Lovely garden for relaxingComfortable double bed
Suite with private shower/wc at top of family home
Suite with private shower/wc at top of family home
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Light and airy double room, with adjacent sitting room (which can be transformed into a second bedroom if necessary), at top of 3 storey Victorian home has its own shower room/wc. Completely private, guests enjoy tea and coffee making facilities, tv and excellent breakfast.

The house is very close to lively Cowley Road, East Oxford - which buzzes with restaurants and bars.

The space

This is part of our family home, and only accessible via the main residence. There is a double room, with an extremely comfortable double bed exclusive use of a shower room with basin, shower and w.c. and a tv.

Adjacent to the bedroom there is a sitting room with a small sofa, table and chair ideal for studying or working. If needed, this room converts into a single bedroom with a sofa bed which can be booked by our guests if they want to bring a friend or a grown up child. This room is not let separately. The two rooms and the shower room are accessible via the staircase through the house, and form a private unit at the top of the house.

Not suitable for visitors with mobility problems and guests will need to carry their own luggage to the top of the house - two flights of stairs

By arrangement, guests may use the garden when the weather is fine to sit and chat and have a drink.

Please be aware we are a dog-centred household and although our dog does not visit the guest room, this is not a place to come if you don't like dogs!!

Guest access

Bedroom and ensuite shower room on the 2nd floor. Breakfast is served in the kitchen or conservatory on the ground floor at a time to suit our guests. And if the weather is fine, it can be served in the garden.

After breakfast, there is no access to the kitchen or other downstairs areas of the house. However, guests are welcome to use the garden by arrangement.

Keys are provided for guests so you can come and go as you please during your visit.

Interaction with guests

This is our family home, so we are around throughout our guests' stay. We are available to chat with guests, if they wish, at breakfast time.

Please note that we have a very friendly bulldog, so this is not an appropriate place to stay if you do not like dogs! He will not normally come up to the top of the house to your room, but he will greet you when you come home!

Other things to note

We provide our guests with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, plenty of towels and shower gel. There is a tv in the main bedroom. We are always around so if anything else is needed, we try and satisfy your requirements!

A folder with details of local concerts, plays, tours and exhibitions is provided and kept up to date. This folder includes a map book of Oxford available to borrow - but must be returned to the folder before departure. It also includes the wifi code.


Amenities
Breakfast
Free parking on premises
Dryer
Laptop friendly workspace

Prices
Extra people $41 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $14
Weekly Discount: 16%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 4PM - 10PM
Check out by 10AM

Absolutely no smoking in the house - and that includes poking your head out of the window for a quick drag!

There is no access to the kitchen after breakfast; no cooking facilities for guests. A kettle and cups, plus tea, coffee etc are provided in the room.

We ask that guests do not take hot food upstairs to consume in the room; not only does this leave a smell throughout the house, but we wish to avoid any spillages! There are so many inexpensive cafes and restaurants within a few minutes walk, this should not cause a problem.

The plumbing operates on a Saniflo system which means it makes a "growling" sound when toilet is flushed or tap or shower run. It is VITAL to turn off taps after use or flooding may result.

Guests may use the family washing machine, and hang their clothes on the line in the garden. The use of the washing machine is free of charge; a small charge will be made if wet or cold weather makes it necessary to use the tumble drier.

This is a doggy house, so only book if you like dogs!

You must also acknowledge
Some pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

87 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sally User Profile
September 2017
Elisabeth is a very gracious host with a vast wealth of helpful information of the area You can expect a healthy climb on the stairs leading to very private quarters and comfortable bed

Mark User Profile
September 2017
This house & host were absolutely lovely! Beautiful home right off the entertaining Cowley Rd with Oxford's best restaurants & night life.

Catherine User Profile
August 2017
A peaceful, comfortable stay in a neighborhood close to the sights of Oxford. Elizabeth prepared an iconic English Breakfast and was most generous and welcoming.
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.
Response from Elizabeth:
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was a great pleasure hosting you and Curtis.
August 2017

Angela User Profile
July 2017
We were charmed by this lovely third-floor suite! The house is about a 20-minute walk from the center of town, although bus stops are close by, and we found it easy to navigate the area by bus. There are several good restaurants within a few minutes' walk of the house (check out Yeti for some excellent Nepalese). Although there was some late-night revelry courtesy of college students in the area, we were able to tune it out pretty easily. Elizabeth couldn't have been a more gracious host - friendly and informative - and her traditional English breakfast was a treat! Would recommend this suite wholeheartedly.
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.
Response from Elizabeth:
Thank you Angie! It was a pleasure to meet you all and I hope that the rest of your trip is fun and interesting
July 2017

Sara User Profile
July 2017
Near Cowley Road, which boasts a plethora of indie shops and restaurants/cafes (that I didn't really get to check out, as the course I was taking accounted for most of my time). 35-40 minutes walking to City Center, and a pleasant walk past Magdalen College, Botanic Gardens, etc. Also close to several buses that will get you there in about half the time. The room was very comfortable, and accommodations were quite spacious for one person. Very much as described, and provided an adequate amount of privacy, being the top floor of the house. Good, fast wifi connection, which frankly spoiled me for the rest of my travels around England.... Elizabeth was a very gracious host. She inquired about dietary habits in advance, and went out of her way to provide a choice of vegan items for breakfast every day. She even made a vegan English breakfast on my first morning. She was also helpful regarding directions, places to visit, and travel planning.
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.
Response from Elizabeth:
Thank you Sara. It was a pleasure to host you, and very educational!
July 2017

Martha User Profile
June 2017
Elizabeth was exceptionally kind and helpful. She had great advice about things to do and where to eat. She even gave me a concise, but clear and thorough explanation of cricket, a game that has bewildered me forever! John had the a stomach bug for most of our visit, and Elizabeth was thoughtful and sympathetic to him. We both thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with Elizabeth and her husband, Alan. Elizabeth's home is on a side street just off the Cowley Road. It is a lively and interesting neighborhood, diversely populated, with a mixture of students and families. There are ethnic restaurants, bars and pubs, shops along the Cowley Road, and it is an easy walk or easier bus ride into the center of Oxford. The problem for us was that our visit coincided with a record breaking heat wave, bright summer solstice sun and end of term. Because our room was on the top floor of the house with Windows that opened out only on top, it was extremely hot. We had a small desk fan, but we couldn't keep the windows open because of the noise of the neighboring revelers. None of this was Elizabeth's faut, and it wouldn't be an issue in cooler weather.
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.
Response from Elizabeth:
Thank you Martha and John. I am not sure what I can do to change the weather, as your visit coincided with the hottest days in June we have had in this country for 40 years!! We make it clear to our guests that they may sit in the garden in the evening, although of course with end of term student parties going on all around us, that is a mixed blessing! I suppose the best thing would be to stop having guests for the last week of every term. It was a pleasure hosting you, and I appreciate your private feedback too.
June 2017

Gretchen User Profile
June 2017
As other reviewers have said, Elizabeth's wonderful breakfasts are merely one facet of her genuine hospitality. The upper floor is so private that one can stay in or go out as much as one likes without feeling that one is a bother in any way. There are loads of books; coffee, tea, and chocolate in the room; and plenty of space for one or two people (we used the sitting room as a second bedroom). I appreciated the good shower pressure. If you are a dog lover, Roddy adds genuine joy to your stay as he will greet you in the mornings and is very friendly. The location is especially handy for visiting the colleges on the East side of town and the bus service to the center is easy for those who prefer not to walk as much. I greatly enjoyed chatting with Elizabeth in the mornings even though I am not really very social -- she absolutely makes one feel instantly at home.

Oxford, United KingdomJoined in April 2014
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.

Semi-retired after a career working in the voluntary sector, I am now running my own charity consultancy business in addition to being an active volunteer. I am also setting up a new business, offering family history research services. I live with my husband, Allen, and our bulldog, Roddy. We are practicing Catholics, and I believe we are generous hosts.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighborhood

Similar listings