London house with garden 4-6 guests

House - Entire home/apt · Lytham St, London, England SE17, United Kingdom

Very quiet & cosy house with simple modern decor at the end of a cul-de-sac with great transport links to get you quickly into the centre, whilst not being in a touristy area. Comfortably fits 4 in 2 double bedrooms with option of 1-2 more downstairs

The Space

PLEASE READ ALL INFO AND THEN CONTACT ME FIRST (and wait for a reply!) before you make a reservation request

Whole town-house to rent in south-east London, with 2 double bedrooms and a small double sofa bed in the living room, and a baby's cot can also be provided.

It's a quiet house at the end of a cul-de-sac, in Walworth, between Camberwell and Elephant & Castle, in the London borough of Southwark, south of the river. (Famous former residents of the area include Charlie Chaplin and Michael Caine!)

THE HOUSE:

2 bedrooms:
Room 1:
Double bed, big chest of drawers, wardrobe, desk/dressing table, shelf unit and wall shelves. New carpet, neutral decor, plenty of storage, pine furniture. View onto cul-de-sac. Very light and quiet, no traffic. Baby's cot available.

Room 2:
Superking bed or 2 singles, new carpet, desk/dressing table and some hanging and shelf storage as shown in the photos. Please note there are also wardrobes in the room which are full and not available for use. The room is painted white and is very quiet and light with a view onto the garden.

Living room/kitchen:
Open plan living room/kitchen with white walls, oak floor, modern Ikea kitchen with gas stove, oven, dishwasher, fridge etc. Breakfast bar with bar stools. The living room has a massive TV with Sky, a sofa (small double sofa bed) and armchairs. The living room has big patio doors opening onto the lovely garden.

Garden:
The gorgeous south-facing garden has wooden decking and a lawn, table with a parasol, chairs, deckchairs, apple trees, plenty of flowers.... Beautiful in the summer. There is a BBQ you can use (coal is sold in local supermarkets).

Bathroom:
The bathroom is modern with a vinyl floor, toilet, basin, mirror and shower/bath with lovely blue mosaic tiles. There is unlimited instant hot water.

Amenities:
Fast Wi-fi, massive TV (50 inches) with Sky (hundreds of channels), dishwasher. Your beds will be freshly made and towels will be provided. Extra clean sheets and towels will be available for your use.

Street parking:
Visitor permits available at £8/day, for short stays you can pay at the meter by the hour. Weekend parking is free.

I will leave all necessary information and will be easily contactable.

I welcome enquiries about the house - please have a profile photo (which shows your face!) and some information about you :)

I hope to hear from you soon!

Thanks for looking!

Guest Access

You will have the run of the house including all kitchen facilities. You will also have the private back garden for your sole use. Please note there is currently no washing machine but there are laundrettes nearby and I have airers for drying clothes.

Interaction with Guests

The home is for your exclusive use and I live elsewhere. Depending on when the booking is I might be there to meet you at the beginning and/or end of your stay, otherwise a friend or family member will greet you and show you around.

The Neighborhood

Walworth is a cheap-and-cheerful, multi-cultural part of London close to the centre with excellent transport links. Please do not expect Kensington :)
You can see photos of the area here: https://www.airbnb.co.uk/locations/london/walworth

Getting around

The house is only a couple of minutes' walk from the big main street with a Tesco and Morrisons (supermarkets) nearby, as well as a 24-hour Turkish grocery shop which sells lovely fresh produce and a good selection of beer! There are kebab shops, Caribbean food, a nice little pizza restaurant and more, all a short walk away on the main road. There is also a decent sized park nearby if you like jogging.

TRANSPORT:
Lots of buses going in all directions and a brisk 10 minute walk from both Kennington and Elephant & Castle tube stations, you can also get any bus from the main road a few stops to the tube station. The bus stop is a 3 minute walk from the house.

On the bus:
*10 minutes to Waterloo
*20 minutes to London Bridge
*20 minutes to Trafalgar Square
*22 minutes to Victoria
*22 minutes to Piccadilly Circus
*25 minutes to Oxford St.
*30 minutes to King's Cross

Easy access on the bus or tube to the West End and the square mile (St. Paul's, the Gherkin etc.), and on several night bus routes.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Extra people: $35 / night after 4 guests
Minimum Stay: 14 nights
Weekly Price: $866 /week
Monthly Price: $3463 /month
Security Deposit: $606
Cleaning Fee: $87
Check In: 2:00 PM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The host and our guests had a miscommunication about when would be a good time to check in. As a result, we had to kill time in the neighborhood for 4 hours to come back at the check in time she preferred, and even then she didn't leave until about an hour later, which was not the best feeling after having just traveled 8 hours on a trans-Atlantic flight. The apartment was in a good location, clean, and very comfortable. We were very happy with our stay overall, we just wish there would have been much clearer communication beforehand.

    January 2014
  • We spent a very nice time at Marina´s house. The neighbourhood is very quiet and just at 5 minutes walk from shops ans supermarkets. There are many buses on the main road that will take you to the city center, a very nice way to visit the city and much better than the tube. Marina´s house is just perfect, a very typical british home with all the equipment that you´ll need, a very cute garden etc.. We loved it. Marina is a very friendly and welcoming person. She recomended us some places to visit and a very nice restaurant. If we go back to London, we will choose this house again with no doubt!

    December 2013
  • Marina's house is really cosy, Marina is very friendly and the communication was good. The house was clean and everything was in order. The beds were nice and the area is very quiet. I can definitely recommend staying in Marina's house.

    October 2013
  • Although we couldn't meet Marina in person (she was abroad) she proved to be an excellent host at distance. I was on citytrip with my mother and my sister. For my mother (aged 83) it was her first visit to London. We had a great time. Marina's house is wonderful, and we were lucky to have good weather, so we could also enjoy the nice garden. The house is clean, quiet and there's everything you need for a short trip. Easy to travel by bus and underground to all parts of the city. Marina informed us of shops, restaurants and not-to-miss turistic and non turistic locations. And in the weeks before our trip she answered all my questions.
    When we arrived at the house Marina's mother received us very friendly.
    So when you plan a trip to London I can highly recommend teh house of Marina.

    August 2013
  • We have had a very nice stay at Marina's'house.
    It's'cozy and has a lovely garden.
    It's'very easy to reach Westmisnter or Trafalgar by bus in less than 15 minutes.
    Thanks fopr eveything
    Ignacio and Family.

    August 2013
  • We have (email hidden)'s for ten days and everything has been
    Perfect . I have travelled for work to London a few times and this was the first family journey. We have enjoyed a lot in the beautiful garden, the comfortable living area and functional kitchen. The bedrooms and bathroom upstairs also wonderful. Buses from the area to every interesting place in London. Marina has been helpful all the time vía Mail and the neighbours are lovely and kind. We wouldl like to have the chance to go to Marina's again when back in London. Our children have loved the place and so have my wife and I. Thank you very much, Marina.

    August 2013
  • We had a very nice stay at the house of Marina. She gave perfect directions to the house and she wasn't there when we came but we found the key where it should be.
    We were with five and the house was more than big enough.
    The kitchen was fantastic. Everything you need and more is there.
    The neighborhood was quiet and Elephant and Castle is very near.

    May 2013
  • We were thrilled with our stay in Marinas flat for our three-day visit with our two daughters aged 7 and 13. They loved their "home away from home" and would gladly have spent the whole weekend in the house and garden if it weren't for our busy schedule.
    The location is perfect. No tourists, friendly neighbours, calm and quiet. Easy access everywhere with buses going in all directions. Marina had left a lot of practical and entertaining information about the neighbourhood. The flat is cosy, clean and practical with everything one needs, and the garden is lovely. If one should happen to break a leg, there is even a lovely library of good litterature. The whole situation felt generous an friendly.
    We would definitely consider going back a next time.
    Helle from Norway

    May 2013
  • Marina was really helpful with the info and with getting in touch at the right time. The house was exactly are described and Marina had prepared for our arrival. The only worrisome thing is that there were lots of details about the house that we needed to be careful of (not heat when outside, locks, recycling etc). Overall, it was a good stay and the house is nice. It is a little far from the main subway station and the attractions but really quiet.

    November 2012
  • Everything was excellent, really nice house, great location and brilliant communication with Marina from the start. Lots of good local knowledge and tips left for us as well. Definitely recommended and will be using again!

    November 2012
Per Month
From
$208
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 189 times
Languages
English
Work
MA in Linguistics
About
I'm a London local who grew up in the UK (quite unusual round here!) in my early 30s. I'm currently doing a teaching diploma, and am trying to make plans to move to Barcelona in the new year. I basically live alone, but I've rented my spare room out (and sometimes the whole house) on airbnb since the summer of 2011 and have enjoyed meeting a variety of people. I've travelled quite a bit myself in Europe, the US and Asia. (Several people have asked: yes in the photo I am holding a menorah. I bought it only because I liked its shape - I don't have a religion, but everyone is welcome!)
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
3 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings