Retreat in spa region Daylesford

House - Entire home/apt · William Track, Glenlyon, VIC 3461, Australia

Come enjoy your own private retreat from the city, in one of the most beautiful areas of Victoria!

About 12 minutes east of Daylesford on the Melbourne side, so it's only an hour to Melbourne!

A large house on 7 acres with a dam and a pier.

The Space

Most recent previous reviews were from when this was listed as a single private room and I was living there and working for a few months. Now it's back listed as the entire home for your private use - sleeps up to 4 people in 1 king & 1 queen bed for basically the same price as other listings nearby with just private rooms sleeping only 2! There is also a beautiful King Furniture lounge suite that is the size of a double bed (in the living room), that can sleep 1 or 2 more if needed.

There is nothing to disturb you, absolute peace and quiet on the property. Kangaroos frequent the grass at sunset and sunrise (and keep the grass short!) but you are safe and secure inside the modern house.

Situated in the small village of Glenlyon (which has it's own mineral springs and general store 3 minutes drive away) just off the main road connecting Daylesford to Malmsbury; you have easy access to the spa region of Victoria - Daylesford, Hepburn Springs and all the attractions in the area. The country retreat features an abundance of bushland, which extends back off the road and down into a beautiful gully for 7 acres of bushland, which you can walk around. The house itself is a lovely mud brick home watered with rainwater tanks, heated with a wood fire and surrounded by more traditional, picturesque gardens.

Very private off the main road, but still a great location. Great for artists and creatives! The property and acreage would make a great filming location too (horror film, anyone?). It's over 650m above sea level, the air is great. Beautiful wildlife and grounds.

Daylesford is a lovely area of Victoria, made famous by European settlers who sought to replicate the 'spa' regions of Europe. So there are natural springs that you can get water for free and lots of things to do, beautiful restaurants and nightlife. Daylesford feels like Melbourne without being IN Melbourne.

Guest Access

For a beautiful walk, head right out of the main driveway, continue across Toris rd, turn right and then right, then go through the National Forest to loop back around to the house via William Track. An overwhelming experience, in summer or winter!

Interaction with Guests

I live in Los Angeles so am not there when the house is available for rental.

The Neighborhood

There are two wineries very close by! I personally love the distance from the main road - no noise! And the house is modern and very comfortable, whilst being a eco-house mud brick style. Other than electricity, it's essentially 'off the grid' and that creates a lot of peaceful feelings. Neighbours are friendly but far away, the main neighbours are the wildlife!

Getting around

The house is not nearby any public transport (Woodend is the closest train station, about 20 minutes drive), so you would need a car, to get into Daylesford as well.

Other Things to Note

Please use the calendar - if it's marked as available, it's available! No need to send a message asking if it's available.

Note that the kitchen is LIMITED to a wood fire stove or electric frypan, as well as a Vitamix blender / Breville juicer (ie. no hot plates, although firing up the wood stove or using the electric cooker is the same). Kitchen is in use (this is a home) and has items and equipment in it that are appropriate for OUR needs (and may not be appropriate for your needs). Enjoy a wine by the fire, cook up something in the electric fry pan (there are utensils to cook with), use the fancy fridge with icemaker, and put your dishes in the dishwasher and clean them afterwards. Or head into Daylesford for a restaurant meal and night out.

There is a single split system air con system (for heating and cooling) in the main lounge section. As a mud brick, the downstairs stays cool in the summer. The wood burning fireplace is great for heating at nights for that cozy feel, but you may need to turn the split system heater on as well, which will heat the upstairs. Please do not leave on at night, however. There is an oil burner for the 2nd downstairs bedroom.

This is still our house, it has our stuff in it, in the kitchen, in the cupboards, in the bathroom etc, it's not a hotel. It may even have spiders and cobwebs - we allow this as spiders are great at keeping the house clean of bugs. Please do not kill them or remove the cobwebs. We share the house with them.

We also have a dog, so there might be pet hair or other normal things (email hidden)d in house would have. If you don't want that, do not stay with us, stay in a hotel. But that means your dog is welcome too! As long as they do not jump on furniture or ruin anything.

Please see house rules for other details after you book.

But other than that, the place is yours!

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $870 /week
Monthly Price: $2899 /month
Security Deposit: $290
Cleaning Fee: $48
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We booked the 2 nights minimum but checked out after the first night ....
    Firstly, the house is furnished very nicely and the beds are comfortable so that is good. Some provisions were left for our use too.
    On the negative side:
    •The kitchen is un-useable. The cupboards are so full of STUFF that is useless for short term stay. Including out of date food in the cupboards and, herbs, bulk food, packed window sills, useless appliances eg: electric can openers, steamers that just take up so much of the precious little space and make it look dirty, uncleaned and cluttered. The cupboards are over packed with things we didn’t need and didn’t have things we did need – eg: some sort of plastic spatula to use for the electric frypan. And the dishes in the cupboard are dirty and so we washed everything before we used it.
    •The bathrooms are packed with half used things on the benches like toothpaste, mouth washes and things like this - including someone’s nail clippers …again making it look dirty uncleaned and cluttered
    •The bedroom sheets and doonas did not look clean and seemed to have pet hair all over them
    •There is pet hair everywhere in the house – esp over the couches
    •And there are cobwebs and spiders everywhere too. I know it’s the bush – which is lovely – but a general clean would not go astray.

    March 2014
  • Ben and his dog Kestra were fine hosts and his house is in a beautiful off the beaten track location. For $10, this really is a bargain place to sleep and to maybe go for a bush walk if you have the time.

    Some cautions- if you don't mind dog hair or spiders (there is ample of both) then you will be well suited here. Cobwebs also abound. Though the room is private and opens out onto a beautiful bush view, the noise coming from the host's editing studio in the room next door can compromise on privacy. It was noisy during the day.
    However, we were able to sleep fine and heard no noise after we let Ben know that we were off to bed.

    Overall, a bargain if you don't mind your accommodation a bit "rustic".

    November 2012
  • We had 3 people stay in the room. We appreciate the flexibity.

    The room we stayed in was next to his studio, and the host worked till the early hours of the morning. I could hear the goings in the room next door and it was a little bit difficult to sleep.

    The host showed us to our room, the bathroom and the kitchen, which met with the basic needs of our one night stay. But the house was still under renovation. We were planning to go for a walk the next day but was unable to see to host to get directions. We only saw him briefly when we arrived.

    The cost was high compared what was offered, and other places that we have been.

    November 2012
    Ben
    Response from Ben:

    Apologies for working late. The house is in no way under renovation - just for the record - only an external building not connected to the accommodation (it was built 25 years ago with the renovations being done about 5 years ago). Whatever you think about the cost ($69 for 3 people is not expensive!), it doesn't include me being available for your tour guide needs - I was just offering as a friendly human being but also have my own life and things I need to do. Many people have enjoyed the property and taken responsibility for themselves, and enjoyed our gardens, bush, lake and pier. There's no reason you could not have done the same. Many thanks for your review, nonetheless!

  • this was a very nice accomodation, quiet and peaceful. we definitely recommend to AIRBNB

    October 2012
  • Lovely weekend away by the wood stove in winter! This is a very charming and peaceful place. Hosts were not there but generously opened their home to guests.

    June 2012
  • I had a great time at Ben's beautiful cottage in the forest. The house is modern and comfortable and clean, although the experience is as back-to-nature as it gets (with water and power connected, of course). Ben and friends made it super-easy to arrive and leave and there's no denying how quiet and cosy the location is - there's forest as far as the eye can see, kangaroos at the doorstep and birdlife in abundance. Those who do not love critters should learn to - Ben's *does* attract creatures because of where it is; given this, it's a comfort that Ben's is a meat-free house - too much eye-contact with the local fauna could give even a rabid meat-eater a bad stomach. Thanks for the stay, Ben!

    April 2012
  • clean accommodations, information re the area was readily given, friendly, beautiful location in the woods about 10 minutes outside daylesford, perfect for hiking, near wineries

    January 2012
Per Month
From
$145
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 51 times
Languages
English
About
We work in the entertainment industry, from Australia. I welcome my new guests in this part of the world .
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
a week ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings