Heating and air conditioning, TV for regular channels and Netflix (no cable). Microwave, mini fridge, electric kettle, dishes and instant coffee and tea.


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
2496 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Our private suite is in a quiet, family friendly neighborhood with great bus, metro, walking or bicycling access to the National Mall and downtown DC. Private bath, mini fridge, microwave & electric tea kettle.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 9AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Keypad

Amenities

Prices
Weekly Discount: 10%
Cancellation: Flexible

Description

The space

Convenient to the National Mall and an easy walk to Union Station, Eastern Market, Barracks Row/8th Street, H Street/Atlas District,the Library of Congress, Folger Theater, and the Capital buildings. Great for business trips, research trips or sightseeing.

Enjoy a cozy room and private full bath on the ground floor of our recently renovated home. Wifi, bike share across the field behind our house, bus & metro nearby, walk to tons of restaurants in two of DCs best neighborhoods for dining (Barracks Row/Eastern Market and H Street), museums and everything else great about DC very close by! There is a very basic kitchenette in the room (mini-fridge, microwave and electric tea kettle). If you have additional kitchen needs you can come upstairs and use our kitchen.

ABOUT THE ACCOMMODATIONS
-1 Bedroom
-1 Full Bath - private
-Privacy: You may close the bedroom and bathroom from the rest of the house
-Private entrance
-Wifi
-Window
-Heating unit / air conditioner whose temperature you control; basement keeps cool in the summer, but is nicely insulated for winter comfort.
-TV streams Netflix (and a few local channels, no cable)
-Total footage of the guest suite is 160 SF (about 15 sq meters, of which the bedroom is 110 SF (about 9 sq meters).
-Queen bed
-Radio
-Very basic kitchenette (microwave, mini-fridge and electric tea kettle)
-Code entry - no keys to lose!
-The suite and whole house are cleaned with green cleaning products.


ABOUT THE NEIGHBORHOOD/LOCATION
-4 blocks from H Street (also known as the Atlas District), DC's fastest up and coming neighborhood for great food and nightlife
-Capitol Hill is a village in a city: it's friendly, safe, great for families and professionals
-Walking distance to tons of great restaurants
-Easy access by bus, metro or bike to the National Mall and downtown

TRANSPORTATION & PARKING
-WALK: We are an easy 20-25 minute walk from the Metro at Union Station and the metro at Eastern Market
-BUS: The D6, a commuter bus, stops 2 blocks away. In minutes you are at Union Station where you can walk, take metro, or continue a few more blocks and get off downtown (Penn Quarter/Verizon Center).
-METRO: Access to the either the red line or the green/yellow line are each a 20 minute walk through beautiful neighborhoods.
-BIKE: A great way to get to the metro or around town is to rent a bike from one of the docking stations just steps outside our back door (C You can park the bike at any location around the city.
-CAR: Parking is plentiful on our block because DC utilizes a permit system. When you provide us with your state and tag number we provide a temporary permit good for your stay, which entitles you free and easy parking on our street and anywhere on Capitol Hill.

CHECK IN: 2pm
CHECK OUT: 10am
You can come early and drop off your bags in the storage area outside the room before you go out for the day. You can also leave your bags here on the day you check out and come back for them before you leave the city.

THINGS TO NOTE
-We keep our price low because we like hosting people from around the world and helping them have a great stay in DC.
-If you are very allergic to dogs and/or cats, this is not a place for you, as we have one of each. Our dog is friendly, but she barks the first time anyone comes through the front door. That said, the animals do not dwell in the guest areas.
-You will have a private entrance that allows flexibility to come and go; as long as you are reasonably quiet, it will not disturb us if you come in late.
-We get up at 7am on weekdays (and leave by 7:45am) and 8am on weekends. We try our very best to keep quiet and tread lightly, but it's an old house and certain floorboards make noise. If you are going to need to sleep in late and you need ultimate quiet to do so, you may want to consider other hosts. This is a small, cozy room and it bests suits people who are here to be out and about!
-We have added a small kitchenette with a microwave and mini-fridge.You can come upstairs to do dishes or get anything else you need to have a light meal. Also, we don't mind people use our kitchen or eating in our dining room as long as they are considerate.
-We love having guests here but we also have two girls (7 & 9) and so of course expect respect and consideration. In return, we will do the same for you and will help you make the most of your time in DC!

Guest access

You will have your own bedroom and private bath. There is a microwave, utensils, and an electric tea kettle in the room, but if you'd like to use our kitchen or need other supplies, we can help you out with that. To get to our room, you enter our basement door, walk through a room where we store our bikes, and then enter your room.

Interaction with guests

We respect that guests want different levels of interaction or privacy. We try to be as helpful and as available to orient our guests, but we will let you be. We very much enjoy meeting people from around the world by hosting guests through Airbnb. Our daughters are working on saying goodnight in as many languages as possible!

We don't travel a lot, but occasionally go out of town on the weekend. If this is the case for your visit, we will try to let you know in advance and we have neighbors who also host on Airbnb and they will be available to help you. We can always be reached by phone or text. This has worked out in the past and some of our awesome guests have even fed and pet our cat while we are away.

The neighborhood

Our neighborhood is a village in a city! There are beautiful, well kept row houses, some apartment buildings, shady parks, and very friendly people. We live right backed up to a park where families bring their children to play soccer. We love to walk and bike everywhere and you can see the Bikeshare kiosk from our backyard. We are about a mile walk from two metro stations (Union Station and Eastern Market) and 2 blocks from the D6 bus that goes to the National Mall, downtown, and even all the way to Georgetown.

Getting around

The closest public transportation to our house is the D6 bus two blocks away at the corner of 13th and C Streets NE. You can also pick up an X8 bus 3 blocks away on Maryland Ave or the X2 bus 5 blocks away on H Street.

There is a small market 4 blocks away (corner of 11th and C Street NE), and bigger grocery stores by Eastern Market metro, Union Station, and Potomac Ave metro, all accessible by bike or on your way home from downtown.

Other things to note

We have a dog, Lily, and a cat, Little Rock. Both are friendly but we keep them out of the guest areas just in case guests have allergies. Lily barks at guests when they arrive, but she quiets down quickly.

We do not have cable TV, but we have free wifi and a Roku box you can use to watch TV shows or movies on Netflix.

While the room has one big window that lets in natural light, the window does not open directly to the outside (it opens to a small room where we store our bicycles and some tools). You can hang out in our backyard for fresh air.

In order to keep costs low and simple, we do not charge a cleaning fee. Kindly use the garbage bins in the alley (green for trash, blue for recycling). We would appreciate it if you would strip the bed when you check out, and leave the linens in a pile with your used towels. Thank you!

Listing our space on Airbnb has made it possible for us to live in a neighborhood that we otherwise would find it very difficult to afford, plus we get the chance to meet people from around the world. We love how this has positively influenced our kids. We work hard to make the space as nice as possible for our guests. But the bottom line is this: you can find all sorts of faults with our place if you are looking for them.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is after 2PM

Check in: After 2pm / Check out: 9 am weekdays, 10 am weekends.
Arriving early? Leaving late? If you need a place to store your bags before the room is ready or after you check out you are welcome to leave them our storage room.


Availability
2 nights minimum stay

459 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 373 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Washington, District of Columbia, United States · Joined in November 2011
Ken User ProfileKen is a superhost.

My name is Ken and I live in Capitol Hill, Washington DC, with my wife Nicole, two kids (Nora 13 and Sylvie 11), our dog, Lily and our cat, Little Rock. I am a VBM (Vegetarian by Marriage). Our family loves traveling and we enjoy supporting others during their travels.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet