User Profile Image

Notting Hill Family Triplex

United KingdomLondon
Entire home/apt
9 Guests
4 Bedrooms
5 Beds
Per Night
453 travelers saved this place

About this listing

This is a great flat to visit London from. Just out of central London, still in the borough of Kensington and Chelsea it is located 2 streets from the northern end of the fabulous Portobello Road.

Notting Hill Family Triplex

The Space
Bathrooms: 2.5
Bedrooms: 4
Beds: 5
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: $129 SGD
Weekly discount: 4%
Cancellation: Strict

Description

The Space

This is a great apartment to explore London from! Just out of central London but still in the borough of Kensington and Chelsea it is located 2 streets from the northern end of the Portobello Road with all its restaurants, coffee bars, interesting shops and market. This is a very eclectic part of London with longstanding local Spanish, Moroccan and Portuguese communities sharing the local facilities with top designers Stella McCartney and Julian Macdonald who both have their design studios nearby. Our current Prime Minister, David Cameron’s family home is just 3 streets away.

This is a big flat, which occupies the upper half of a large town house in Notting Hill, and is spread over 3 floors –quite a lot of stairs! Once you have negotiated the stairs up to the first floor, cross the hallway and you are immediately into the huge, high ceilinged, light filled dining room, kitchen and through sitting room with TV, videos and books. Big sash windows look out over the square. On this floor are a small office, a loo with a view and a fully equipped utility room. A wide staircase takes you up to the next floor with 2 double bedrooms and a very small cot or suitcase room, and bathroom with power shower, whilst the 4th bedroom is up another shorter staircase and comes with a prize for climbing all those stairs - its own en-suite bathroom. The through sitting room on the first floor has a very comfortable double sofa bed and a curtain separates it from the dining room to make a fourth bedroom for large parties and there is another pull out bed in one of the bedrooms on the second floor.

Because it is on a south-facing corner, the flat is very light filled and warm. I have lived here very happily for 15 years and hope to continue doing so but at the moment am taking some time in the country to study ceramics, hence its availability. I have left it comfortably furnished for you; new bed linen and towels, books, DVDs, TV.

Please do take note of the number of stairs. There are stair rails on all but small children who may be unfamiliar with the danger of staircases do need to be supervised.

Local food shopping facilities are good. Apart from the vegetable stalls on the Portobello and Golborne Roads, there is a small supermarket on the way to the underground station, and a huge one a 5-minute walk or bus trip away. (walk there, bus or taxi back with the shopping!)

Excellent transport links make it easy to get into the centre of London; the underground is a 3minute walk away with trains direct to Paddington Station where the Heathrow Express goes direct to Heathrow airport. Frequent buses from Ladbroke Grove go direct to Oxford Street and the British Museum; Piccadilly; Knightsbridge and the museums of South Kensington, (V&A, Science Museum and the Natural History Museums), Kensington Palace and the Royal Parks of Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, St Paul’s Cathedral; the City of London, Tate Modern, Trafalgar Square.

There are excellent bus and underground links with Paddington Station and Victoria Station; from here fast trains go direct to Heathrow and Gatwick airports. Also nearby is the Westfield London shopping complex (2 stops on the underground or a short bus ride) with 250 shops under one roof, cinema complex, bars etc.

Thank you very much for your interest. I wish all who stay here a really fabulous time!

Guest Access

The whole Apartment - 4 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, kitchen, dining room, living room and study.

Interaction with Guests

We meet all of our guests in person at the apartment when you arrive. We also provide at least 2 numbers which are manned 24/7 just in case you need any help.

Other Things to Note

This is a private and peaceful opportunity that I am offering to share with you. When you come to stay please be respectful of all that is offered and treat it within the bounds of normal social decency. If there is anything that is, within reason, an issue, please raise it immediately so I can rectify the matter. It is my strong desire that you will enjoy your stay, recommend the apartment to friends or hopefully come again.

+ More

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

Parties and gatherings are NOT permitted under any circumstances. We do not allow more than 10 people (including children) to be in the house at any time during your stay.
We reserve the right to evict guests who choose to ignore this rule. Any parties will be stopped immediately and all guests will be asked to leave the house. No refund will be given if this happens.

I am sorry if the above sounds harsh but this is the only way we can be absolutely clear on this point and help maintain the very high quality of this amazing apartment.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

Notting Hill Family Triplex

Your Host


Rowan

Rowan

London, United Kingdom · Member since December 2011

(I'm the one with the moustache by the way)
I love finding hidden gems in London... last weekend we discovered the best falafel wrap from a little stall on Golborne road (close to Portobello Road).. Mouthwatering (and actually not at all un-healthy!).
Whether its an off the wall indie coffee shop with a magical secret blend or a new exhibition at one of the amazing museums, there is just so much going on here it makes it a truly exciting place to be.

We have been hosting holiday-makers from all over the world for more than 5 years now and pride ourselves on the qualty of our homes and of our service (always with a smile and we like to think we are as accommodating as humanly possible).

We live in the same area as all of our properties and are bringing up our 2 children here. We love what we do and the fact that it gives us more time together as a family is a huge bonus.

If I'm not in London, I'm probably in the heart of mid-Wales, getting some mud on my boots and enjoying the lack of traffic and parking meters :)

Looking forward to hearing from you.

+ More
Response rate: 94%(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections

Additional Hosts