Spacious! Light infused! Yet comfy!

House - Private room · Oxford St, Newport, VIC 3015, Australia
Karen
Your host, Karen
24 Reviews
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

We live in Newport, a great suburb in the west of Melbourne. We are close to the beach and close to the city with easily accessible public transport. We are a friendly and easy going Aussie family. We hope to give you a comfortable place to relax in whilst enjoying beautiful Melbourne.

The room on offer can host a couple or single and we can offer a cot if you have a little one. (no extra cost). Internet is included in the cost of you room and you can use the house amenities.We have a beautiful modern kitchen with a second fridge for you to store food and tea, coffee and filtered water are included in your stay. We also have a large dishwasher for easy of cleaning dishes. We are surrounded by parks and a myriad of little shops, cafe's and other useful business's like hairdressers etc.

Nearby is the the seaside village of Williamstown. There is a good swimming beach there and many food/wine establishments where you can enjoy sea views of the harbour.

There is a great fitness centre near our house with a professional size pool and spa and sauna, plus a range of classes and gym equipment if you want to keep fit :-)

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $15 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $271 /week
Monthly Price: $1064 /month
Cleaning Fee: $10
Check In: 12:00 PM (noon)
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s), Cat(s), and Other pet(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • A very nice and friendly family. I felt very welcome, and the accommodation is very good. Nice area, with short walks to the park and train station.

    July 2014
  • I stayed with Karen, Jim, Belle and Aus for 6 weeks whilst dancing professionally down in Melbourne. Karen went out of her way to make me feel welcome and apart of the family. I really enjoyed getting to know the kids and attending a cycling class with Karen on a sunday morning. It was a very sad departure at the end of my stay, although I will definitely be returning for a visit in the future! I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a home away from home with a great balance of privacy and space within a family atmosphere. A nice big bedroom with a very cumfortable bed and plenty of storage space. Fast and reliable wi-fi also! My stay here was a 10/10 in all aspects. Already missing this beautiful family!

    April 2014
  • This was the first time I stayed with a family. I didn't know what to expect. Well it was very good. All the family members were very friendly, the kids as well. I had a very nice stay in their nice and comfortable house. With both, Karen as well as with her husband I had nice and funny (email hidden)eir house is two stops away from the beach and the room were I stayed was big and spacy, with a very handy wardrobe for travelers. I loved staying in their Newport house.

    February 2014
    Karen
    Response from Karen:

    Thanks Tanja :-) We really enjoyed having you stay. Hope to see you again in Melbourne one day soon.

    February 2014
  • Karen was a great host. Herself and her family were very friendly and welcoming!

    The room was clean and super comfy! Having our own personal fridge was also a bonus, and the little care package upon arrival was a sweet personal touch.

    We would definitely stay there again, and would recommend anyone else!

    January 2014
  • I had a lovely stay with Karen and Jim. They are very welcoming and generous. We had some really hot days (44-46 degrees C), but the house was still comfortable and cool. Loved the kids and the puppy.
    Nice quiet area not too far from the city (best by train) and only 2 train stops from the beach.. Good value for money. I can really recommend it.

    January 2014
  • We had the most wonderful time in Newport with Karen, Jim and the kids. The room is sunny and spacious, the house a dream. We felt more than welcomed and are still sad that we had to leave this great place and family. We definitely recommend this place as you won't find something comparable in this area!!!! Our son was fully included in the family and had the best time with the beautiful children of the family. A must go! This is what airbnb is about!

    January 2014
  • Karen and Jim and their children Isabella and Austin(I missed them),were amazing to me and my partner.They have a lovely family that made us feel welcome.Karen and Jim was a great hosts and was a very pleasant stay at their house,very interesting to talk,very welcoming and flexible.Our room was very neat and tidy,quiet and has a very comfortable bed.Karen(chef?)even served us the best delicious soup Ive ever tasted hhmmm,yummy! Also Jim cooked us a pie?(forgot whats the name of that food).what is it Jim?hehehe.
    We felt very welcome in their home and would not hesitate to stay there again,and would recommend this homestay to everyone without reserve!Many Thanks once again Karen and Jim.Send us regards to Aust and Bella.Apologies for my late response.Happy New Year Williams family.Good health and Happiness always to Karen,Jim,Austin and Bella from Anthony and Ruth.Thank you so much!

    December 2013
  • Room, family, and house were all great. Made us feel right at home. Having the most adorable puppy was a pretty amazing way to start the day too. Would definitely recommend.

    December 2013
  • Nice place in a family home. Excellent in terms of bed comfort, room size, nice desk and comfortable reading chair. Welcome access to kitchen and an extra fridge so there's plenty of space. Nice quiet street, an easy walk to the train to get into CBD.

    There are kids, so it's not a silent mountain retreat, but speaking as a person who prefers things very quiet I had no issues at all.

    Recommended!

    December 2013
  • Such a lovely family in a perfect location. Great spacious room with wonderful hosts, it was the perfect place for us to stay and where our 6 months old baby was made to feel very very welcome too. Thank you all so much for your hospitality !

    October 2013
Per Month
From
$41
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 56 times
Languages
English, Italiano
Work
Australian Red Cross
About
My family and I, Husband Jim and two kids, Isabella (6yrs), Austin (4yrs) are lucky to live in a roomy house that has enabled us to host fabulous people from all over the world. Jim and I have travelled overseas and loved staying in non traditional forms of accommodation like peoples homes. A hotel room is the same any where in the world, (email hidden) a real insight into a culture and way of life. We hope you'll experience that with us. We are extremely relaxed and very used to sharing our home, and truly enjoy the wonderful interactions we have with our guests. We offer you a safe secure place to stay where your privacy is respected, and where you will have the convenience of a home away from home - all for less than you would pay in a backpacker hostel. We try to keep a little fit - I love cycling and Jim likes to participate in crazy activities like Iron Man and Triathlons and bike events over hundreds of kilometres. However we do have our vices and (email hidden) or glass of red, which we are very happy to indulge in with our guests. Sharing our home are also a friendly Groodle dog called Otto, who you may mistake for a polar bear, a cat called Bean and two chooks, Betsy, Lucy. All of whom live outside. T The kids and I are vegetarian and Jim by default, but we do still cook and prepare meat meals. So if we sound like the sort of crazy household you might like to spend some time in, then by all means drop us a line. You'll feel very welcome :-)
View full profile
Response Rate
90%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today
Similar Listings