Tudor Suite in Cutest Neighborhood!

House - Entire home/apt · W Sherman Ave, Peoria, IL 61604, United States

The Space

NOTE: Whole house available for longterm rent as of July 1, 2014. Please inquire for longer term details.

Soooo cute inside!! Bradley University neighborhood 2-5 minutes from downtown, 1-74, Peoria's small vegetarian community, and Caterpillar corporate headquarters, and centrally located within Peoria. Lots of windows throughout house, awesome Victorian setting, and a fenced backyard for pets to run around (please note for the leapers that one small side is a short fence :)).

Assorted interesting beer, wine, and liquors are always complimentary and available, as are fresh orange and grapefruit juices, wheatgrass juice from the garden (when it's not winter), and whatever else I have concocted in the recipe development that week for one of my articles. I eat vegan (mostly raw), but you are welcome to bring anything you need for your body. All the refrigerator space you need is always available - let us know how much you like since I will have some ridiculous amount of produce in there for recipes if I am left unsupervised.

Guests normally take the upstairs suite, which is 350-400 square feet, very private, and very open to the east and west sun in a good way. It also has a great view to the east and of the windy cobblestone street. There are some eaves, but very tall people routinely stay there and have all been very happy - no head-bumping has occurred. Shared bath is on main level and guests are always welcome to use all kitchen/laundry/common areas.

Bedroom on main level is cozy and close to shared bath. Or try the green bedroom for a cozy sit (also available for separate rental for overnighters if you need more space) looking out onto the backyard, which is beautifully flowered 8 months of the year! Also available are TV and DVD player. Please note we are in a blackhole for cable, so I cannot offer you that.

Updated internet has redeemed the unconnective black hole of my cyber-neighborhood, so the internet is working swimmingly.

Guest Access

All common areas, laundry, all amenities

Interaction with Guests

However much they want :)

The Neighborhood

Oldest pretty neighborhood in Peoria, and the only one with original cobblestone

Getting around

Car is best here, but there is public transit and cyclists are within 2 miles of downtown and 3-5 of major shopping

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $350 /week
Monthly Price: $1225 /month
Security Deposit: $250
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Our stay at Lindsay's was great. The house is in a great little neighborhood and our room upstairs was perfect. Lindsay was very easy to keep in contact with and flexible on our arrival and departure. We would definitely stay here again.

    April 2014
  • Lindsay was out of town during our stay, so we had the home to ourselves. It is a very clean, comfortable home. We would stay there again if we were traveling through Peoria.

    March 2014
  • This home was a pleasant surprise in Peoria. Lindsay was a great host. Her cat and dog were always around to keep us company. As I was introducing my boys to AirBnB, Lindsay was a great sport in sharing her life. We all left refreshed.
    Thank you Lindsay

    March 2014
  • This was my first AirBnB experience and I think I will never stay at a hotel again! Lindsay was accommodating, her house was cozy and her roomates (dog and cat) helped make me feel at home. Good convos with Lindsay and I would let her stay at my place anytime. Nice quite neighborhood centrally located to the best Peoria has to offer! Don't think twice, it's beyond alright!

    March 2014
  • There should be a button I can click after I've stayed at the same place a number of times - there's a reason people choose to do things repeatedly. :)

    Lindsay and her critters are awesome and her home is inviting and comfortable. Highly recommended! Enjoy

    February 2014
  • This was my second stay with Lindsay...for a reason. She and her fury friends know how to treat a guest. The night I stayed was well below zero outside but warm and cozy in a comfy bed on the second floor. The bathroom, on the first floor is clean and quite functional. The first visit we tried some organic vodka and on this trip Lindsay introduced me to Ulrich's Rebellion Room for a few beers...it was great! I'll be back

    January 2014
  • We booked Lindsay's place last minute due to a death in the family. The place was exactly as described, and Lindsay was an incredible hostess. Her place was clean and close to the airport and to Bradley University. The room we stayed in was huge and much bigger than we had expected. Lindsay also went out of her way to accommodate all of us by letting us also use the downstairs bedroom. We are very grateful to her for everything she did and recommend her to anyone. Note, she has a kitty and a wonderful dog by the name of Lady. The pets were a joy to have around.

    November 2013
  • Lindsay and her fury little pals were excellent hosts. Her home is as described, warm (especially nice given the late November date of my stay) and cozy. If it hadn't been for Lindsay, I may never have know that organic cucumber vodka existed! I had a delightful time conversing with Lindsay and hope to pop in on her again one day...

    November 2013
  • The house was great and Lindsay couldn't have been a better host. The location was perfect as well. 7 minutes from the airport and from downtown. I highly recommend staying here, if you're going to be in Peoria.

    November 2013
  • Lindsay was very cooperative with my last-minute reservation. Positive experience in every way; would definitely stay again and hope I have the opportunity!

    November 2013
Per Month
From
$66
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 35 times
Languages
English, Español
School
Penn State
Work
Raw Vegan Product Developer/Wellness Consultant
About
Raw vegan wellness consultant and food product developer with another very grownup job on the side, I am a fairly seasoned adventurer at this point in my life. Tokyo and Costa Rica are the latest, and South America/more of southeast Asia are probably due a visit next, once I get through the Mendocino coast. I also do sustainability and continuous improvement analyses for global and small enterprises. When I Host: Note the dog ☺ and our latest addition, a cat who isn’t clingy but will allow belly-rubbing anytime. Feel free to retreat to your cave or tell me to get lost if I’m in the house, and I’ll go read or plot the world’s progress. Coffee, tea, raw fruit juice, and various alcohols are always around the house. You are welcome to whatever food I have, which is usually pretty plentiful (though obviously vegan). You are also welcome to all the common areas, and I am out of town a fair amount, so you may very well get the whole place. If I’m home and you’re feeling sociable, there is an excellent chance we will end up on the porch or at the dining room table eating or drinking or both, but that's only if you're like that. The guest suite and green room are shared bathroom, but they are otherwise pretty slammin’. The Suite is very private and the Green Room is good for kid romping on the main level. When I Visit: Depending on the purpose of a given trip, I am very open to either spending time with my host or going off on my own. Ideally I have some quiet time and yoga in the morning. I don't need caffeine, and Lady the dog is not on a major schedule, though I don't travel with her normally (I would let you know in the inquiry, for sure :)!). She is very friendly and calm past the first exciting 5 minutes she meets you. She is 11yo, 25-30# depending on the day :). She is a herder and will patrol the property as much as you want, but she is short-haired and clean. She is awesome with kids and can quickly adapt to other dogs. She does a bit of chasing of cats, but if your cat is up to the challenge, feel free to bring her/him along. It will not hurt my feelings to have Lady challenged by the stronger species.
View full profile
Response Rate
70%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
yesterday

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings