House in friendly & easy reach area

House - Entire home/apt · Putnam St, San Francisco, CA 94110, United States
Cecilia

Our house is a two story building with yard on a quiet street and in a very friendly, family-oriented area. We rent it out when we are away during the summer.

Your host, Cecilia
5 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

Our house is a two story building with yard on a quiet street and in a very friendly, family-oriented area. We rent it out when we are away during the summer.

The Space

This is our house where we live during the year, except when we are away. It has a yard with herbs, lemons and apples. It is located in the friendliest neighborhood in San Francisco, 5 minutes walk from the largest farmers' market and the largest flea market in the bay area. The house has three lovely bedrooms, two bathrooms and one spacious living/dining room with fireplace, opening into a wide and sunny kitchen. The roomy study downstairs has a private bathroom with shower and opens into a yard. The master bedroom has a queen size bed. The second bedroom upstairs also has a queen size bed.
The room downstairs has a twin bed and an en-suite bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. All windows are just newly installed, double pane, UV protected (lots of sun from the West!). All mattresses are very comfortable. You will have free wi-fi throughout the house, and a TV set upstairs. There is also a landline and you are welcome to make local and USA long distance calls. We keep the landline for just-in-case-of-an-emergency, type of situation. We ask you not to use it to make international calls. If you do, you are welcome to let us know and we will ask you to pay for it separately before you check out. Or we can also deduct the cost from your security deposit.
In the garage you can do your laundry (large washer and dryer). Our cat Tata is totally independent, and very sweet, she lives outside and comes inside through a system of flap doors (flap doors are not in your living quarters). No need to clean after her and my cleaning person comes once a week to clean and refill her food dispenser and water fountain.
We love to cook, have good copper pots and lots of cookbooks. If you'd rather eat out, you will be 5 minutes walk from Cortland Avenue where you can dine out, do your food shopping at very good quality stores (Good Life, Avedano the butcher, 331 Cortland indoor market - reviewed in the New York Times - Sand Box Bakery, the yummiest place for breakfast European Style and 903, the latest addition to Cortland Avenue rich selection of eateries, a fusion of Japanese, Thai, Western cuisine, with menus changing weekly. Basically if you don't want to go that far but still eat well, you have it right there, minutes walk from our house.
If you like parks, you can walk to two very interesting sites near our house: Bernal Hill, where you can jog, hike and from the top, enjoy the most stunning 360 degree panorama of San Francisco and the Bay; or Holly (email hidden), hilly park with tennis, baseball, basketball courts and barbecue areas. Very family friendly but never crowded.

So now you see what makes our house special: quiet, with surrounded with green, yet near a very nice walkable commercial area and very well connected to the rest of the city.
Parking on the street is easy (you can use our driveway spot and more room on neighboring streets).

The security deposit will be returned within 48 hours after your departure, to allow us to check that everything is in order.

The Neighborhood

I love its friendly atmosphere and the many eateries. It is not central but very well connected with Downtown SF and many other destinations in the city.

Getting around

Vibrant Valencia with lots of boutiques and restaurants is a very short bus ride away, (bus #67, 5 min walk to bus stop from our house). For those who need to commute to the South Peninsula, Highway 101 south or 280 south are 3 minutes ride away or a very short bus ride (#23, bus stop is 3 min walk down from our house, very short bus ride to BART and then you can hop across the platform on Caltrain at Millbrae to go to Stanford and all the way to San Jose). Should you want to go to the Pacific Ocean and enjoy your day at the beach, the same bus #23 will take you there in 20 min. If on the other hand you want to go downtown SF, walk 7 minutes on Putnam and then downhill on Cortland to Bayshore Blvd and take the bus #9. An alternative for downtown destinations, you take bus #67 on Folsom st, get (email hidden) and Mission and then take Bart to downtown. REMEMBER BUS DESTINATION FROM MY HOUSE: always INBOUND if you want to go downtown and or to the Golden Gate Bridge area.

Other Things to Note

PARKING: you can park in front of my house - parallel. Just make sure you move your care between 12 pm and 2 pm on Tuesdays - street cleaning.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 5
Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 4
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 4 nights
Weekly Price: $900 /week
Monthly Price: $3000 /month
Security Deposit: $400
Cleaning Fee: $120
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • This was our first experience with airbnb and we can highly recommend it. We really enjoyed our stay at Cecilia's home which is very comfortable and full of lovely details and had enough space for our family (2 adults, 3 "kids": 20,14,14). Cecilia is a very warm, sympathetic and friendly host who really takes care of her guests. Everything was well prepared and explained. During our stay we had to look after the cat and the nice garden which was not much work at all, but a pleasure as it is rare to have a garden in the city. A major advantage of Cecilia's home is the great location as you can reach the city centre in a couple of minutes (by car). Within walking distance you can find all the stores and facilities you need for your daily life. To sum it up we all think this is a great place to stay for a visit of San Francisco.

    August 2013
  • I lived in Cecilia's house for a few weeks with a couple of friends and we absolutely loved our stay. The house is located in a very friendly neighborhood and we spent a lot of time on the main street, Cortland Avenue, where there are plenty of good restaurants, nice cafés and a great yoga studio. We were asked to take care of Cecilia’s cat which was not much work since it is a very friendly outdoor cat. We used public transportation to explore San Francisco and it worked out fine. I would definitely recommend a stay in Cecilia’s house, she was a great host and her house was wonderful to live in!

    July 2013
  • It felt a bit like coming home after a long flight from another continent. We had a jetlag en were suprised by San Fransisco and all impressions.
    Good place to stay, domestic,well cared, clean and comfortable. Great kitschen! It offers all we needed, our 3 girls, 12,15, 17 years liked it a lot and had their own bed or room. Nice cat and good location. When we go back, we will surely choose this stay again!

    July 2012
  • We traveled to San Francisco for a vacation with our 3 teenagers. Cecilia's house was a great place to stay and the sights were easily accessible. We rented a car so we could travel easily within and out of the city. Her house had everything we needed and we were able to have breakfast and cook a few dinners there. Bernal Heights park was within running distance and my husband and I enjoyed great runs there every morning. We would highly recommend Cecilia's house to anyone traveling to SF for a vacation/visit. Cecilia was very helpful and friendly and ensured our stay would be a successful one.

    July 2012
  • We had a very nice stay in Bernal Heights. Cecilia was a great host, and even while she was away she introduced us to her friend who showed us around the neighborhood! And, we're certainly going to miss the cat :-)

    July 2011
Per Month
From
$170
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 30 times
Languages
English, Italiano
School
Universita' degli Studi di Roma, Psychology. Hunter College, NY, MFA.
Work
Arts and culture professional.
About
Hi, my name is Cecilia. I am from Rome but live in San Francisco. I love good food, books about history, philosophy, art, anthropology, and film. I dream about having free time to read good novels. I love classical music, jazz, arabic music, and traditional indian dance. My favorite travel destination: a hammock in the shade near the sea, preferably on a hill, a cold tea with lemon and sugar and a good book and also the desire to sleep without a work deadline. As a guest I am independent and curious. As a host I like clear communication and would like for my guest to feel at home and welcome. My motto: a day at the time.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
2 months ago
Similar Listings