Private bedroom/ near Prospect Park

House - Private room · Midwood St, Brooklyn, NY 11225, United States

The Space

Why stay in a hotel when you can enjoy your stay the fullest in Brooklyn, yet for much less money!


I live in a house in the trendy hood called Brooklyn Lefferts Garden. This room is part of the house that's based in multi-ethnic, friendly, safe neighborhood. Cafes and restaurants reflect various backgrounds. A yoga center just opened only two blocks away. I can also take you or show where to go for a delightful hang out spots or bars with Jazz concerts and hilarious comedy shows.

Ask for the sublet special if you are interested in staying for a month or two!

Room Details:


Check in is after 1pm, and check out time is before 11am. However, I can be very flexible when there is no other guest staying in the room before or after you check in. All you need to do is ask, and I will do everything I can to accommodate your needs.

The room is:
-Perfect for one person.
- Closet and single bed
- Clean, tidy with hardwood floor
- Free Wifi (info is in section "house manual"), heat and AC.
- Spacious nice living room for when you wish to hang out.
- Full kitchen.
- Full bathroom.
- Plenty of sheets, towels, blankets, pillows
- Bike for your use!

Location Details:

- 5 minutes walk to the express 5 and local 2 trains, and 10 minutes to the Q and B trains
- 10 minutes walk to Prospect Park
- 10 minutes to the Brooklyn Museum
- 10 minutes to the Brooklyn Botanic Garden
- 20 minutes to Manhattan
-20 minutes to Statue of Liberty
-30 minutes to Times Square

Unique Characteristics:
- I will make you delicious Turkish coffee, or great black tea every morning if you like.
- I will give you a massage if you wish/ let me know in advance. ( It's $75 per hour and $40 for half an hour).

Please note that this not a hotel room with a 24 hours service which is why it's so so so much cheaper, and much more laid back than hotels. Also, the room is in a house that was built in the 1920s so while you can find so many of Brooklyn's characters in it, it's not really shiny. In addition, the pictures are taken by a professional Airbnb photographer. I love those photos but some guests commented that Airbnb photos didn't convey the real look of the room. In any case, pictures are taken for the same room, I assure you. Lastly, please consider picking up after yourselves (towels, bath stuff, bathroom mat, and wash your plates/pots after cooking). At times, guests think that the house is untidy or dirty when it's actually another guest who decided to leave things unwashed... etc. :). In addition, please be advised that when you don't clean after yourself in the kitchen, bathroom or when you eat in the bedroom, there may be chance that you see a mouse or roach. Thanks for reading.

Enjoy your stay in New York City!

Guest Access

Frontyard, livingroom, kitchen, and bathroom.

Interaction with Guests

As much as guests want. I may or may not be present during the stay but if I am not, someone else should be at home to help you when you need.

The Neighborhood

I love that my neighborhood is diverse, fun, not uptight, open, and I mostly love that I can get anything anytime of the day or night. I love that there are so many cafes and restaurants. I love that there are museums, parks, free concerts almost all summer long.

Getting around

Public transportation are about 5 minutes away, and buses are only 30 steps away from my house. Parking is free although you have to abide by the two days cleaning for each side of the street from 9-11 in the morning.

To get from airport, take a taxi for $30-$40, or take the bus or subway for less than $10 total per passenger.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Cleaning Fee: $10
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • Even though the room was in an older building, the bed was comfortable. The pillow was incredible (I was told it was "sleep innovation cool contour memory foam pillow"). I woke up fully rested. Quiet neighborhood.
    Natasha made me feel very welcome and I was treated more like a family member than a stranger. Excellent quick connection by subway with Manhattan.
    Natasha, your warm personality added a star to my experience!

    April 2014
  • Natasha is a wonderful host, everything was prepared and ready when I arrived. The location was good too. Everything went very smoothly and I would definitely consider staying here again

    April 2014
  • I didn't meet Natasha, but her sister was really kind and helpful. The room was as expected, for the price paid. Perfectly comfortable.

    December 2013
  • My stay at Natashas place was excellent. Her sister was a fantastic host. She made me chicken and falafel at night and had cool beer in the fridge on my arrival. She even offered me to borrow a bike. The price was very fair, considered all the warmth and care. It felt like visiting friends. I can recommend Natashas place to every NY visitor.

    November 2013
  • Let me first say that I have been to New York City plenty of times and do not call myself a tourist. I'm a photographer and I travel to NYC every other month for work.

    The photos of the room on Airbnb are very misleading. I thought the room would be a lot newer and cleaner than it actually was. I never met Natasha (the host) and her sister wasn't the nicest to me. I tried to do laundry in the house when the listing clearly says "free laundry in house" and Natasha's sister was argumentative about me doing the laundry. Also, I was charged $800 for 2 weeks in this room and I feel like that is COMPLETELY overpriced. This neighborhood wasn't the nicest/safest, and I often felt threatened walking home alone at night. I wouldn't stay here again, I just didn't feel safe even inside the house. The walls were very thin as well, and I could hear another guest snoring clearly at night. I wouldn't recommend staying here, you can definitely find better in Brooklyn, especially for this price.

    November 2013
    Response from Natasha:

    Dear Mary,

    I would like to say that am so sorry you had issues with your stay at my place. I really am.

    I feel I need to say a couple of things regarding the points you mentioned here since there was no communication from your side about the things that bothered you while you were at my place.

    As a professional photographer yourself, I am sure you know about wide lenses which is what the Airbnb photographer used when he took photos of the room. So, yes, the rooms looks newer on the listings but that doesn't mean that the room was dirty or anything. We vacuum after every check out, and put clean fresh sheets, towels... etc. And I did mention that on the listing.

    I made a mistake about laundry room when I posted the listing, and said that guests can do laundry at the house. But the laundermat is just a few steps out of the house, and it would cost no more than 3 bucks to do all of your laundry. I wish you had told me about it, and I would have totally paid for you to do your laundry there instead.

    It looks like this is your first time on Airbnb even when you say that you have been in New York City multiple times: You stayed for 15 nights, and not two weeks and the payment was $49 per night so it's surely less than $800 that I got from you. But paying fees, which I pay as well made it sound like you paid $800. I actually got $713 for 15 nights which comes down to even less than $49 per night.

    Also, there has been no guest, and I mean no guest, in the last three years I have been with Airbnb who was harassed or attacked or threatened in my neighborhood. Never. I feel it's all about how comfortable you are in one place or another. Perhaps it also depends on where you come from.

    The guest, an old lady, who you heard snorting (which is something no one can control really), actually complained about the friends you had coming over on multiple times (by the way, I would have appreciate it if you had asked first if it's okay to have people coming over. Airbnb wouldn't have interfered with friends of guests if something bad happened, God forbids).

    Anyway, I am sorry again you didn't have a good stay. And I hope for your future stays in other places to be more suitable.


  • Nice host and very accomodating. Thanks Natasha.
    His house is near the subway and near the Brooklyn Museum.

    October 2013
  • Fantastic; clean, polite and courteous, made me feel welcome and appreciated for my stay. Highly recommended and would definitely book again for future visits.

    October 2013
  • Three-block walk from Prospect Park subway station, affordable alternative to other parts of Brooklyn. Quiet, comfortable room with access to kitchen, microwave. Had an enjoyable time.

    September 2013
  • The place was nice, confortable, cheap and close to the subway. Times Square=>Sterling St takes 30 minutes by subway, so quick enough! If you're are looking for a cheap, conveniant and pleasant place whitout looking for luxury, go for it!

    September 2013
  • Great experience! Very clean and hospitable, always friendly and helpful. Worth the money and the time.

    September 2013
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 341 times
I am an easygoing and flexible woman, and love to host people. A professional high school English teacher, I am very friendly with people from all backgrounds, and enjoy meeting people from all over the world.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
a week ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings