A look the other way, towards the water.
Private room
3 Guests
2 Beds
$40
Per Night
Your credit card won’t be charged
118 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Room in a quaint old house, facing park and beach. Squeeky floorboards but a comfy and clean bed. Shared access to bath/kitchen/garden. Fridge with basic breakfast (cheese, jam, juice) except bread free to use. 600 m to bakery/supermarket.

A look the other way, towards the water.

A look the other way, towards the water.


The Space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $8 / night after the first guest
Weekly discount: 30%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

Rustic place, with a few chips off the old paint, but cosy, clean and well equipped.

Perfect for a couple, who will find a clean double-bed (180x200cm) for the night and a basic, yet decent bathroom (shared). Will add a folding bed upon request.

Easy chair and a working table with a chair is provided. There is WIFI, cable TV, DVD player, a fridge, microwave and means to make coffee and tea.

Bicycles are available at no charge.

Got a baby? No problem. Got baby chair in kitchen, nursing facilities in bathroom, playstuff and an outside playground.

Guest Access

Full access to shared bathroom with shower and to shared kitchen with all utensils.

Outside there is full access to a closed yard behind the house with morning sun, to the front garden with day sun and to the garden with afternoon sun - if any.

Interaction with Guests

The degree of interaction with our guests is decided upon by our guests. We are basiacally available and socially open, but we also respect our guests' need for privacy.

The Neighborhood

Remarkably well placed, next to a public park and beach. Incredible area for water sports, sailing, bicykling, hiking, walks in the woods and caste gardens - or just relaxation.

10 minutes walk to shopping center.

We are situated right on the historic "Gendarmsti", which is a trail running along the fjord from Flensburg, past Gråsten and on to Sønderborg and beyond. Great for hiking. Formerly used by border patrols.

Getting Around

Easy to get around by car: 25 minutes from Flensburg, 1 hour from the wide beaches of the west coast, 20 minutes from Sønderborg.

Public transportation by bus:
5 minutes to busstop, taking you to either Flensburg or Sønderburg.

Public transportation by Railroad:
2 km to train station, with direct train to Copenhagen every other hour. Duration 3:30 hrs. Use credit card to purchase tickets outside on the platform before entering the train.

Other Things to Note

Bed linen, covers, pillows, towels, soap and shampoo will be provided for all registered guests.

There is access to our garden with picknick table, open fireplace, Weber grill and a small playground for smaller kids. A larger playground is available in the neighboring park.

No hidden fees or deposits. A very basic breakfast is available free of charge: In the fridge you will find yoghurt, juice, cheese and jam, and in the room there is a microwave oven, a boiler for tea and a coffe maker (Senseo) - tea and coffee pads are supplied. 600 meter from the house you will find an excellent bakery and a supermarket, open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Note: The full breakfast at additional charge mentioned in some reviews is unfortunately no longer available. Hence the simple breakfast supplied free of charge.

Access to washer and drier upon request, free of charge.


House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check-in is after 3PM

You can come and go as you wish. The backdoor leads up to your room without passing private quarters.

Pets are allowed. We have a dog - scary to look at but very friendly (English Bulldog). We can keep her out of your way if desired.

Smoking is not appreciated in the room, but there is an ashtray on the balcony.


Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

63 Reviews


Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 4 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

Your Host


Ranveig + Claus

Ranveig + Claus

Grasten, Denmark · Member since May 2014

Married couple with 4 children, who all have flown from the nest, leaving room(s) to spare for visitors.

We are down to earth, open minded and very flexible. Our house resembles a country house, not perfect, but a nice place to be. We are sociable, but we also respect our guests' wishes for privacy and peace.

We enjoy our surroundings - the beach, the woods, the castle gardens and the town. We walk, bike and drive on day trips locally with a lunch basket and our English bulldog, who follows us most places.
.
Professionally Ranveig has worked in health care, while I still hold jobs in marketing.

If you have any questions regarding our place and what the area has to offer, please ask. We'll do what we can to help you collect good memories from your stay, whether you are on a tourist trip or employed on a work project far from home.

May 10, 2014 / Claus


Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Gråsten

    More places to stay in Gråsten: Apartments · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums