NewlyRenovGraciousWestSideFor1-5

Apartment - Entire home/apt · West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, United States
Joe
Your host, Joe
5 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

> This is a lovely and gracious full sized prewar one-bedroom apartment with one full bath. Separate sleeping in Living Room.

The apartment is located in a beautiful elevator and doorman building just a block from Riverside Park, a block from Broadway, and ten blocks from Lincoln Center in the West 70s on Manhattan's Upper West Side, steps to Central Park, Subways, all of the museums, cafes, restaurants, shops and attractions for which this neighborhood is renowned. It is a truly prime and wonderful location.

Freshly renovated (crown moldings! New kitchen and bath), the comfortable bedroom(lots of light and, yes, blackout shades) has a queen-sized bed for up to two guests; there is a queen-sized Murphy bed(see fotos) in the living room for up to two additional guests. And, there is a marvelously comfortable inflatable twin. Excellent linens.

There is one full bath with tub/shower combination. There is a fully equipped kitchen. DoubleGlazed windows help keep the noise down, and the building is on a residential street from which buses and trucks are prohibited. The building has a roof-top garden, gym, bike room and laundry room. Ask doorman for laundry room elevator and gym door codes.

(email hidden). and Broadway, local and express.
72nd St.Cross town to E. Side on corner,
#57 to midtown and E. 57th St.(a great cross-town connection to the EastSide..Bloomingdales!)
and #5 down Fifth Ave. (Tiffany's!) all within a block.

Parking? (website hidden)

Cable television, wireless high-speed Internet and air conditioning are provided at no extra cost.

This is a truly lovely HOME (not a sterile hotel room with bad art) and it is required that guests treat it with respect.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 5
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Extra people: $75 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $1800 /week
Monthly Price: $6500 /month
Security Deposit: $600
Cleaning Fee: $100
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Joe's building is a conveniently located pre-war gem on the Upper West Side, my neighborhood for several decades. The staff is lovely. Joe clearly put a great deal of thought into his luxurious renovation. I particularly appreciated two things. The apartment was freshly cleaned and spotless. And, as Joe had assured me in an email, the bedroom with double-pane glass and blackout shades was indeed quiet.

    There was an initial snafu. Having arrived in a thunderstorm, I came in bedraggled, exhausted and longing for a hot soapy shower. The only soap in the apartment was a scant inch of dishwashing liquid and, tho stacks of towels, no washcloth. At first Joe said the previous long-term tenants hadn't replaced things that ran out as he'd requested, but then agreed with me that they might not have considered soap their responsibility like, say, sugar. Joe said he would ask his cleaning person to "pay attention" and I have every confidence this situation will not occur again. He reimbursed me for the bar soap, washcloth and dishwashing liquid that I purchased the next day. (No detergent tablets for the Miele but didn't know how to use it.)

    Alas, something else could not so easily be remedied. I want to be fair and diplomatic. Comfort is subjective; I'm speaking only for myself here. The "mattress" is the hardest I have ever encountered, like a slab of packed earth or cement. No innerspring coils and definitely not memory foam--no give whatsoever, like poking a sidewalk. I put the light topper from the Murphy bed on it, but the thin, cloudlike filling made only the slightest difference. Actual pain kept me awake, and sleep itself was fitful. I have a strong back, but during the day I had a constant backache. And if you don't sleep well, you don't feel great overall, affecting the entire trip.

    For the record, on previous New York visits I've had no problems with mattresses in rentals and a swap. In fact, at an owner's request I happily wrote a glowing TripAdvisor review for a higher-priced, modestly furnished studio, among its charms a comfortable bed. Because at the end of the day (literally), nothing matters to me but sleep comfort and sleep quality. I didn't mention the mattress until my final email to Joe as I left, who replied, "I wish I could have known/anticipated your discomfort and been able to do something to have helped." Perhaps I should have said something at the beginning, but honestly I didn't see how, short of ordering a new bed, he could help. Joe gave me $200 as "balm for the mattress discomfort" and I hate writing anything less than stellar for such a genuinely nice guy. But I can only report how I felt. I didn't even realize the extent of the pain I was in until after I returned home. It took four nights of sleeping on my own normal mattress for my back to completely stop hurting.

    June 2014
    Joe
    Response from Joe:

    Dear Marlene,
    Thank you for your review. I regret that you did not like the mattress. You're the first person who has ever had a problem with it, in fact only a few weeks ago, an earlier guest had made very complimentary comments about the beds (and linens.) Thanks for your stay.

    June 2014
  • There is not much I can add to the raves Joe and his apartment already received, except that the staff and neighbors were cordial, which is not always the case. Another thing, the kitchen is tiny (like in the photo) but the cutlery, crystal coffee-make and grinder etc are all top of the line. The apartment is clearly Joe's home. His stuff and personal memorabilia from all over the world are very much evident. If you are looking for a sterile pristine space, look someplace else. I am originally from NYC and don't need much help, but Joe took the trouble to call several times to make sure everything was ok. Finally location in NYC is very much a matter of taste, but if Upper West Side, Columbus Circle, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Riverside Park and little less crazy than most Manhattan Streets appeal to you, you can't beat West End Ave and W. 71 St. Also virtually ideal location for bus and subway which is important in New York. All in all if there was a 6 star rating for the whole experience I would give it.

    June 2014
    Joe
    Response from Joe:

    Thank you, Michael for your generous review. As a fellow cyclist, I was so glad to have your stay at my place. You and Yolanda were so kind and considerate about my neighbors and the building staff. Thanks!

    June 2014
  • Joe was an excellent host. The apartment is very comfortable, perfect for 2 or 3 people, and it's exactly as shown in the pictures. Great beds and shower. It's also really well located, with many restaurants and stores nearby. You also have Central Park only a few blocks away. The Upper West Side is a beautiful and safe neighborhood. You should definitely pick this apartment!

    April 2014
    Joe
    Response from Joe:

    Thanks,Malena...Appreciate your stay and very glad you and your family were comfortable at my place. Come back again soon.all best, JOE

    April 2014
  • We had a very pleasant stay at Joe's place. The location is great, just a 10 minute walk to Columbus circle. The apartment was just like advertized and Joe was very helpful in preparing for our arrival and following up to make sure we were fine. We recommend this place for up to 2 couples. And cherry on top...there is a Nespresso machine with free flow of Capuccinos! Thanks again for the nice stay.

    December 2013
    Joe
    Response from Joe:

    Thank you Nicolas! for your kind review, and the very welcome booking. Hope you will come back again soon.

    December 2013
  • Amazing host, amazing place, amazing location, and amazing trip!

    The place was just as advertised. Very comfortable and clean. Joe provided the amenities that you need. The apartment is centrally located to a popular transit line and in a great, quiet neighborhood. Tasty local restaurants are at your fingertips.

    When you are ready to get into the hustle and bustle of the city. A quick hop on the train will get you there in minutes. Also, the apartment is within steps to Central Park. The next time I go to NYC, I hope I will be lucky to get this place again!

    November 2013
    Joe
    Response from Joe:

    So great to have Aminah's stay at my place. She came to run in the marathon, and, sadly, but only because she's not a Kenyan, she didn't triumph. But she was a great guest and I hope she'll come back again soon!

    November 2013
Per Month
From
$279
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 70 times
Languages
English, Español, Português
School
Columbus North Columbus, Ohio, Ohio State Univesity, Thunderbird School of Global Management
About
journalist, (NBC Nightly News, CBS 60 Minutes) documentary filmmaker, Feel free to contact me for inquiries and availability of my listing. Thank you!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today
Similar Listings