Downtown loft, huge, hip, and clean

Loft - Entire home/apt · Andrews St, Rochester, NY 14604, United States

The Space

Huge space with 2 big bedrooms and a daybed in the main room. City views, walking distance to convention center, War Memorial, Blue Cross Arena, Eastman School, High Falls, Hyatt Hotel, Frontier Field, etc. etc.. 2 full Bathrooms, full kitchen with everything you need to cook.

There are two parking spots available to use in the lot right next to the loft.

The area is downtown Rochester, urban but safe. You have restaurants, bars, and a great newsstand with some basic provisions all very very close. The neighborhood is surprisingly quiet. There used to be a loud club a block away, but it has closed.

(Please note, if you need cable TV or a big screen, this is not your place. I only have over the air tv (though that is a good 10 channels), and small TV. But hey, there is just way too much to do around here to sit watching TV. I also have a bunch of movies, classics and cult favorites, with some kid movies). There is no onsite WiFi but you can log into a city wide wireless service for a few bucks a day ((website hidden)).

Rochester is not great for public transpo, though there are bus lines. If you are coming in on a train or a bus, that station is 2 blocks from the loft!

If you have ever wanted to live or just stay in a SOHO style loft, this is the place. And if you are into downtown living, this is ideal. The loft is an ideal place to hang out and relax, high ceilings, very bright, and huge new windows. If you have a lot of plans, the loft is perfectly located in the center of Rochester.

Please note: There are no hidden fees. I do not charge a cleaning fee, or anything extra, besides the $25 per guest after 4 people.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 7
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 4
Extra people: $25 / night after 4 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $975 /week
Monthly Price: $3000 /month
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • Had a great time in Rochester thanks to Pete and his amazing loft!

    It was exactly as described, very clean, with all the amenities listed, and the downtown view is truly wonderful. Pete was easy to get a hold of, and very helpful in providing information about the loft and area, as well as making arrangements for the keys.

    The place was very pleasant and comfortable. Staying in, we listened to records and Pete was very trusting in letting us listen to his own (may I recommend The Last Waltz album by The Band). We also did some cooking and everything we needed was there. When we went out we walked to Legends Bar for a Syracuse University basketball game. The place was good, but the following day we walked to Genesee Brew House and their food was better and they had larger TVs. I'd highly recommend checking out the place; museum, brewing tour with a sampler of locally crafted beers, and their delicious restaurant. The location of the loft is great, truly walking distance to everything downtown. Once the car was parked right outside the building, we didn't even use it.

    Thanks for sharing your place, Pete. We hope to be back again.


    February 2014
  • Pete's loft is a great place to stay. Was there in the middle of a snowstorm and was still able to walk to wherever we wanted to go. Restaurants, bars, sports arenas, coffee shops were all short walks away. The place was very clean and comfortable. Never saw Pete, but communicating with him before and during trip was straightforward. The apartment has everything one would need for a short stay.

    December 2013
  • Close to the Convention Center. Clean. Interesting furniture and decorations!

    October 2013
  • A group of us from New York City area rented Pete's loft and our main purpose was vicinity to the Geva Theater for the annual downtown Fringe Festival. We all felt we had "lucked out" as the space not only accommodated 6 of us (two couples) it was just such a pleasant and safe place to run back and forth from for the week. Pete couldn't have been more pleasant and attentive host, calling, emailing, leaving helpful simple instructions and really then leaving us to our own resources to set-up our own bed and breakfast. I'm so sorry there's that negative feedback someone left for him too, and we didn't experience any of the such-implied atrocities that another group did who left unwarranted (in our experience) negative feedback. Pete said he's having second thoughts about renting again, which is a shame, especially for people like us who really appreciate and understand this kind of urban living, especially in NYC and bigger cities. (Who are these other renters anyway, the cultural "good taste" police?) The loft itself was a clean and bright space of someone who is obviously creative and artistically minded, which is probably why we felt so at home. What is so nice about is the large, open, minimal decor which accepts several guests with their stuff and the like.
    The Loft complex is undergoing renovations, and we had the feeling there was major new install of water and plumbing infrastructure. (The building alerted us of a water shut-off for 3 hours on Friday, we planned for it and it was not a problem in the least.) There were some plumbing knocks and creaks, some pretty loud during the week, but these sort of stopped after Friday and didn't hear anything on Saturday and Sunday. We loved the restaurants that seemed to be new and popping up in the neighborhood but they close for breakfast and lunch on the weekend, of course when no one is downtown. We didn't get to try Tapas restaurant which seems to be a local fav of younger and hipper crowd and is right around the block. Some people at the theater said to be careful, the area next to Pete's neighborhood isn't safe, which is what we saw driving to it from the other side of the inner loop highway. I felt safe though as single female late-at-night parking car and walking in and out of the building. We had family staying across the river at the hotel and conference center on State Street and I felt extremely safe walking back and forth, with traffic and others on the street.
    I would say if Pete has a change of heart and decides to trust air-bnb-ers again, it's a great space to stay, and beats the formality and anonymity of a hotel -- or trendy or ? -- space that others should take the responsibility for in looking for a place to stay.

    September 2013
  • My friend Chris and I had a fantastic stay at Pete and Maggie's loft. Everything worked out well. The loft is in a great location, a 5-7 minute walk from the Rochester Amtrac Station which was great as we caught the train from NYC. Easy walking distance to other bus routes and to great eating places like the Dinosaur BBQ. I recommend to anyone going to Rochester to eat there at least once. The loft itself is clean, spacious, safe and has everything anyone would need with enough bedding for up to 5 people. Pete was very professional, was always available and kept in touch via email and phone. He sent us a very informative information sheet on the loft and the best places to eat and drink in Rochester. I would not hesitate to recommend Pete and his loft to anyone that is visiting Rochester.
    Rob Melbourne Australia

    August 2013
  • I travelled with 3 friends to Rochester - we have all had experiences with home rentals all over the world and felt like this would be a great option to a hotel. We were disappointed from the moment we arrived. We met another tenant of the building who warned us about the neighborhood, urged to use the back entrance at night, and never to wear jewelry upon entering or leaving the loft. Not a good start! With no security lock inside to loft, we never felt 100% comfortable. The loft was, as pictured - quite spacious. It really gave us room to move about freely. And the kitchen had just about everything you could need (except there is no microwave for reheating....) but there was not much ‘hip’ about the place - unless of course you think old beer cans stacked with sports gear on top of kitchen cabinets is ‘hip’. From previous experiences with AirBnB I have come to expect a certain standard of comfort in my rentals. The loft felt more like I was staying in a college dorm suite - clean on the surface, but very worn out overall. There were no hooks for hanging anything in the bathrooms - and only one towel bar. No hand towels or face cloths - just a big bath towel each. There were lots of other less luxurious towels in the closets that we used for bathmats....but I did head to the store for a few facecloths and kitchen sponges. The loft is clearly very lived in - every closet and dresser was accommodating someone else’s clothes - though there were plenty of hangers available, it was a little too intimate share a closet with a stranger. There were also bins of assorted sheets and a few extra comforters - kind of worn out, but serviceable. Now for the charming pink couch was filthy! I wish I had enlarged the picture on my ipad before signing up for the loft. I was the only one brave enough to sit on it, after covering with a blanket. But it had the look of something that was picked up on the side of the road. The glass top Ikea coffee table had wheels that were twisted - and so that was used gingerly to avoid having the whole thing collapse. The loft had beautiful large windows offering a view of the downtown area - but with no blinds on the roof side windows, we often felt ‘on display’ to the fellow who was doing some kind of daily maintenance on the roof. The small bedroom had a plastic levelor type blind, that was passable, but not great. I think the large bedroom had one ‘sheet’ like curtain covering one window, but nothing on the window that lead to the fire escape. We received a detailed memo about the loft and its ‘quirks’ about a week before our visit. If I had that memo before I booked, I might not have done...

    July 2013
    Response from Pete:

    I'm not sure where to even begin with Nancy's post. After hosting dozens of wonderful guests, I was bound to have an unseasoned city traveler eventually.

    First and foremost, read the rest of my reviews. Her expectations were totally unreasonable. My loft is exactly like I describe and as shown in the pictures, in fact it is even better now with the new windows. I have it super cleaned before every guest. I will just reply to the important points here.

    1. The neighborhood is very safe and quiet unless there is a big club event, then it is still safe, but can get a loud at bar time if you are out in the main room. You don't have to worry about getting mugged. If you have never lived or vacationed in a city in your life, it might feel scary, but for the rest of the world, it is an awesome spot. Not sure about this Phantom Other Tenant, everybody that lives here loves it.

    2, The couch, someone spilled some coffee on it, I will have it professionally cleaned. It is a custom made, high end and comfy couch.

    3. Security lock? I am totally at a loss here as to what she is talking about, there is a deadbolt to the door and a keypad to enter the building.

    4. The loft is worn a bit, yes, but not in a bad way -- most people think the place is hip and cool. Not sure what her definition of hip is, but it doesn't mesh with every other person that stayed here. My place is uncluttered with lots of space for your clothes and storage. Yes, I do have clothes of our own hanging in the huge closets, but there is plenty of room for your stuff, I push ours to the back. And my collection of Schmidt beer cans with the outdoor scenes. . .I'll have to take a photo and post it for you to enjoy.

    5. No hooks in bathroom? Did she even stay here? There is hand towel hook in each room and also bars for towels.

    6. No blinds on roof side. In the bedroom there are blinds, out in the kitchen there are not, not sure why you would need them there, unless you wanted to hide something. But it is something I will consider after polling my past guests. I like the clean look and feel of no blinds on the huge windows. The one window in the bedrooms without a blind, faces out to the sky, with no one able to see in, but I will put a blind on there, that is a good idea. And that "sheet" like curtain is a window drape from Target.

    I could go on, but I don't want to get even more defensive about my wonderful place. She had one other AirBnB trip, please compare that to the reviewers below, most of them having many AirBnB stays.

    If you have any concerns about her post, please contact me before booking so we can discuss. I work very hard to make the loft a great -- super clean -- spot for AirBnBers, and from my other comments below, everyone besides Nancy and her friends have agreed.

  • The loft is just as pictured and perfectly located for the activities we were planning (walking distance to music and fireworks, short drive to friend's wedding, etc).

    Pete supplied everything you would need in the loft. Great open space and great light. It wasn't noisy at all during the times we were there. The fridge did have condensation, but everything else was spectacular. The unit had one queen bed, two twin beds, a futon in the living room along with 2 other couches. I actually fell asleep on the pink couch in the picture and it was perfectly comfortable too.

    Make sure to use the parking pass because there were people checking. I truly enjoyed my stay and would stay again if I ever had the chance to go back to Rochester.

    July 2013
  • Just as described. Clean, large, comfortable. Close to good restaurants and bars. Great find!

    May 2013
  • Great place, very child friendly, awesome location - We wil be back! The only bummer was that we couldn't get the Frontier CityWide internet - it may have been because they were having technical difficulties. It was surprisingly quiet to be right downtown. (we were there midweek). The kids were comfortable and happy and so were the adults!

    December 2012
  • We had such a wonderful time staying in Pete's loft! The location is perfect for exploring the downtown area. We stayed there for the Thanksgiving Holiday and found everything we needed to make a great feast! If we come back to Rochester we will definitely stay there again if it's available!

    November 2012
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 48 times
Hardworking, bouncing between two residences.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings