your bedroom, including dresser and closet for your clothesmy back deck, a quiet serene spot for breakfast
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bed
R$383
Per Night
405 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Would you like to relax in a hot tub and watch the lights of the city on Twin Peaks after a gorgeous day of sightseeing and then return to your spacious private room with a comfortable queen-sized bed? Street parking is free and easy.

your bedroom, including dresser and closet for your clothes

your bedroom, including dresser and closet for your clothes

Verified Photo

The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 3
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 4PM - 7PM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: R$70 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: R$174
Security Deposit: R$870
Weekly discount: 0%
Cancellation: Strict

Description

The Space

Nestled between the Noe Valley and the Castro neighborhoods in San Francisco, this spacious, sunny home floats four floors above the street and commands a panorama of Twin Peaks, Upper Market and Eureka Valley.

PARKING IS EXTREMELY EASY!
San Francisco is well-known for being a terrible place to park, but not near my house. No permits are required and there is no time limit and I have never failed to find a space within a block, usually within 50 meters. Street cleaning is only every second week for two hours.

Guest Access

You will have one bedroom to yourself and three bathrooms to share with other guests - if there are any. We have our own bathroom for ourselves. The dogs will not be in your space unless you invite them. The way the house is situated, your room is way down the hall from the rest of the house, so it is quite private. The kitchen, decks, and living room are all available to you. I have a cozy, quiet back deck with tons of plants, morning sun, and a bistro table for meals; while the front deck has the panoramic view and jacuzzi.
- The bed is queen sized and made with soft clean linens (I have professional housekeepers) and a down comforter and two pillows.
- The closet is available for your clothes while you stay.
- There are windows (with blinds and/or curtains) facing east and west.
- I offer self-service breakfast (muesli/granola) and fruit and a non-dairy milk, coffee and tea, and there is space in the refrigerator for you.
- Free Wifi
- I can provide you with shampoo, conditioner, soap, and razors.
- I have a huge (maybe 52 inches?) flat screen TV in the living room with 800 channels (rough guess), which you are welcome to view. I have some SF-oriented films which may interest you.
- There is a washer/dryer, iron and ironing board.
- I'll provide maps, tourist guides, suggested sights and travel tips.

Interaction with Guests

We speak German fluently as well as some French, Spanish (Abby is fluent) and Italian. When you arrive, I will greet you, give you a tour, introduce you to the dogs, Portia and Cassius, and answer any questions you may have. I am a native Californian and have lived in San Francisco almost 20 years. I'm happy to share anything I know about this fantastic city! My mother is a travel agent so helping people find hidden gems is in our genes.
Some guests prefer some interaction and guidance and others prefer their privacy so I respond according to your desires. Sometimes I have a similar schedule as my guests and see them often, other guests I may not see much at all.

The Neighborhood

Given how quiet and peaceful my home is, it's hard to imagine my house is in the exact center of San Francisco, just a five minute walk in either director to the commercial centers of Noe Valley and the Castro with scores of great restaurants, cafés and boutiques. I doubt there is cuisine you can imagine which you cannot find within walking distance from my house. There is Italian, tapas, sushi, Thai, burritos, Indian, burgers, Chinese, Peruvian and scores more nearby.
The Castro is also famous for it's truly independent theater with rare festivals and it's grand Wurlitzer organ played before screenings.

Getting Around

Getting downtown or to tourist sights is easy with convenient public transportation (the 35 bus stops 50 meters away), or it’s a 7 minute walk to the MUNI Castro station which shoots you downtown in minutes) or the K, L, M, T, S lines and historic street cars can take you all over the city.
If you drive here you can find parking within a block – a rarity in SF!
Dolores Park is about a 10 minute walk away.
The Mission, Cole Valley, Duboce Triangle and Upper and Lower Haight are close by for people who like to walk, or cheaply accessible by cab or rideshare due to my central location.
Powell Street and Union Square are about 25 minutes with Muni (including the walk). Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, Ghiradelli Square, Coit Tower, Golden Gate Park (including the DeYoung Museum and the Japanese Tea Garden), Ocean Beach, San Francisco Airport and the Golden Gate Bridge are all about 20 minutes away by car.

Other Things to Note

One of my dogs, Portia, loves everyone right away and Cassius is a bit more reserved. He is sweet when he decides he likes you after a couple of minutes. He does better with people with experience living with dogs or that are dog-lovers. If you are scared of dogs or don't like canines, my place is probably not for you.

I have another room for rent in my house next to this room - they only partially share a wall since they are perpendicular to each other.

IF YOU WANT TO EMAIL ME:
Preference will be give to guest inquiries that:
1. confirm that all guests like dogs (mandatory)
2. understand that my check-in time is 4-5PM and check out is always before 10AM. Although I can be flexible, I prefer guests who understand that I am often not home and can only arrange a welcome at a mutually convenient time for both you and your possible companion at the same time. Thus the check in or check out time may not be exactly those above if another time is more mutually convenient.
3. confirm they don't smoke
4. confirm they understand I am only welcoming the one or two people and no other guests of these guests
5. list the names and relationship of any additional guest beyond the one corresponding with me
6. show a recognizable picture of their face

GETTING HERE FROM THE AIRPORT
In summary: quicker costs more.
Taxi cabs cost about $55 plus tip and generally take 20-30 minutes. Uber can be cheaper, depending upon the time of day.
Shuttles (shared vans with 2-10 passengers) cost about $20 but can take 30-120 minutes depending on with whom you share. Tell them the neighborhood is Noe (pronounced "no E") or Castro, or give them the intersection of Eureka and 21st Street (not avenue!!). Eureka doesn't go into the avenues but careless drivers can err.
BART is the cheapest way to my house and you can take it to 24th or 16th Street. From there you can either take a taxi cab, Uber, bus or walk. Use the internet to coordinate public transportation. If you walk, it could take 20-45 minutes and there are steep hills. A cab might cost you about $10 from the BART station.

Since my home is on the fourth and fifth floors of a two unit condominium, there is an elevator for guests with heavy bags when they arrive and depart, but not for daily use. Exceptions will be made for people with disabilities.

+ More

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not child-friendly (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 4PM - 7PM.

Please confirm in your first message to me that you like dogs.

Check in time is between 4 and 6pm. You may request a different arrival window 24 hours or more in advance. The window should be an hour wide (or less) and must be at a mutually convenient time before 10pm. Both you and your traveling companion need to be together for the arrival and greeting. Check out is 10am unless otherwise arranged with me.

Unfortunately, I have had guests not respect my arrival and departure protocol. Thus I charge a $30 convenience fee for the following situations which deviate from my policy:
- if both of you do not arrive together, I need to do two tours of our home and introductions to the dogs. This happens even if you simply drop off your bags. Due to the layout of my house, there is nowhere to drop off your bags without fully entering my house, thus requiring an introduction to the dogs and my home.
- if you cannot arrive between 4 and 6pm and cannot find another mutually convenient time with me.
- if you check out after 10am without my authorization, my cleaning staff might not have time to clean the room before other guests arrive.
- if you’d like to leave bags in my home after your departure and keep the key until you fetch your bags

Due to the layout and constraints of my house, I can't accommodate smokers or children.

No animals or unregistered guests are allowed.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Safety Card
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

my back deck, a quiet serene spot for breakfast

my back deck, a quiet serene spot for breakfast

Verified Photo

105 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 137 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

Your Host


Mark And Abby

Mark And Abby

San Francisco, California, United States · Member since December 2011

You'll most likely communicate with Mark via the site. I am a filmmaker who is passionate about civil rights and social justice. Abby shares those passions, works in education and is active in food politics and veganism. We have two cute dogs. Mark consults with small businesses and writes little things here and there. Mark has lived in Europe for many years and together we speak some Western European languages to some extent.

+ More
Response rate: 100%(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections

Additional Hosts