Cozy living room that turns into a greenhouse when the summer plants move in for the winter.Quiet and cozy (but small) guest room in the back of the apartment.
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bed
$105
Per Night
612 travelers saved this place

About this listing

My large apartment in Boerum Hill - a charming and convenient Brooklyn neighborhood - has a spacious terrace garden and tons of personality. The guest room is quiet and cozy. My home is next to the subway and a short walk to the Brooklyn Bridge.

Cozy living room that turns into a greenhouse when the summer plants move in for the winter.

Cozy living room that turns into a greenhouse when the summer plants move in for the winter.


The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $50
Weekly discount: 12%
Cancellation: Strict

Description

The Space

Comfortable clean cozy modern room in large apartment with amazing private deck. Fresh linens and towels included.

You are welcome to cook and use the large kitchen. I have an espresso machine, microwave, stove/oven, large fridge, and all the dishes, pots and pans you could need. You are also welcome to use the spices, herbs, oils, and utensils and barbecue on the deck weather permitting.

I love, love, love our neighborhood. It's very centrally located for NYC. 10 minutes to Manhattan by subway. Tons of fantastic restaurants, outdoor cafes, boutiques, galleries, bars, and great people watching. Beautiful brownstone and tree lined streets. We have a wonderful butcher, cheese shop, wine shop, grocery store, and bread shop all within a short walk.

The apartment is near the Brooklyn Bridge, the Promenade, BAM, DUMBO, and Downtown Brooklyn. You can even walk to Chinatown and Wall Street from my place if you are inspired.

The building is on the Bergen stop of the F and G subway trains - steps from the entrance. Taxi cabs are pretty easy to find outside the apartment.

Note: This is my home. I'm a New Yorker with a very typical, busy New York life. I work regular hours during the week but also come in and out throughout the day. My boyfriend lives nearby and I'm often at his house and often out of town on the weekends. I really enjoy hosting and meeting people from around the world. I'm happy to share food and drink and give tips on what to do and sit and chat but this is not a hotel or a traditional bed and breakfast. It's just a spare room in my 2-bedroom apartment that I rent out to good nice people from around the world like you.

The apartment is over a residential garage. Maybe twice a day, the garage door is opened electronically and it can be loud. I'm so used to it I don't notice it and no guest has ever complained, but I can imagine someone might be surprised to hear it for the first time.

I used to have a lovely cat but she recently passed away from old age. I mention her because she is in some photos and she is spoken of fondly in many of the reviews.

Getting Around

The subway entrance is right around the corner from the apartment. There's also a bike share station nearby just past Atlantic Avenue. I usually bike to work. Taxis are pretty easy to catch outside the apartment.

+ More

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not child-friendly (0-12 years)

Smoking is permitted but outside on deck only.

Please leave my home the way you found it and be kind and respectful.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector

Availability
4 nights minimum stay

Quiet and cozy (but small) guest room in the back of the apartment.

Quiet and cozy (but small) guest room in the back of the apartment.

116 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 69 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

Your Host


Scott

Scott

New York, New York, United States · Member since May 2010

I'm a world traveler who appreciates the mix of city and country living. NYC (Boerum Hill Brooklyn) is my home. My friend Teah and I own a great little cabin near Phoenicia in the Catskills 2 hours north of midtown Manhattan. My boyfriend Eli and I just built a sweet house on a lake in Bethel also in the Catskills.

By day, I work as a public interest lawyer fighting evil banks in court and advocating for LGBT rights. All other times, I swim, run, bike, drink well, eat well, cook, read, listen to great music, and sort of just wander around taking it all in.

I genuinely enjoy playing host and meeting people from around the world.

+ More
Response rate: 100%(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Brooklyn

    More places to stay in Brooklyn: Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums