Jane's Place -Relaxed Economy Twin Room

Private room in home hosted by Jane

  1. 3 guests
  2. 1 bedroom
  3. 3 beds
  4. 1.5 shared baths
Great check-in experience
90% of recent guests gave the check-in process a 5-star rating.
Furry friends welcome
Bring your pets along for the stay.
Great communication
95% of recent guests rated Jane 5-star in communication.

AirCover

Every booking includes free protection from Host cancellations, listing inaccuracies, and other issues like trouble checking in.
Stay in my large family home in the tiny village of Gordon with easy car access to many Borders towns and attractions.
Self-Catering - you may share my kitchen anytime.
Ideal for workers, travellers, and holidaymakers - relaxed and friendly for anyone.
Adjacent to local shop and pub with cafe but be aware they do not serve evening meals and close early on weekdays.
Border Collie onsite - friendly with people, sometimes unsure of new dogs, fairly reserved.

The space
This is a very large bedroom with comfortable single beds which have new mattresses - guests sleep well here. The room has original wooden shutters instead of curtains so the room is properly dark at night which helps.
There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and also a useful desk and chair.

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom
3 single beds

What this place offers

Kitchen
Wifi
Free street parking
Pets allowed
TV
Free washer – In unit
Dryer
Bathtub
Patio or balcony
Backyard

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing

4.72 out of 5 stars from 64 reviews

Cleanliness
Accuracy
Communication
Location
Check-in
Value

Where you’ll be

Gordon, Scottish Borders, United Kingdom

Gordon is a very typical Scottish Borders village - home for around 400 people. We have only about 6 streets centred around the crossroads. The village dates back to the 1200's or earlier but the oldest surviving buildings date from the 1700's. My home was built in the 1850's - a similar age to most of the Main Street buildings. Originally there were many shops along the busy Main Street serving the village and surrounding farm-steadings. In these days of cars, supermarkets and internet deliveries, only one small shop remains which caters for most needs - all the others have been converted into homes now.
The village also benefits from a lovely pub which cooks some lovely bar meals - food is also available in the adjoining restaurant which also serves as a cafe in the daytime.
Gordon is the original seat of the clan Gordon - later they were given lands further North near Aberdeen and moved there and started another village also called Gordon.
Gordon has a number of lovely easy walks in the beautiful surrounding area, along country lanes, along the old railway line, past the flooded quarry or to our community woodland. Nearby is the remains of Greenknowe Tower, a fortified home for a former landowner. It's free to visit and it's safe to climb the spiral staircases to the top.
Near Greenknowe Tower is the Gordon Moss - a site of Special Scientific Interest as it's one of the few boggy semi natural woodland areas locally and is a good habitat for a great variety of plants (including orchids), insects and fungi. Walking in this area can be difficult as the paths are extremely overgrown.

Hosted by Jane

  1. Joined in February 2017
  • 152 Reviews
  • Identity verified
  • Airbnb.org supporter
As a mother of mostly grown up children, I'm used to and like looking after people and caring about them. It makes me happy especially when it's appreciated.
I'm very easy going and non-judgemental too. I like to live and let live.
The environment is important to me and do what I can to minimise my impact on it.
I'm a fairly busy person - I run the village shop, cook most of my meals from scratch and I'm an Airbnb host, however when I have the time I like motorbikes, DIY, nights out, short weekend breaks, learning about all sorts of things, roaming the countryside and home baking.
I don't really have a motto, but this is lose to one for me.... "can't" is a four letter c word and it's probably even worse than the other one!
As a mother of mostly grown up children, I'm used to and like looking after people and caring about them. It makes me happy especially when it's appreciated.
I'm very easy…

During your stay

I live and work on-site so I am around the majority of the time - usually in the back ground - not under your feet. The property is large spacious but has a home from home feel and relaxed atmosphere.
  • Language: English
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within an hour
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules

Check-in: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Checkout: 11:00 AM
No smoking
No parties or events
Pets are allowed

Health & safety

Airbnb's COVID-19 safety practices apply
Carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm

Cancellation policy