Friendly Flat Nr Marx's Grave!

Apartment - Private room · Balmore St, Camden Town, England N19 5, United Kingdom
Jeffrey

We offer a double bedroom in our cozy ground floor flat in the Archway/Highgate area of North London. We are about an 8-10 minute walk from Archway tube station where there are also many buses to central London. We are a warm and friendly family.

Your host, Jeffrey
58 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

We offer a double bedroom in our cozy ground floor flat in the Archway/Highgate area of North London. We are about an 8-10 minute walk from Archway tube station where there are also many buses to central London. We are a warm and friendly family.

The Space

This is a comfortable double bedroom in our cozy ground floor flat in Zone 2/3, in the Highgate/Archway area of London. This is a well-connected, quiet, safe area and the flat has a garden in the back. This is a private double room with a bay window onto the street, a bamboo clothes rack for hanging clothes and a very comfortable double bed with a nice thick mattress.

My 5 year old little boy and I live here as well. I live in the living room and sometimes my partner also stays. We are very friendly and accommodating people, and when you arrive we can discuss schedules to make sure we all get to use the bathroom when we need to. It has never been an issue. As you can see there are literally hundreds of positive reviews and I am happy that many people have found our home a friendly place to stay.

The kitchen is also shared. The kitchen has pots and pans and utensils which you are free to use. I often have fresh fruit and vegetables that you can also use. I share pretty much everything in my kitchen. There is a table at the window, and two chairs in the bedroom so you can eat there. I often invite guests to share a meal, or a piece of homemade cake and cup of tea.

You are welcome to use the washing machine and there is free WiFi in the flat. I provide clean towels, sheets and duvet with extra blankets if you need them. There is heating throughout the flat but an extra space heater is in the room if needed.

One of the great attractions of the area is that just a few meters away is the beautiful and famous Highgate Cemetery where Karl Marx and George Eliot are buried along with other luminaries. It is mysterious and overgrown, perfect for a quiet stroll through the history of London.

The place is a bit tricky to find the first time but I will meet you at the tube station if you want me to. I am about an 8-10 minute walk from Archway station on the Northern Line of the tube (Underground/Metro) and there are lots of buses to central london. The tube takes about 15-20 min to central London and the buses take longer but are nice to see london. For example the 390 bus goes from Archway to Notting Hill and you see lots of sites along the way.

I am an Artist, a PhD student and I work in the Social Care sector. I am American, but have lived in London for almost 10 years, so I can give you advice and tips about the city. The room also has maps and books that you are welcome to borrow. A cleaner comes once a week, usually on a Wednesday morning. If you stay longer than a week, she will put clean sheets on the bed and I can ask her to wash your clothes if you make a special request.

Several guests with children have stayed and that's great since my 5 year old is here and we both enjoy having other children of any age around. We are also happy to have friendly dogs!

We do get up early and my son laughs and plays of course, but no one has ever mentioned being disturbed. Several guests have found themselves in the middle of a game of snakes and ladders with him while I was taking a shower, but don't feel obliged! I have been hosting for almost 4 years and have had many many sets of guests, several of whom have become fast friends with us. I look forward to meeting you and please sign the guest book before you go!

Jeffrey x

Guest Access

The kitchen and all of its tools and equipment. There is no microwave because I don't really like them but most anything else you would need to prepare food, and many guests have.

The back garden is available for sitting outside to eat or have a cup of tea.

The bathroom is of course available and I just always have a chat upon arrival about when you might need it in the morning, as we have work and school so do take shower/bath in the morning and get ready. We provide towels and bedding, a hairdryer and shampoo.

There is the washing machine but no dryer. I have drying racks and if the weather is nice you can hang things in the back garden.

Interaction with Guests

We have had guests that we rarely see and that is fine, but I am very open to friendly chats, and Jack is often up for a playmate, usually with guests that stay a bit longer since as with most kids, he's shy at first.

The Neighborhood

There are several good restaurants right nearby, including a nice coffee shop that does good breakfast, Indian, Ethiopian and English pub food. There are in fact two quite good gastro pubs within short walking distance. There are also small markets and a larger grocery store nearby.

The Highgate Cemetery is an amazing place that you should visit. You should take the tour of the West part of the cemetery if you have time.

Hampstead Heath, a gigantic part in which you can easily get pleasantly lost is a 10 minute walk away. Parliament Hill is a highlight of this green space, which is a hill from which you can see a panoramic view of the city.

There is also a modest hidden little park/playground nearby (Dartmouth Park) that somewhat surprisingly has a fantastic panoramic view of London as well.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $26 / night after the first guest
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Jeffrey is a great host. This was my first time using Airbnb and it was a good experience.

    July 2014
  • Jeffrey was accommodating & friendly, Jack was delightful, and the flat was clean & comfortable. My first-ever trip to London was made easier having a home base with such enjoyable hosts! I hope to stay with Jeffrey & Jack again!

    June 2014
  • My boyfriend and I stayed with Jeffrey for about three weeks and had a wonderful experience. The flat was cozy and clean with enough room for us both to get around comfortably. The location is perfect: a quiet, residential neighborhood only ten minutes away from the tube. Throughout our stay, we didn't encounter any problems at all. Jeffrey and Jack are very open, friendly, and accommodating, and if we ever travel to London again, we would definitely go back!

    June 2014
  • I had a really good stay with these two. Good location, good facilities and extremely welcoming hosts - Jeffrey made me feel really comfortable. Jack is really sweet - very shy with me but he seems delightful. I thoroughly recommend staying at their place.

    June 2014
  • Jeffrey was awesome! A complete sweetheart. Very helpful and accommodating. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We shared a bathroom but it was absolutely no problem timing shower time. The location is great. 5 minute walk from an Underground Station (and a great breakfast at the Bread and Bean!). Lots of schools and families living in the area. It felt very safe even in the late hours of the night. Jeffrey does have a little boy but he is well behaved and super cute! We had a great experience staying with Jeffrey and hope to do so again soon!

    May 2014
  • Jeffrey was an excellent host - friendly and accommodating. I felt very welcome in his home and we had some great chats. Jeffrey has a wealth of interesting knowledge and experience and his son Jack is a lovely lad.

    The place itself was very nice and I had my privacy when I needed it. Also the location is excellent, easy access to the city centre and a nice vibe in the area. I would definitely recommend staying with Jeffrey.

    May 2014
  • Jeffrey is a great host. Second stay with him and no problems on either.

    May 2014
  • We had a great and pleasant stay at Jeffrey's place. We've only been there for one night, but I can imagine staying there for more days as well. The room is spacious, the bed comfy, and the bathroom is also nice and tidy.
    Jeffrey is a very nice and easy going guy. He always replied very fast to questions we had in advance, and he also made sure we can check-in at the time we wished to (it was quite a rush, because we were attending a music festival that day, which already had started). Jeffrey offered to help in case we needed help (which we didn't), gave tipps and was generally very polite and welcoming.
    I definitely can imagine to stay here again next time I'll be in London.
    Thanks, Jeffrey and Hi Jack! :)

    May 2014
  • Jeffrey is a very welcoming host and it was great spending a few minutes getting to know him while I used his kitchen! The room is spacious and the bed comfortable. And Jack is a super kid. Recommend and hope to return before too long.

    May 2014
  • My boyfriend and I came up to London last week for a wedding and needed a place to stay overnight. Staying with Jeffrey was a pleasure - he is incredibly friendly, kind and welcoming, not to mention makes some tasty breakfast muffins :-). The room is very comfortable and the street is very quiet, we both slept very well when we stayed. He was also very responsive when we made the booking - got back to us really quickly and there was no hassle whatsoever. If you need a place to stay in London Jeffrey is your man - we would definitely come back, so thanks Jeffrey!

    May 2014
Per Month
From
$71
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 191 times
About
I am an artist and professional, living in central London with my little boy who is 4 years old. We rent out my bedroom sometimes for extra money. I am an American but have lived in England for several years. I really enjoy meeting new people from all over the world and welcoming them to stay in home! Jeffrey x
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
3 weeks ago
Similar Listings