Sonoma Valley Wine Country Cottage

Other - Entire home/apt · Center St, Sonoma, CA 95476, United States

The Space

Welcome to our Sonoma Valley cottage tucked in a private corner of the garden just behind the main house. It is only 2 1/2 miles away from the Plaza where you will find boutique shopping, and fine dining. Experience the beauty of this valley on day trips to mountain vistas, the Pacific Coastline, and the Redwood forests. Enjoy wine tasting in Napa's and Sonoma's exquisite vineyards. Historically, Sonoma offers the visitor the opportunity to learn more about the settlement of the West.

All this is available when you stay in the beautifully appointed one bedroom cottage, kitchenette and luxurious bathroom. The Annex provides a sitting room/library for your use when you are taking a break from exploring the Valley. The cottage is surrounded by flower and vegetable gardens, a private patio, outdoor dining and a rocking chair porch from which you can view the night sky. Comfy robes are available to keep the evening and morning chill way while you gaze at the stars or watch the morning birds.

A breakfast of yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee, tea, milk and almond milk is stocked in your cottage to get you started on your stay. Guests are welcomed with a cheese tray and wine.

As your host I am happy to provide maps, suggestions and recommendations for fine dining. You can have body treatments provided by qualified massage therapists scheduled upon request (prices vary)..

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Security Deposit: $100
Cleaning Fee: $35
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Marianne's cottage was the perfect weekend getaway. The cottage is tucked away in a beautiful, serene garden and the location is minutes away from Sonoma square. She even brought us a cheese plate and champagne which was the perfect touch! I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing, rejuvenating trip to wine country.

    February 2014
  • Unfortunately our stay at Marianne's was very unpleasant. I usually choose not to share reviews if they are not positive because it doesn't feel good, but I saw that Marianne took the time to review me, and I feel like it would be a dis-service to others to not share about our time at her place.
    The photo on the site is not the photo of where you stay. That is a photo of her house. You will stay in an in-law unlit in the back of the home that is very very small. Strangely, the "living room" of the unit is another building across the way that is separate from the main studio where you sleep, the "living room" space is basically worthless as a living room.
    However there is another bed in the living room, which we thought from the photos looked like we could sleep in, but she does not like to use this as a bed. We came with three people, not realizing she was uncomfortable with this, and she was very upset. She told us begrudgingly that we could stay, "but she hates to do that", and it would be an "extra $50" dollars. Two days later, she asked for us to pay her $50 extra per night, which was not what she originally stated. Also, if a reservation is changed (and the price needs to change), this needs to be handled through AIRBNB, not through the owner. AIRBNB likes to handle the money because they take a cut. She wanted us to pay her directly which felt very uncomfortable.
    Marianne lives on the property, which she does not disclose in the description.She was very much involved in our business, which we were not appreciative of. She seems to be a very unhappy woman, and made comments to us about previous tenants and how they make her "hate people".
    In addition, the first night, we found that the smoke detector device was not working properly and it "chirped" all night long keeping us awake. The heaters did not work. She asked us to leave out our dirty dishes on the back porch for her to wash, and they sat there for two days.
    We felt very unwelcome at her place, and chose to leave early. If you are okay with staying somewhere where you have very close contact with the owner, than this is the place for you (we found we wanted to whisper in the building in case she could hear us). However, we felt she was very rude, was not upfront on her description of her place, and she did not make us feel welcome. Overall we all agreed we never had such a wild experience such as this. I wish Marianne the best and I hope she can learn from this so that others are more comfortable in her space.

    October 2013
    Marianne
    Response from Marianne:

    Unfortunately, your stay at my place was very unpleasant and your review factually inaccurate for the most part. I chose to share a guest review which was not positive because it would be a dis-service to others not to know about my experience as a host.

    Airbnb took the photos of the cottage where you stayed. Therefore they are considered verified. The site photo is of the gate. The rest of the photos, all of them, are of the gardens and cottage and have captions.. Airbnb provides excellent service to both guests and hosts. They take a very small "cut" from the fees charged and deserve every bit of that. They are well aware of the extra money that was charged your unregistered and unexpected friend. As for the rest of your comments, they are not worthy of a response.

    I would refer others to the many, many positive reviews presented as part of this site. Thank you for your best wishes.

  • This was a wonderfully appointed and convenient place to stay, about a 5-10 minute drive from the square. It is quiet and private yet accessible, nicely appointed and comfortable. The separate living quarters are nice to have also in case one guests wants to read later at night or do work on computer or other. Breakfast was convenient and we love that we were on our own for it though it was provided. In all, a wonderful place to stay in the heart of the wine country.

    October 2013
  • Sonoma Valley Wine Cottage is a special place to visit. What a charming place with beautiful quaint gardens to enjoy. Our host Marianne was such a joy & her hospitality was appreciated. We had a lovely cheese & wine upon our arrival & she made sure our cottage had a handful of items to make our mornings perfect. We had the pleasure of having a drink with her and her family (Charlie the sweet dog too) and that is always a nice treat - to get to know your host a little bit. If we head back to Sonoma in the near future we will be sure to stay here again! Don't miss this stop on on your trip to Sonoma....

    September 2013
  • The cottage was exactly what we were looking for: a quiet and intimate place to escape our very busy life and celebrate our anniversary. The other living space came in handy when I wanted to take a nap and hubby didn't and he could relax in other room. The grounds are beautiful, the water fountain was a pleasant sound to fall asleep to every night.
    Our only complaint was that the Wifi wasn't dependable and would go in/out. I had some stuff I wanted to work on during the weekend that involved using the internet, so I wasn't able to use our laptop to do so since the connection kept cutting out. There are also some early morning roosters in the neighborhood, but by closing all the windows, I was able to block them out for the most part, which is more than I can say for my little kids that wake me up!
    Overall we had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate to come back and recommend this cottage to others.

    September 2013
  • One CLASSY lady = one classy experience! The garden is serene and soothing. The cottage has everything you need and then some. But Marianne knows how to host people and her wine and cheese welcome puts this place above the rest. We had a wonderful 2nd anniversary in Sonoma! Thanks to Marianne and Airbnb!

    September 2013
  • My partner and I had a wonderful and relaxing stay at Marianne's Wine Country Cottage! My partner has limited mobility and uses a wheelchair most of the time, so accommodations can sometimes be challenging. Marianne was a terrific host, very accommodating and provided us with lots of great information about places in the area to go, things to do and where to eat.

    Upon arrival, Marianne immediately welcomes you to her home and sees that you're settled in comfortably. She made herself available to us by phone or as needed at all times and, even though the cottage is just steps away from her home, we were afforded a great deal of privacy.

    The cottage is warm and inviting, recently renovated for comfort, clean, safe, relaxing and set amidst a beautiful garden with a pear and apple tree, flowers, a gently murmuring fountain and a small statue of St. Francis next to 3 bird feeders which attract a daily variety of birds, including humming birds, doves and wrens. The tasteful rooster motif in the cottage is a delightful play on the morning sound of roosters nearby which, although noticeable, are not intrusive and are typical of the rustic charm which characterizes California's wine country.

    The cottage features typical amenities plus a kitchenette. In the kitchenette, there is a coffee maker and electric tea kettle, china tea cups (very nice), sturdy coffee mugs, wine glasses, cutlery and plates, a cutting board and a toaster oven. The shower in the bathroom is large and features two shower heads on both sides. There is also a vanity, a hair dryer and toiletries. There is a small closet with two bathrobes and hangers. In the sitting room (air conditioned), there are interesting books to read, a miniature zen garden for meditating and a sofa bed for sitting or taking a small nap. There is not a TV in the cottage or sitting room and, frankly, we truly appreciated that!

    The location is perfect for those who are exploring the Napa/Sonoma Valley or those who are looking for a nice romantic get-away. As far as handicapped accessibility goes, if you are wheelchair bound, you should discuss your needs with Marianne first. To access the cottage, there are short areas of deep gravel and to access the sitting room, which is separate from the cottage, there is a standard-sized step. My partner used his walker to access the bathroom because his chair would not fit. There are also no grab bars in the bathroom. However, despite these issues, it was manageable for us (and hope it would be for you too) and we both recommend staying with Marianne if the cottage accommodates your needs.

    All in all, we feel fortunate we found Marianne through Airbnb and are highly recommending her to our friends. We've stayed at some fabulous B&Bs in the past and Marianne's cottage rates at the top of our list!

    September 2013
    Marianne
    Response from Marianne:

    I am so sorry the doorway wasn't wide enough. I know that causes a problem and I failed to actually measure it thinking it would work. You were great guests and I enjoyed having you here. Cordially, Marianne

  • We had a great stay at Marianne's, we only wish that we weren't working most of the time so that we could have enjoyed the beautiful garden and patio more! The place was vey nicely maintained and we loved that there was fresh fruit, granola and coffee for us for breakfast. We would definitely recommend her place to our friends.

    August 2013
  • We had an excellent stay with Marianne. Her cottage is very well maintained and the garden and patio are incredibly pleasant. Marianne's cottage is in close proximity to the Sonoma town square which is a must visit while you're in town. We attended a farmer's market in the afternoon followed by some live music on that back patio at Murphy's Irish Pub. We also had brunch at the Girl and the Fig which is also just off the town square. All in all our experience in Sonoma was excellent and in great part to to our stay at Marianne's country cottage.

    August 2013
    Marianne
    Response from Marianne:

    Thanks Nolan

  • Marianne has a fabulous cottage walking distance from Sonoma Square. She gave us wine and cheese when she arrived and offered great suggestions for places to visit. Everything about the space was great and we really enjoyed spending time on the private patio.

    August 2013
Per Month
From
$160
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 290 times
Languages
Français
School
Adelphi University
Work
Psychotherapist/couple coach
About
I have lived and travelled throughout this beautiful planet and find myself back where I started my life as an adult. I moved to California when I was 20 and raised my family here. I was born in New Jersey, received my education in New York and lived thereafter in many exciting places. Now I am retired and enjoying the weather and beauty of Sonoma.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings