Spacious enough for a family or group of friends.Plenty of hanging space and location of extra duvets etc in the main bedroom.


Entire home/apt

6 guests

3 bedrooms

3 beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Victorian stone house 1.5 miles from Windermere on the A591. Parking available for two cars, public transport on the A591. All rooms have double glazing. Fenced garden for dogs. Local shop and petrol. Without transport, taxi or bus needed to go to Bowness.

The space

Allan Bank is equally suitable for adults who want a comfortable home at the end of a day admiring the views, or for families who come back with hiking boots and wet clothes - it does rain in the Lakes!
For both parties it's very convenient being on the A591, on a bus route and opposite a convenience store and petrol station!

Guest access

Guests will have access to all rooms except the basement. There are three double beds and one double sofa bed (in the sitting room) a baby travel cot can be arranged. Upstairs is a shower room and a bathroom; there is toilet and washbasin conveniently located off the porch where all the outdoor clothes are kept.
The central heating is very good, but there 3 extra radiators and 1 log effect electric fire. Of course there is a washer and a drier, a fridge and freezer, cooker and hob, there is also a rice cooker.
The garden has been fenced off for visiting family dogs, but sheep are kept in a field just a few meters away, so leads are necessary when leaving the back door or garden gate.

Interaction with guests

I'm Elaine and live most of the time in Hong Kong, I like to respond quickly to enquiries, but occasionally the time difference between countries causes a few hours of delay. My daughter Una lives locally and manages the arrangements for guest arrivals and departures - her phone details are given before arrival. The house has everything you might need to make your visit comfortable including freshly made-up beds, towels, a dishwasher and a fridge with breakfast items. There are plenty of maps and reference books, and the Guidebook on this site has quite a few recommendations of where to visit. I'm always very interested to know if the house was up to your expectations when you leave.

Other things to note

Important message: Mobile phone reception in the area is poor - Vodaphone is best from outside the sitting room window. Because of this the landline telephone is available, but for local calls only.
Water skiing, water-boarding, sailing is available just a few miles towards Ambleside, and Lake cruises are a feature at Bowness - on - Windermere. The house is at the foot of the Kirkston Pass, one of the highest passes in the Lake District that connects with Ullswater.


The space
Bathrooms: 2.5
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 3
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 60
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 2PM

Allan Bank's address has recently been changed by the post office because it is not located on Brook Street: Allan Bank, Troutbeck Bridge, LA23 1HL. Access: The right turn between two stone gateposts is tight. Overseas guests frequently hire very large 7 seat cars. It is possible to drive through, but some care is needed. Parking: See 2 spaces on the photo where a car is parked. The area near the back door can be used to turn the car around but not to park.
Another house rule is regarding the central heating: Please don't change the central heating remote and don't open the cupboard in the kitchen where main tank is located. DO NOT CHANGE the setting. If guests arrive after 11pm the heating is on a timer and cannot be overridden. If extra heating is needed there are free standing electric heaters.
There is a dishwasher; please use it.
The council does not provide free rubbish collection - the green wheelie bin is privately hired and provides recycling; please deposit everything in black bags into the bin on departure.
Dogs are allowed as long they are kept on leads once outside the garden gate or back door. The farmer has sheep in the field opposite the garden gate.
Smokers please use the garden.
Children do stay in the house, but it is impossible to fix a safety gate at the top of the stairs, and a large wooden coffee table in the sitting room could prove to be an obstacle course for crawling babies! As the house has 3 bedrooms it is suitable for 3 couples, but not big enough if all the couples want to bring children. The staircase has to be considered. More than two children would not be manageable.
Older guests do stay, but the staircase has a steep left hand bend - see a photo on the listing.
There isn't access for wheelchairs and the staircase is not suitable for a disabled person, but there is a comfy sofa bed and downstairs toilet.
Because Allan Bank is on an unnamed track (I have the right to use, and own the parking spaces) there isn't any street lighting except the light on the house - all guests are urged to bring a torch for use in the dark.
Luggage - overseas guests frequently bring very large suitcases and hand luggage. When the group is a party of six, the wear and tear on the staircase (narrow, steep and crooked) is very heavy. Most big luggage will need to stay in the porch, which is locked and safe.
Slippers are not provided unless requested.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - The original Victorian stairs have a bend that might not be suitable for anyone with walking difficulties - please see photo.

Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

131 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Andrew User Profile
July 2017
Great location for exploring the Lakes. Lovely country cottage, very good for families

Zachy User Profile
July 2017
Lovely, cosy, beautiful, well furnished house. Definitely recommend!

Yaping User Profile
July 2017
Nice and quiet house near the lake, well equipped facilities in the house. The bedrooms and quilts are cozy. Spacious sitting room and Kitchen to make and enjoy dinners. Elaine is also very friendly to help us. Many thanks to Elaine!

Sarah User Profile
July 2017
Great house. Good location, great communication from the host and the fridge was full when we arrived. Would highly recommend.

Ellen User Profile
June 2017
Beautiful house in a fantastic location! Elaine was a fantastic host, giving lots of info about the local area and also being very flexible in plans for check out and check in. The house itself is fantastic and very close to a petrol station and pub/tapas restaurant. What a lovely weekend, thanks!

Salman User Profile
June 2017
Lovely house near Windermere - a good base for exploring the Lake District. There is some road noise though due to the property proximity to the main road.
Elaine User ProfileElaine is a superhost.
Response from Elaine:
Being close to the main A591 gives good access to the all the Lakes attractions and double glazing means it's quiet inside the house. But it is confusing having the entrance on an unmarked track especially as the post code for GPS (included) is incorrect - which is why detailed written instructions are always included and I'm happy to help over the phone.
June 2017

Joanna User Profile
June 2017
We had a wonderful stay! The location is perfect as Windermere and Ambleside are close by. The house was lovely with information on walks and nearby attractions and even had supplies for breakfast! Looking forward to coming back

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View other reviews

Hong KongJoined in April 2014
Elaine User ProfileElaine is a superhost.

I like to be busy, I'm quite independent, still passionate about what I do and I write - a lot. At 72 I still work six days a week from 10am to 7pm; it's my choice - I like to be involved in day to day teaching routines. On the other hand I relish the opportunities I take to visit my children and catch up with my grandchildren.

I've been in Hong Kong since February 1969 - a long time, but I was born in Lancaster, Lancs and spent my teenage years climbing in the Langdales. These days I drive or walk down the valley to take advantage of its restorative views.

Languages: English
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings