Get the real Chiang Mai experience

House - Private room · Rat Chiang Saen 2 Ko, Mueang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand

The Space

About my place:
The official name of my place is Wiriya House.

Address for the taxi to get here is Wiriya House, Ratchiang Saen Road, Soi Chiangmai News.

Mobile phone number is (phone number hidden).
House number is (phone number hidden).

We welcome our guests and are happy to accommodate you as our family and new friend.

I am a local from Chiang Mai and tour guide and now my family has a cozy guesthouse to welcome you to and help you with all that you need. Along with our guesthouse you are welcome to my home as well, please read below for a full description on your stay with us.

Very special to our guesthouse and which many of our new friends enjoy is our pool and garden area, the perfect place to sip a cup of coffee to start a fresh day or relax at the end of a long one.

We are located on a quiet residential street only 2 blocks from the old city, good for those looking for less noise and nice for families that need more room than other smaller guesthouses.

The rooms are simple and clean (2 people/room) with air conditioning, fan, TV, refrigerator and closet all with private bathrooms.

The price of accommodation includes breakfast.

We have a very large common area downstairs where you can enjoy a coffee or a light meal, whatever you prefer or just hang out and read or watch a bit of TV, make yourself at home here! If we are not too busy we like to invite you to cook meals with us and learn Thai cuisine together, teaching you new recipes to make when you get home.

Want to cycle around Chiang Mai? I have FREE bikes for you to use, located at my house just a few short blocks away from the guesthouse. Also at my house for you to enjoy are FREE WIFI internet, FREE laundry, FREE coffee and tea, FREE toast and jam. We also welcome you to join us when cooking at my house together or feel free to use the kitchen anytime you like. Enjoy refreshments on my large patio/garden.

My home is your home!

Also, we can recommend the best way to spend your time in Chiang Mai that only locals would know. We are always available to answer any questions or to help you with anything you need.

About The Neighborhood:
The location is right in the center of Chiang Mai, near the Chiang Mai gate. You couldn't ask for a better location when it comes to being "in the city" There isn't much you couldn't walk to within 5-15 minutes of my home. If you're not the walking type it's easy to find a Taxi or TukTuk within 1-2 minutes wait.

Chiang Mai is one of Asia's hidden treasures. It has some amazing food, great art, Amazing culture etc...

The famous Night Bazaar is a short 5 minute walk from my front door!

The Locations / Distances from my place / Taxi Cost / Time to walk.

Chiang Mai Gate / .6 mi (1 km) / Walk It in/ 7 mins
City center / .6 mi (1 km) / Walk It in/ 7 mins
Saturday Market /.6 mi (1 km) / Walk It in / 7 mins
Airport / 8 mi (14 km) / $4 / 25 mins

I also own and operate an Eco-Lodge in the hills above Chiang Mai! If you want to get out of the city for a night check out the link below for information and bookings.
For more information on the eco lodge or tours just do an internet search for "chiang mai eco lodge" or check out my other listing :)

To get to our guesthouse its approximately 100 baht ($3) from the train/bus stations and approximately 120 baht ($4) from the airport. If we are not too busy we may be able to pick up for FREE, just ask!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 10
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 6
Beds: 6
Extra people: $30 / night after 2 guests
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • We stayed at Spicy villas for 5 days with our three sons (ages 9,9 and 11). We all LOVED it The staff and volunteers were so great, especially James. He was wonderful with our kids.
    We felt like we escaped the tourist traps and experienced true Thai lifestyle. We would love to go back there someday.

    February 2014
  • My husband and I really enjoyed staying at Wiriya House. The location was great (only needed a taxi a couple times) and had everything you'd need or want within walking distance. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the a/c was ice cold. They cleaned our room and provided plenty of drinking water everyday. The staff was also very friendly. They have a good selection of touristy brochures if you're wanting to go on day trips or whatever. You should know, however that they don't have free wifi. While we were very happy with Wiriya House, I feel the description of "Get the REAL Chiang Mai experience" is a bit misleading. If you want to get the cooking lessons, free wifi, free laundry and tips on where to go/what to do that's mentioned in the description, you have to walk to Samart's house. However you can only walk to his house if you're able to get in touch with him and find out where he lives. Unfortunately I wasn't able to reach him while there, so we couldn't take part in the cooking lessons (which is actually why we made this booking since we had friends that lived in town). Before we arrived, he was always very quick to respond. We only experienced a lack of response after we arrived, so he may have been out of town or something. Overall we were satisfied with the accommodations, just not completely satisfied with the description of what is offered. We would recommend staying here as long as you really know what you're getting.

    July 2013
  • What a dump! The pictures do not give a real view of the place. I took one look at the actual room, stayed for 30 minutes, and found another place to stay. I would never trust this website again. This is not a private home, but a place for 20-year old backpackers. Loads of creepy crawly creatures climbing up and down the walls.

    June 2013
  • We stayed at the bungalows for a night. The staff were friendly and helpful, and our guide was efficient in English and humourous. We enjoyed the natural environment and the atmosphere the bungalows provided (pics on site are true to life, although some areas are still under construction. We even had surprise visits from fireflies in the bedroom at night!

    This stay is for those who are looking for a closer experience with nature and chats with friendly locals. If you want a bug-free, dirt-free hotel, this is not for you! Thank you to Samart, our guide, and the wonderful staff for a good experience.

    June 2013
  • Sigh. I had such high expectations. After reading about Wiriya House online and reading other people's glowing reviews, I was excited about booking this stay on airbnb. "The Real Chiang Mai Experience" turned out to be a huge disappointment. Riding in the cab from the airport to the guesthouse, no one at the dispatching desk nor the driver knew where this guesthouse was. We drove around for a while looking for it. Finally after at least three phone calls to Samart we located the house.Out host was not on the premises, he was instead at his eco-village in the mountains. This should have been our first indication of trouble to come. Upon checking in and finding that the house was some distance from the main part of town and there were no modes of transportation available within hailing distance, my husband had a meltdown. On top of that, our daughter was unable to find suitably priced lodging close by and had to pay a premium price to stay at Wiriya House for the one night we ended up staying. The rooms were a decent size but were rather depressing and bleak. Breakfast was not included, however, we did have free wifi and the pool was relaxing and refreshing. While preparing to sleep that night, my husband plugged in his iPhone power cord and it ended up exploding from the socket with a loud bang that scared the crap out of us. I think that was the final straw; we checked out the next morning and took our losses on the second night. The host would not compensate us for the loss of our power cord nor was a refund considered. They said that because our daughter stayed there (mind you, she was in a "fan room" not an aircon room like we were) that we were "even." (As an aside to those of you traveling to Thailand - a "fan room" generally is about half the price of an aircon room.)
    We were able to get nicer accommodations close to the shops and restaurants for half the price, so I'd say I probably will not be using airbnb again.

    May 2013
    Samart (Joe)
    Response from Samart (Joe):

    this couple being tight and cheap, not smart about preparing information about using electricity items and complained their own fault, didnt read or care my profile enough then accused or complained me in bad way, normally no refunded after check in but i said they can leave and i will refund from what i can which just lost 2 USD from bnb charged me thats all but they chose to stay and complained

    they are not reasonable, being not smart by not reading my profile carefully then complained me from what i already told them.

    i dont force them to stay same as anybody if you happy with price why then complained that its too much close to city, aircon, swimming for for 25 USD can you get in your country? America? Australia? or European countries?

    im reasonable person and never took advantage on people so my profile is already clear then no reason to being not smart like this

    May 2013
  • Très bien situé à Chiang Mai, nous sommes plus dans un hôtel qu'un B&B. Les chambres et salles de bain sont assez vétustes mais très propres. L'accueil est discret mais bienveillant.
    La petite piscine et ses chaises longues sont un hâvre de paix au milieu de la verdure, après une journée sous une chaleur écrasante.
    Très bonne adresse, où l'on vous proposera diverses excursions que vous avez le loisir d'accepter ou refuser. Pas de pression...
    Petit déjeuner assez limité et plus cher qu'en ville. Les pancakes au miel sont délicieux cependant !

    April 2013
  • Agree with Finnuala to an extent - this is a commercial guesthouse, not a private residence/room. The offer of free laundry is only if Samart happens to be around - he wasn't when we needed laundry done, so his sister there did it at a cost of 40B/kg.
    The rooms are clean and on-par for the price in Thailand, aircon and hot shower works well. Pool is great too when it is 35+ degrees!
    Samart is a really friendly guy, we took up his offer to stay at the Spicy Villa Eco-lodge for a night, although that did cost us 1,600B extra for the night for the drive there and back plus the "upgrade". It was our first time at an "Eco-lodge" - whilst we appreciated the serenity and small number of people there, we didn't see the value in that cost for a wooden shack with just a mattress and mosquito net, with a cold shower without even a shower head (water just comes out of the pipe above you)... I guess it depends on your perspective though!
    Wiriya House's location is great, only a couple of minutes' walk from the night street markets at the south entrance of the old city.

    April 2013
  • Samart offers much more than an accomodation... He brought us to fantastic places and organised everything perfectly, since he knows Chiang Mai and its surroundings very well. He is a very interesting and funny person and he makes everything to be sure that "his tourists" are happy! We had really great time with him...
    The guesthouse in Chiang Mai is great and I recommand it but, next time, I will go for Samart's Eco-lodge!

    February 2013
  • We only got to see Samart for the first day but he was kind enough to pick us up at the train station and have lunch with us. He even scheduled our Elephant tour for the next day. Our driver was Bendito who we truly loved! He was great on our tour and gave us some great pointers. The guesthouse is a bit outdated but it does have a pool and the location was great. Next time we hope to go to the bungalows when we have more time. Thanks for everything Samart!

    February 2013
  • We found this place to be a bit misleading.

    Airbnb provides a service for people to book a place to stay that is not a hotel or a guesthouse but instead someone's apartment, flat or house.

    This place is a guesthouse. And it's not a special guesthouse. It's fine. But nothing special.

    All the previous reviews give a great impression of Joe. I spoke to him on the phone and he seams very nice. We were only staying for two nights and didn't take him up on his offer to meet him out of the city.

    I guess it's a good choice if you want to be shown the countryside by a local man but don't expect the accommodation to be anything other than a basic guesthouse.

    December 2012
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 248 times
English, ภาษาไทย
Bachelor of Tourism Management, 8 years Buddhism studied
Trekking , Cycling,Motorbiking and survivor Guide, Tour Leader around THailand
Grew up in the countryside, lived in Buddhist temple for 8 years as a novice monk then I went to university where I graduated in tourism management in 2002. Along with my eco-lodges, I also operate an Eco-Tourism company, where I organize custom small and private group tours for outdoor activities off the beaten tracks, real village visits, local waterfalsl, bare back elephant riding, cooking by using bamboo in the jungle, healthy cycling and more. Ask for details! I like outdoor activities such as trekking, hiking, cycling and off roading. I am very involved in local community projects and run an English teaching volunteer project as well for ethnic minority school kids.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
3 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings