About this listing
Eden Gardens is situated in a homely lush garden in the heart of Lavington just 6km from the centre of Nairobi. We are located close to areas like Westgate, Junction, YaYa and Kilimani. The B&B has 10 rooms, each in its own african inspired design.
All the rooms have fast WIFI and a delicious breakfast is included. Drinks and snacks are also available to buy. Room number 5 is large with a very comfortable queen size bed. The room has an ensuite bathroom.
There is a large outdoor pool available, and you can also relax outside with a nice drink and a book. Breakfast is served in the lounge where there also is a large TV with several international channels.
Lavington is an upscale area in Nairobi and it safe to walk around in the neighborhood. It is a sportsclub less then 5 minutes walking around where it is free to use the tracks. It is around 10 minutes by foot to Lavington Shopping centre, where you can find shops and a few restaurants. There is also several other restaurants in the area. Lavington Shopping Centre is also the closest matatu stop (Bus stop)
Eden Gardens provides airport pickup and we have a taxi stationed here.
Welcome to an oasis in the urban jungle of Nairobi!
Eden Gardens is a relaxing place and we don't have many rules. We expect our guests to behave, and we have never had any problems so far. We do not allow smoking inside, but you can smoke outside.
I stayed at Endre's guesthouse for just a few days to attend a wedding in Nairobi. The staff were all very helpful and kind and we had a great stay. A great option for travellers in Kenya on a budget.
Ok, I used the place as a temporary alternative to the hotel as I came for business meetings in Nairobi for 3 days.
I must say that the staff is great, however the quality of the place itself is very very poor. The mattress on the bed was the cheapest option you can find in Kenya and would cost you 25 USD at most in the nearest Nakumatt and was obviously more than a year old. The mattress had a shape of a funnel and no matter what place i would lie on, at the end of the night I would roll into the center, and feel the wooden bed base through the mattress with my back.
There was no lamp in the room, just a bare bulb. There was no mirror, no desk, only 1 of the sockets was working. Shared bathroom, not even clean. Plastic chairs in the garden, very old and badly maintained pool. The rest of the house - furniture, appliances, bedding - was again the cheapest you could find in Kenya or incredibly old. Overall the house set-up makes you feel not like a guest in a cozy guest house (that's what I have expected), but as a person who can't afford even minimal reasonable comfort.
I wouldn't recommend the place to any of my colleagues or friends. However if you you are on a backpacker's budget, I guess it will do the job.
Hello Natasha. Thanks for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Let me also express my deepest appologies for our disability to meet your expectations. For sure we want to be that cozy guest house you expected to find.
I have looked into your complain, and I see that the madress in the room you were sleeping in, room 3, indeed was in terrible condition. The madress was never intended for the guestrooms and was put there a week before your arrival by mistake. It has already been replaced.
Thank you for appreciating our staff. They have also been trained in handling issues like this. I wished you had complained immediatly as we would have changed your room or madress.
I have also noted your other points. It is true that the property is still under development, as we took over this place around 10 months ago. However all of our furniture is new and specifically designed by a talented furniture designer from Nairobi. We have not yet installed the garden furniture and have as you correctly descibed, put up a temporary solution with plastic chairs and tables outside. There are several pictures of the property at Airbnb, and they even sent their own photgrapher to take pictures. There is new developments weekly and we are currently building 5 new rooms with new bathrooms.
Again, we are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. If you want to try us again, we would be happy to give you a complimentary night due to the problems with your madress.
This a tough review to write. Tough because all the positive things said about Eden Gardens in other reviews posted here are absolutely true. Especially the wonderful staff.
But, and it's a huge but, Eden Gardens is a death trap. The facility has every window covered by steel bars. The two doors to the outside have steel gates. In the evening these gates are closed and locked with hardware that requires a key to unlock. Note that guest room keys will not unlock the exit doors. There are no smoke detectors anywhere--not in my room, not in the hallways, not in the common room.
The bars on the windows are sufficiently strong that you will not be able to kick your way out. The same is true of the gates on the exit doors.
In the evening there is someone on duty but that person goes to bed sometime after midnight.
What this means is that smoke from a fire having started, for example, in the kitchen or common room, would entirely engulf the place before anyone knew what had happened. If anyone would awaken--most people don't, they die in their sleep from the smoke--the hallway and exit door areas would be filled with smoke from ceiling to floor. There is no way the evening attendant would be able to locate the exit door's locks and evacuate the guests.
Now, I realize this cage-the-bad-guys-out is the "norm" in Kenya for this price point. Nonetheless, at the very least the owners need to install smoke detectors throughout. They should be linked so that when one alarms they all do. Second, guests should be provided keys that will allow them to open the exit doors--they could check them in/out to prevent them from leaving the guesthouse. Third, night staff should not be permitted to sleep.
Ideally, an integrated alarm system, true exit doors that don't require unlocking and operable exits from each room would be best. But, probably too expensive given the size of the place.
If you are intent on staying at Eden Gardens you should bring with you a hacksaw with extra blades (18tpi) and a couple of smoke detectors. Seriously.
Hello Mark. Thank for your tough review that you have left here and on other review sites.
Safety and security for our guest is our first priority and your input is very valuable for us. For us to hold our business license, we need to comply with the rules and regulations of the Nairobi City council, which we do. However we have already gone through your review and see that many ofyour points are valid. We have already changed the routines on locking the main gate and we have increased the number of smoke detectors.
We appreciate the feedback you have given us. I would still have appreciated if you would have told me this in person when we met, especially since it concerns the security for our guests and we could have improved the situation immediatly instead of waiting for several weeks to read your review here.
Easy booking with Endre for 2 nights following an overlanding camping trip. Room was clean and well appointed, staff were very helpful (guidance on taxis, shopping centres etc) breakfast was great. Safe area of Nairobi and close to shopping centres. would definitely stay again if we return to Nairobi.
Ours was a last-minute reservation and Endre was quick to respond. Our room was large and comfortable, and the staff was very helpful, helping us negotiate rates with local taxis/drivers. Breakfast was hot, filling and made to order. The weather was a bit cool for a dip in the pool, but we enjoyed reading outside in the garden. Overall, based on our experience elsewhere in Nairobi: excellent value!
I stayed three nights very comfortably. The facilities and services are good. Staff are friendly and service-minded. Laundry is free and reliable. It is noted that the location is not close to big markets, being out of a walking distance, for example, for shopping.
Very nice and comfortable place. The staff was outstanding. Extremely nice and friendly.
This host has 4 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews
About the Host, Endre
Oslo, Norway, THERE WILL BE THIS PHOTO ON CIGARETTE PACKETS AFTER (phone number hidden), Marcusbil AS, Virgin PitchTV, FREMSIKT - trender, forbrukerinnsikt, innovasjon, AIESEC