Trastevere - Fold-out couch bed

Apartment - Shared room · Lungotevere Portuense, Rome, Lazio 00153, Italy

The Space

We offer a fold out couch in the livingroom of our 2 bedroom apartment (shared with a non-smoking couple and a dog). We speak English & Italian (and some Spanish). The apt has a fully equipped shared kitchen, bath and washing machine. The couch folds out to a twin sized bed. We provide all necessary linens (sheets, towels etc) and have and iron/ironing board, hair dryer, a straightening iron and several plug adapters that you can use as needed.

The apt is just 650m (less than 1/2 a mile) from Trastevere Station (approx. 8 min walk) and 1.6km (just under a mile) from the "Piramide" Metro station (approx. 20 min walk). There are numerous busses which connect us to various parts of the city, a tram-line which goes directly to the historic center and an above ground train which takes you straight to St. Peter’s and the Vatican or out to Fiumicino, Leonardo da Vinci airport. There is ample street parking and the building has a doorman and is quite safe.

The neighborhood is located along the Tiber river and has numerous bars/cafes, pubs, restaurants, dry cleaners/laundromats, banks and grocery stores within easy walking distance. There is also a great bike path/running path which runs along the Tiber starting just a 3 minute walk down the road from us.

Please let us know if you would like help setting up a private, guided tour of the Vatican Museums or of the city center as Jon works as a tour guide.

PLEASE NOTE
Our dog is a part of the family and is very friendly (he will most likely try to cuddle with you at every opportunity and he will definitely try to sit on the bed with you). If you have allergies, or are afraid of dogs, or even if you just don't like dogs, this is probably not the best place for you to choose.

Room type: Shared room
Bed type: Futon
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Cleaning Fee: $7
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Heather was a great host. The apartment is in a nice location, close to great sightseeing and public transportation. She provides a set of keys so you can come and go as you please. It was exactly what I needed, an inexpensive and clean place to crash after a long day of walking and drinking wine.

    April 2014
  • Heather and Jon are fabulous. Very accommodating and the location is ideal. They were full of suggestions on near by places to eat and see. It was so nice having people who spoke English fluently who could also help you with Italian communication. Overall my stay in Rome was amazing and I would absolutely stay with Heather and Jon again.

    April 2014
  • I had an amazing stay with Heather and Jon in their apartment in downtown Rome. Located in the awesome Trastevere neighborhood, the apartment was very clean and was also very close to public transportation leading to the city center(you can also walk there in about 20 min) Heather and Jon were excellent hosts and very hospitable. From inviting me to eat dinner with them to bringing me to a local trivia night at an Irish pub, Heather and Jon became much more than hosts, they became my friends. Clean sheets/towels and many tour pamphlets/guides/maps in the apartment made my stay Luigi/Chiarra great and I would highly recommend staying here.

    Their dog Kilo is also very friendly and made my stay that much better.

    March 2014
  • My stay was great - if it wasn't for my private day tour with Jon, I wouldn't have been able to see all that I wanted to in a day! The house is very nice & in a great location - Kilo (the dog) can be a bit of a bed hog, but he's super sweet so I didn't mind :) would definitely recommend!

    March 2014
  • The short stay that I spend here was amazing. The couch was so comfortable, the location was perfect and I could walk to the coliseum, and they were just great hosts in general. Thanks!

    March 2014
  • Apartment is in a good location, convenient with tram, train and metro all within walking distance. Clean and nice, with all the facilities one might need. Kilo the dog is *really* social and loves the fold out couch but supposing you're used to dogs it's not going to be an issue.

    Heather and Jon are laid back and good people (and they gave me coffee every morning).

    March 2014
  • Spent two rainy days in Rome but could have been worse if not for great hosts and solid lodging. Good value for stay. Ciao!

    February 2014
  • I had a delightful stay with Heather and adorable dog Kilo in this excellent location. Heather is very knowledgeable about Rome and helped me plan a relaxed and fun itinerary. She also helped me do my laundry. I'll be back in the Eternal City sometime with my girlfriend, so I'll look forward to meeting Jon as well.

    January 2014
  • I had a really present stay at Heather and Jon's. Location was a bit hard to find at first and I got lost for a bit finding it. Once I found it though it really is a convenient place. The tram is nearby and reaches the city centre in less than half an hour. The apartment itself was lovely and cosy. Heather and Jon were friendly and welcoming and answered all of my 'touristy' questions. Kilo is a very snuggly dog and will try to cuddle with you-despite his large size- if you stay on the sofa for long :). Not for those with allergies though as Kilo sheds quite a bit. I really enjoyed my time there. definitely recommending!

    December 2013
  • Heather and Jon were lovely hosts! I felt very much at home and they certainly did a great job of making Rome feel like home, even if temporarily. The couch/futon was very comfy and the apartment was easily accessible though pleasantly detached from the tourist grid. Thank you both again for being great short term roomies!

    December 2013
Per Month
From
$31
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 156 times
Languages
English, Español, Italiano
Work
Private catering, AWTA kung fu instructor, private English tutor
About
I'm a 36 yr old professional cook and kung fu instructor who's been living in Rome, Italy for about 10 years now. I live with my 3 year old dog in a 2 bedroom apartment. We're both pretty laid back. I love travel, reading, movies, food and music. I speak English (native), Italian, and some Spanish. My French is limited to hello/goodbye and basic phrases but I'm always happy to try!
View full profile
Response Rate
96%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
5 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings