View of the house from the gardens below.View from top level bedroom to patio and swimming pool below.
Villa Tekla, Costa Rican paradise!

Entire home/apt

8 guests

3 bedrooms

4 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
8 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Villa Tekla is our family home: a unique multi levelled house on five acres of forest and landscaped private grounds, with ocean and mountain views as well as a pool, situated near Manuel Antonio Park with endless beaches and incredible rain forests.


The space
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 4
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people $50 / night after 7 guests
Cleaning Fee $50
Security Deposit $300
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 king bed
Bedroom 3
2 single beds

House Rules

Please respect our home as you would your own. We do not rent it as a profit-making business, but only to ensure that we will not have to lay off any of our loyal, longterm staff for the months we aren’t there. We hope you have as pleasant a stay as we do when we are there, and at the end of it, if you have any comments - useful, critical or otherwise - please let Rebecca know. Also, please feel free to use our guest book and Airbnb reviews to recommend some of your favourite "to-dos" for other guests. Enjoy the house and the wonders of nature and Tico culture that surrounds it. Smoking is permitted outside on the many patios. Pets are allowed but discouraged because of the local wildlife.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

53 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Gail User Profile
September 2017
What a beautiful house! It was the perfect spot for our family. We particularly enjoyed the pool and the privacy of the grounds. We cooked many great meals in the well-equipped kitchen with groceries from the nearby store. The bus down to the beaches was super convenient too. Loved seeing all the fantastic wildlife from the comfort of this spacious, open air haven. Rebecca was, as ever, super helpful and friendly. We would definitely return. Thank you!
Tamara User Profile
Response from Tamara:
I am so glad you enjoyed our family home and grounds. Please return soon and often to beautiful Costa Rica!
September 2017

Gabriela User Profile
August 2017
Villa Tekla is a beautiful home. Very clean and comfortable. Everything is close by. We were a large group. 4 adults and 7 children ages 10-6months. They all had a great time and enjoyed the pool. The only reason I didn't not give a 5 star was because I got stinged by a scorpion in the main bedroom. It was around 10:30 in the morning. I was walking into the bedroom when I felt it on my right foot. I was horrified to see what it was. I was glad it was me and not any of the kids because it was extremely painful. After that we didn't feel 100% safe so we all wore shoes in the home at all times. If you're planning a to stay, just wear shoes at all times! Especially if your bringing children.
Tamara User Profile
Response from Tamara:
Sorry about the bite. As clearly indicated in our house manual, this is a house that is connected with nature and bugs in this wonderful tropical rainforest... even the nasty ones, are a part of that. Regular sweeping and cleaning up of wet laundry and food mess helps keep them away. Also, I recommend guest shake towels/clothes and leave to hang to keep away unwanted guests. We will have our cleaning staff be more vigilant.
August 2017

Laura User Profile
July 2017
Such an awesome and unique place! We saw monkeys in the trees and iguanas. The pool was perfect. I would 100% stay here again. Be sure to read and listen to what is written in the folder to avoid any critters you don't want in the kitchen. And keep in mind, there are really no real doors or windows, just bars so if you can't handle "roughin'" it a bit, this might not be the best place for you (aka two of my friends). The pictures are very accurate though, so there shouldn't be any surprises as to what the place is like. Very very easy to communicate with the host.
Tamara User Profile
Response from Tamara:
Thanks Laura, so glad you enjoyed it!
July 2017

Jessica User Profile
June 2017
Calling all wildlife lovers!!! We liked the location, we loved the wildlife we saw- different monkey species, 2 sloths, lizards, butterflies, toucans- you name it....but there was definitely a downside to this nature lovers paradise which involved lots of ants inside, used bandaid by the pool, raccoons in the kitchen, stray cat wondered in and being woken up every morning about 5am from neighboring roosters. This Costa Rican villa is not for the faint of heart and a person/persons must be completely on top of the cleanliness. My husbands only complaint would be the comfort of the beds (very firm) and the ants....
Tamara User Profile
Response from Tamara:
Glad you enjoyed the wildlife Jessica. The ants and raccoons are not welcome guests but we have always found that putting food away helps keep them iat bay, as clearly stated in our house manual. Hard to welcome nature without welcoming all parts of it. Roosters and all the other wildlife are up at dawn! Sorry that you weren't happy with cleanliness, we will endeavour to fix what we can.
June 2017

Ellison User Profile
June 2017
Lovely place. Lots of fun bird and monkey sightings from the patio and pool. Highly recommended!

Julie User Profile
March 2017
This house was perfect for our family with 3 little kids! Everything you need is there and the house is ideally located if you want to visit the Manuel Antonia area! We loved the openness of the house-yet feeling very safe with all fenced towards windows and doors! The pool area is great and completely in nature! We could see sloths and many beautiful birds every day! We booked everyday cleaning as a supplement and enjoyed it very much! Perfect for travelling families!
Tamara User Profile
Response from Tamara:
Thanks for your notes Julie, we are so happy you enjoyed our family home!
March 2017

Diego User Profile
March 2017
The host canceled this reservation 4 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Toronto, CanadaJoined in February 2013
Tamara User Profile

I am a Production Designer in film and television living and working in Toronto. I am married with two grown kids. I love to travel and I use airbnb often. Favorite pastimes: hiking, writing, photography, and sketching.

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Tamara’s place.
Tamara
Daniel helps host.
Daniel
Similar listings