Twin room overlooking the ricefield
At a glance, the room features:
■ Private room, with ensuite bathroom and hot water shower
■ Two single beds with reading lamp
■ FREE breakfast with a restaurant on site
■ Short walk to the beach on Bali's north coast
■ FREE wifi internet that can be used in the room and all around our property
■ Television with DVD player in the room and a huge selection of movies to choose from
■ Swimming pool
■ Very quiet and relaxing location overlooking a ricefield
■ Small four room complex with the owners living on-site - friendly staff who can help with any of your needs
■ 24 hour security
■ FREE usage of two mountain bikes
■ A range of reasonably priced tour and activity options, including treking, snorkeling, diving, motorbike rental, sight seeing
We are a small family run guesthouse on the north coast of Bali, located in the fishing village of Anturan and just a short walk to the beach. We are just over 2 km from central Lovina and 6km from the town of Singaraja.
We are in a quiet and peaceful location, far removed from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist centers in Bali.
We have a relaxing pool to cool down in and have free wifi internet. We are internet junkies ourselves, so you can be sure our connection is fast and reliable. It won't be as quick as what you are probably used to in your home country, but it is adequate enough for most tasks.
This room is one of four rooms in our complex. The rooms all look out onto the adjacent ricefield and feature terraces with chairs and tables. This room is a twin room (2 single beds), air-conditioning and features a Balinese design timber pitched ceiling. The bathroom is decorated in natural stone has a hot water shower.
Some of our guests who have stayed with us include writers and people who have internet based businesses and they have found it is a quiet and relaxing place to chill out and still get their work done.
We have a small restaurant and feature a range of Balinese and Indonesian dishes. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. We also offer cooking classes for anyone who wants to learn how to cook Indonesian food. Since Anturan is a fishing village, you can be sure that the fish was caught the same day.
We have a brick BBQ for grilling fish or any other meat and a rotisserie for cooking roast chicken or duck.
There are a number of attractions and things to do in the area. Lovina is famous for dolphin trips, which you can book through us. We have motorbikes for rent and we also have two mountain bikes which can be used for free. The area is good for fishing and snorkeling. A trip to Menjangan Island is a must for diving or snorkeling enthusiasts.
Our aim is to provide a quiet and relaxing place to stay, with spotless rooms, friendly service and a range of attractions and experiences to make sure your stay in Bali is a memorable one.
Lovina is about a 2-3 hour drive from Bali's international airport. The route passes through Bali's cool central mountains and the drive is very scenic and you can even spot monkeys along the way. We can organize our driver to pick you up from the airport or anywhere else in Bali for an additional fee. Contact us for further details.
If this room is booked for your selected dates, please check the availability of our other rooms, which are part of the same complex.
We are happy to answer any questions about our place. If however, you would like to know when we have dates available, please click on the calendar rather than sending us an email, asking us when we have availability.
Guests have access to all areas of our property, except for our own house and the restaurant kitchen.
We live on the property full-time and able to help with any questions or problems guests might have. We do occasionally go away for travel (we need holidays too!), but we have staff to take care of our guests and we can always be contacted by phone or email.
We love that our area is quiet and peaceful and you can still see traditional Balinese life. The local people are friendly and will stop you for a chat and sometimes even invite you to their house. The beach is great for a quiet drink and watching the sun go down, while be serenaded by local guys strumming away on a sometimes in tune guitar.
Small public buses (bemo) travel up and down the main road. We are close to the Perama bus station, which offers a budget shuttle bus service around Bali. We also have our car with driver, who can take you around for a reasonable price. We have parking for several cars and is included in the price. We offer an airport pick up service (not included in the price). We have 2 bicycles for rent for free and motorbikes for rent.
We have a dog "Aby" but she is friendly and great with kids.
|Room type:||Private room|
|Bed type:||Real Bed|
|Extra people:||$9 / night after the first guest|
|Weekly Price:||$112 /week|
|Monthly Price:||$453 /month|
|Check In:||2:00 PM|
|Check Out:||12:00 PM (noon)|
A nice and quiet place to stay. A little away from the beaten track.
I loved the pool and the view from my room. In spite of the ricefields there were not many musquito's! The owners are helpfull and the staff is friendly. Good quality for money! (and the bed was great!)
Beware - this is not in Lovina and although the rooms are OK, the gardens are quite nice, the pool is nice and the breakfast is very good, there are some serious negatives that you should know about:
the pillows were very old and two of them (albeit the ‘decorative’ ones) really needed to be thrown out – they were so old they had become very dark in colour.
In the kids room, there were six cockroaches found – I know that from time to time cockroaches cannot be avoided, but the fact is that we haven’t seen any on this trip to Bali (in four other places) but six in this room – so it suggests some sort of problem.
The staff in the garden area were not friendly – they didn’t smile or say hello, even when they had to deal with us. My wife told me that they didn’t even look at her. They were also relaxing in the ‘pergola’ and around the guest’s area, which made my wife very uncomfortable about even going to the pool, as she felt like she was being watched. We don’t mind it when people are around – in fact in other locations around Bali, where the staff have been much more friendly, we like it. However, when staff are not friendly it can then become a privacy issue.
It is not 1.5 or 2 km from Lovina - from my measurements, it seems to be over 3km from central Lovina (and therefore about 3.5 km to the beach on the road). It may be 2km as the crow flies, but unfortunately, we don’t fly!
There is a suggestion on the site that it is a short walk to the local beach, but this beach is hardly one that can be enjoyed, as it is full of rubbish – we’ve seen some dirty areas around Bali and we understand this, but this area was by far the worst.
They have a driver who can take you into Lovina and bring you back when you call for a cost of 100,000 rp. But a one-way 5 minute taxi trip costs around 10,000 rp and with a driver shouldn't cost more than 20,000 rp.
One of our biggest concerns is that their driver took us to friend who tried to sell us tickets to snorkelling tour for 45 euros (about $70 AUD) - we eventually purchased them for 250000 rp (about $23 AUD).
We left after one day in spite of paying the full rate up front and there was muted apologies. There has been no response to an email that I wrote 6 days ago asking for a partial refund.
I don't like leaving negative reviews, but people need to be aware of these factors.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy staying at our place. It seems that you were looking to stay in a more commercial area. Our place is surrounded by rice fields and farmland. All of our rooms look out onto the rice field. All of the pictures of the rice field are taken from the front of the rooms and from the restaurant. If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing place to stay, then the location can be ideal, but if you are looking for somewhere with easy access to many restaurants and bars, then perhaps our place is not the best choice. We are located in the fishing village of Anturan, which is still considered part of Lovina. Kalibukbuk is regarded as the 'central' area of Lovina, which I believe is the area you wanted to stay. There are bemos (public buses) that run up and down the main road between Lovina and Singaraja. They are a great way to get a taste of the local culture. We also have bicycles for guests to use for free and have a scooter rental service. As you pointed out, we have a driver and car to transport guests. I would like to point out that the 100,000 rupiah charge (about $10) is for a return trip. Our driver also waits for the guests to do their shopping or have dinner in a designated spot, so I do believe that this price is reasonable and I am sorry that perhaps we didn't explain this clearly enough. There are some nice places to eat out at within walking distance to our place. There are some good local warungs that are cheap and very good, but aimed more towards locals rather than tourists. We provide this information to guests, so they know where to go. There is now also an ATM in the gasoline station right near our place. Balinese are welcoming and friendly by nature and I believe our staff are no exception. I apologize that you did not feel this way. I believe we have a good team, but of course we try to improve our service with further training and guidance. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. I have not received an email from you since you stayed at our place. With regards to the other problems you pointed out, we are doing everything we can to fix them.
Recommendable location !
I spent a really good time in this comfortable and quiet room. Beautiful place and warm welcome. I recommend to go.
Upon arrival, our luggage was soon taken to our lovely room, and after a whole day travelling, it was heaven to put the air conditioner on and lay on the comfy bed for a while to recover! All was as shown on the website, including the wonderful pool area. The dining area, looking out over the ricefields, was a restful haven any time of the night or day,for a drink, snack or meal, as Ammanda's staff were always about the grounds happy to accommodate whatever you had in mind-they were all wonderful and forever smiling and friendly-we loved them all and that made our stay very special, as that is how they made us feel-special.
A Canadian guest Kim, and myself took Ammanda's cooking class. We were taken to the local markets to purchase our needs, and later in the day we chopped, ground and stirred our way towards our finished product to share with our families that evening-it was fun and an eye opener into the effort and love that goes in to each asian dish served up to us!
It is an easy walk down to the Anturan foreshore along the walkway between the village homes and the boatsheds. You can watch the sun go down over the sea from the black sand beach here. We caught the "bemo", the local little blue buses which go up and down the main road a few hundred metres from Mumbul Guesthouse, to travel locally. Singaraja, the old capital and port town was our first place to visit, and another day we went in to the main "Lovina" touristy area. We took a full day trip to Menjangan Island which was amazing, loved the snorkelling and great value-Ammanda can organize that for you, and anything else that you may have in mind to do, with her usual calm and efficiency!
We loved our stay as you may have guessed by now and have no hesitation in recommending Mumbul Guesthouse to you! Oh, and Abby is a very well mannered dog, so don't be put off by her presence if you are not a dog lover-she will not bother you at all and just adds to the "family feel" of the guesthouse.
Friendly hosts. Great in house restaurant. Some geckos and bugs in the room. We had a great stay!
I had an amazing 2 weeks stay at Mumbul. Ammanda, Mike and the staff are very accommodating. I was supposed to stay for a week but I loved it so much, I extended! The wifi was the fastest and most efficient out of all 6 places I stayed in whilst in Bali. The rooms are huge and clean as well as reasonably priced. There was always a good choice at breakfast and in general, the food is of a high quality. These guys have a very transparent, open and honest approach - one I didn't find everywhere in Bali. They helped me organise many tours and activities and are will always get you a reasonable price. I would not hesitate to recommend Mumbul Guesthouse. If I decide to go back to Bali, I would certainly stay here again.
Mumbul is mid-way between Singaraja & Lovina - and both must-see beaches are a 10-min drive. Its not sea-facing or touching any beach, but its quite and peaceful. The rooms were spick-and-span with silent ACs and comfortable bedding. They have a kitchen that serves decent food, a relaxing swimming pool & cute dog. Ammanda is very resourceful and can arrange everything from dolphin tours to traditional Bali massages for you.
Thanks for hosting us Ammanda, we had a great stay.
I stayed here for 3 nights, 15,16, 17 December 2012. It was a lovely and peaceful time. Ammanda is a great hostess and I felt looked after - she helped arrange a tour I wanted to go on. The rooms have aircon which is much needed. I enjoyed the beach - I used the BnB's bike to get there although it's only 1.5kms it is hot walking! Some people found the sea and beach very dirty and I suppose it is a bit but I overlooked this and enjoyed massages by the local women and long swims with no waves.
Book a snorkel/ dive trip - I didn't and regret it!
The only drawback was I struggled with the heat - the eating area at the Bnb doesn't have aircon (it's open air) and I felt too hot to eat! I've acclimatised a bit since I've now been in Bali one month but that first week was bad! The other thing is the Bnb is right on the rice paddies, so at 5am the farmer women start shouting loudly, banging and groaning at the birds trying to eat the rice. So earplugs are a DEFINITE unless you sleep really deeply.
Des petits bungalow adorables pas très loin à pied de la plage aux mille animaux et au sable noir. A proximité de petits commerces, et "warung" assez authentiques ! L'endroit est très sympa, calme, et le départ pour les dauphins se fait à même la plage, au petit matin… Je recommande ce dolphin tour !
Prêt de vélos pour aller plus loin dans le centre.
Ammanda et son ami sont attentifs et réactifs.
This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.
This is the final rate, including VAT along with fees from the host and Airbnb.
This is the fee charged by Airbnb
This is the fee charged by Airbnb and includes VAT