living area
• Lounge around the infinity pool, cocktail in hand and take in the spectacular ocean view
• Take a hike up the hill and enjoy the sights and sounds of the forest
• Head down to the beach! Its just a few minute’s walk and the surf is incredible!

Located on Santa Teresa's "golden mile" Casa de la Luna is secluded and tranquil yet close to wonderful restaurants, beach clubs and terrific surf breaks.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 15
Bedrooms: 6
Bathrooms: 6
Beds: 9
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Price: $2000 /week
Monthly Price: $8000 /month
Security Deposit: $100
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Check In
  • Our stay at Casa de la Luna (we were a group of 10 people, including our 2 children) has been absolutely perfect!
    What seems to be unclear for some people who booked this place is that Vicky's place works according to the concept of a B&B: she prepares delicious breakfasts in the morning and sometimes stays around a bit during the day, including Norvis, the house help. This all happens very discretely though.
    Vicky was very accommodating to arrange breakfast at the time we liked it, gave us numerous tips what to do and where to go and cooked dinner for us several times (delicious!).
    The house is fantastic, the view is supreme and the whole place is completely open, except for the rooms of course.
    The drive up requires a 4x4 but is part of the fun.
    Around there are many great activities: fishing, surfing, canopy, the pristine beaches, fun drives on dirt roads (some of which through rivers), snorkeling (take Zuma Tours in Montezuma for a great day trip to Tortuga Island) and great restaurants (Habanero is the best we found).
    We cannot find anything negative to say about Vicky, the house, the location nor Costa Rica in general. You will have one of the best trips ever!

    August 2013
  • Firstly, it's too far away from town, a 20 min drive at least. Secondly, it's a steep near unwalkable hill up to the house from the main road. If you want something quiet and remote, it works but it really depends on what kind of vacation you want...A car or ATV is necessary in either case. Rentals are 60 dollars a day and cabs are about 10 bucks there and back.

    Secondly, you really need to be able to speak Spanish. I don't think Vicki knows how to deal with conflict in a commendable manner; it's not resolved professionally. Yes, I get the sense she's a nice person at heart, who means well, but if a problem comes up, it quickly escalates and becomes a tedious fiasco.

    A few issues: I wanted to leave early and she had offered to give back a refund for the second night ( I had booked 3) in front of the other guests but then, changed her mind afterwards. I had told her it was her choice and airbnb's mandate (air bnb would refund me 1/2 remaining nights), but it was her brag "I'm rich," I don't need money and her offer of full refund and then, subsequent change of mind that annoyed me.

    Then, money was missing. Against my better judgement- I was just going to let it go (her long term guest maia told me to talk to her), I talked to her about it.

    She was offended at the idea that it could happen at her place of establishment and angrily went on a rant about how this could never and has never happened. She told me she had to tell everyone at the hotel and I agreed full heartedly, to her surprise.

    Shit happens as the old adage says. Maybe, it was the bus driver, maybe, I lost it but her her reaction was awful and really unprofessional.

    I had to find a new place and thankfully, I did because by the time I had returned she had rented it to another person, which was fine because she was right, I hadn't informed her by the afternoon.

    I've since read through the reviews, especially the poorly rated ones, this seems to be a running theme. People who love it have had a easy going, trouble free vacation but if anything comes up, the problem(s) just isn't handled very well,

    It also doesn't feel like a "hotel" perse, I agree with the reviewer below because I felt intrusive, like I was entering into her space versus a hotel, where I should have felt welcome. Yes, she was hospitable but it didn't feel right or genuine. I felt like I was given a privilege to be there while it shouldn't be that way.

    The place itself looks exactly like the photos, it's gorgeous and peaceful. The hotel has good energy.

    March 2013
    Response from Virginia:

    Sometimes , in spite of previus communication( 11 mails this time) with potencial guest, , spectations are not possible to join Sorry to this beautyfull girl.
    We are happy with Airbnb rules because its alows the guest to have what they want.
    .., we offer the guest tod give money back of course as every body knows Airbnb money arrives 5 or more days later, so I can not give back money what I have not yet in my account,therefore is Airbn who refunds it under the rules they have, she was specting cash inmediatelly..

    We always try to do our best t, like making reservations for tours(3), to help finding another hotel, ect .
    We had the opportunity on that dates (holly week) of having guests( nice famiies from Costa Rica))invitting her for lunch at Casa de la Luna and taking her to find another accomodation , also she found another accomodation and paid for next night, in the following morninng she said she did not want to move there and this fammily help her again, to get money back from (Mini Hostel is the name)l is in Airbnb list and you may ask them for this situation , Andress is the receptionst name.
    About money lost,.never here,but not impossible and we have to look after our employees reputation. No more words..
    About Maia our long term guest , she stayed here 2.5 months, her mother 10 days and know they back to Canada, they become our friends know. She sent a letter to Airbnb about her nice experience at Casa de la Luna..
    For sure we have beeing learnning for these experiences and will be more qualified to garantee good attention.
    Owner and family..

    March 2013
  • I would like to first say the house was beautiful. We really enjoyed the views and the pool. However, the stay at casa with señora Virginia was not the best experience. She made us feel as if she was doing us a favor by allowing us to stay at her house instead of the hospitality we were expecting. She was more concerned about money then providing us with a nice hospitable experience. She turns all the lights off at 11 pm and even turned them off on me while I was reading a book one night. The best way to describe casa de la luna is somewhere between a hostal and a hotel. I would not recommend staying at casa de la luna to anyone only because of our experience with virginia.

    March 2013
    Response from Virginia:

    Es la primera es en mas de 3 años de iniciar nuestro negocio que enemos una situación , que al final resultó triste para mi dadas la manifestaciones de irrespeto y burla del señor Preston. además uno de sus compañeros de viaje golpeó el AVT que le alquilamos por cierto a precio muy cómodo, 30% menos que lo que cobran los shops de alquiler locales, es nuestro buen trato con los clientes y no queria pagar la reparación que eran 60 dólares sólamente, por supuesto eso me disgustó..
    Lamento que no haya sido el mejor viaje para el señor Preston pues a su novia la devolvieron desde el aeropuerto de Cosa Rica por un asuntto de expiración de visa, asi que pasó los dias sólo y a lo mejor eso lo indispuso.
    Lo de apagar las luces , no nos dimos cuenta su disconformidad hasta ahora, , no es nuestra política apagar luces,tanto así que si un huésped quiere permanecer hasta altas horas de la noche en la piscina , se lo permitimos y le mantenemos las luces y los chorros prendidos.,pudo suceder un corte del servicio lo cual pasa a menudo en nuestra ciudad que es rural. Lamenando nuevamene lo ocurrido, brindamos nuestra consideración al señor Preston, y que sea una experiencia de mejora mutua, lo tomaremos muy en cuenta con nuestros próximos huéspedes..
    Virginia Vargas, Propietaria

    March 2013
  • This truly is the hidden gem of Santa Teresa.
    Our stay here was absolutely wonderful, so much so we debated canceling our next reservations to stay at Casa de la Luna the whole time.
    Vicky made us feel extremely welcome and although she was unable to be there in person because of an emergency, when we arrived we talked over the phone and she made sure we had everything we needed.
    The room we stayed in was beautiful, clean and exactly what we were looking for, you could hear and see the waves crashing on the shore in the distance.
    The place is close to town and minutes away from the beach.
    Tip: I would recommend renting the ATV from Vicky, her place is on a very steep hill and it makes commuting around Santa Teresa much easier (and fun!)

    If and when we return to Costa Rica we will definitely stay here again!!

    March 2013
    Response from Virginia:

    Thanks Kara, I appreciate your evaluation, any time comming to Santa Teresa , Casa de la Luna is l your home., you are a wonderful girl.
    My best to both of you,

    March 2013
  • Casa de la Luna is the gem of Santa Teresa! We arrived late night after quite an adventurous drive from Tamarindo. Virginia was up waiting for us. She graciously welcomed us, offered us some pineapple juice and a late night dunk in the pool. (I thought the pineapple juice would be boxed, but no, she cut up a fresh pineapple and made us pineapple juice!) Virginia makes breakfast every morning and it's authentic, fresh and delicious. She is such a sweet lady and will help you with whatever you might need.

    Casa is comfortable, quaint, beautiful with a nice ocean view. For the faint of heart and those without a car, there is a steep, 5-minute walk up the hill, and approx 10 minute to the main strip on the left. A 10-minute walk to the left gets you to great Yoga classes at Pranamar.) The fact that she is up the hill is truly a benefit for so many reasons (get great views and avoid dust, noise, etc.) Great value for the price, too. We'd love to stay with Virginia at her Casa again!

    February 2013
  • I stayed at Casa de la Luna with my boyfriend in February. We had an amazing time at Vicky's place, we did not want to leave. Our room was beautiful, clean and had an amazing view of the pacific ocean. The pool was wonderful. Vicky is a fantastic cook, she made us a delicious breakfast every morning. She was very kind, and accommodating! The house was just minutes from the beach. It was a steep walk up the hill, but renting an ATV to help get around was a great option. I will definitely stay at Casa de la Luna on my next trip to Santa Teresa!

    February 2013
  • We absolutely loved staying in Vicky's house. Vicky is a great host, and was very accommodating. She even went over and above to help me with my horrible Spanish. Vicky served fantastic breakfasts out on the lovely patio every morning. She assisted us with finding amazing restaurants to visit in the area, and we were not disappointed. I had never stayed in an open house before, and it was truly an incredible experience. I did not want to leave!!!! The swimming pool was fabulous, we used it every morning and evening. The view of the Pacific from the house, and the bedrooms is astounding. I have many amazing sunset shots!! I will definitely visit her incredible home again. The only downside are the roads, and that is not really any fault of Vicky's. I would definitely advice going the way of the ferry, the other roads are doable, but you have to be the adventurous type. All in all a great experience!!

    February 2013
    Response from Virginia:

    Dear Michele,
    After I got Bill!s mail, I was a little surprise and sad, I decided not to ansewr inmediatlely, just to analize what I wrote,
    Thanks for your letter about,. What I found is that what I wrote was not clear, in any moment I was ungry because Bill wet the floor,not at all, What I was worry was at he can fall down and have a bad accident, wich means bad time for you all and me . , not more than that was my !critica!.
    Please explain it to him, and if he take attention in the future, means have consideration about the ones that love him,, this opinion deserves (sorry my inglish is not very good but hope you wil underestand the right meaning)
    Explain to him that I appreciate him , he is very special man,just I talked to him for a wile but inmediately I found him a good man, and happy as a child.
    I take the opportunity to tell you thanks you for comming at Casa de laLuna, , your sister and you husband, I can tell you that most of my guests has being very nice, in your case was more than that , I admired the way you are and how energetic , your sister as well.
    You welcome any time you come, I will be hppy having you here and cook anice dinner for all of you, will be my courtesy.
    I will take this opportunity to improve no wet feet, placing some carpets , or advising , or any suggestion about.
    Thanks for your information about the gas, I will put close attention to it, we have a grey waters sistem that is biologilcal with bacterias and ends in a garden, We will check if roots has bloked it , so, gas comes back. In formation like it drive us to improve our place.
    My porpouse, more than make bussiness(of course I live from it) is offer a place to feel confortable and warmrmess to whom comes to enjoy our beatifull beaches.
    My best again


    February 2013
  • Casa De La Luna is an exquisite, magical place. And proprietress Virginia, (email hidden) and host. She's created a beautiful respite for those who value the gentle pace of Costa Rican coastal jungle life.

    We will return to visit, often.

    December 2012
  • Casa de la Luna is definitely a hidden gem in the Malpais area. An amazing house with lush gardens, rooms with balconies and an unforgettable view looking over the ocean. Virginia was the perfect host - kind, friendly and fun to talk to. She made delicious breakfast every morning and even drove us around town the first night to show us the best spots to eat, go out and surf. We couldn't have wished for a better setting.

    November 2012
  • This place is a gem! The rooms are clean and comfortable. Virginia is a kind and generous host. The breakfasts are authentic, made from scratch, and huge -- I had to ask for smaller portions. The site is quiet as it's up a dirt road. You'll need a car, ATV, or a bike with gears to get home but it's well worth it for the view and peacefulness of the hill. You'll see and hear howler monkies, birds, and geckos every day. The deck in the middle of the house is a great place to unwind from a day of surfing, chat with Virginia or the other guests, or watch the sunset. This is truly a steal.

    July 2012
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 248 times
English, Español
I am the owner of Casa de la Luna" ,a stylish Eco friendly bed and breakfast on the Pacific Coast in Costa Rica. I love to travel and building my small B&B on the Pacific Coast has been a long time dream of mine. I am very proud of my country's culture and I am trying to embody the soul of Costa Rica in the design of my house like furniture from only local wood, typical architecture,artisan decoration and having the nature surrounding the house. I am also I am very excited to showcase my passion for cooking at breakfast time where you will receive a rich and delicious meal.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
4 months ago
Similar Listings