Hawes, from the road through the valley.Hawes in autumn
Lovely Lake District rural retreat
4 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
1 bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

My place is on a small, Lakeland farm set up on a hillside with wonderful views down to the Duddon estuary. You could be woken by George the cockerel who wanders the yard with his bevy of hens; otherwise, it's a wonderfully quiet, peaceful spot – on a Bank Holiday two or three walkers might pass by! The hens and three cats hang out in the yard, various sheep breeds, four ponies, and a scattering of cows populate the fields, and beyond that a gate opens to the fells.

The space

I have one lovely double room and one twin room available in an old farmhouse (some parts of the house date from the seventeenth century), set on the southern foothills of the Lake District in north England, with splendid views and immediate walking access to the fells. Enjoy real peace and quiet, tasty breakfasts and the homely company of cats and hens. The track to the cottage is narrow, bumpy and steep in places, but delivery vans and my little Citroen C3 and plenty of other guests have managed it fine. You'll be far from the madding crowds, but you'll still have access to the modern world via wifi too! The house is my home; I have a room off the lounge where I work and sleep.

It's most useful to come by car as there is no public transport in the vicinity, but I can happily pick you up from the nearest railway station, Foxfield - for a small fee - if necessary.

I can accommodate from one to four guests travelling together and happy to share, as there is just one bathroom (and you'll also be sharing with me). At popular times of the year I might (rarely) offer my second room to other guests, but with discretion, and after consultation with you. My fee is £40 per person per night (though mini-persons – under 12 years – stay for half price, and micro-persons – under two – stay for free).

The Blacksmith Arms - an award-winning pub - is a lovely 25-minute walk down the hill (though depending how much you enjoy their wonderful real ale and yummy grub, it could take you a lot longer to get back up!) The closest village is 3 miles away and offers other pubs and cafes, a post office, tourist information centre, a pleasant village square and a village grocer and butcher.

The Lake District can be a wet, muddy and cold place sometimes, so don't forget to pack some sturdy, waterproof walking boots or wellies, and a waterproof jacket.

If you fancy a sojourn in surroundings that inspired the great romantic poets, then do please come!

Guest access

Please do note that my place is fairly remote and the track to it is rough in places and not really suitable for low-slung sports cars. I hope that guests will make my home their own for the duration of their stay, enjoying the use of communal spaces - the kitchen, the fireside and sitting-room, and the garden and spaces beyond - as well as the privacy of their own rooms.

Interaction with guests

The house is my home and I will be here and coming and going during your stay. I respect my guests' needs for privacy, and will give you as much space as I can. I would love to chat, if we have a chance, and get to know you a little, and to offer advice for your days spent here, but will mostly leave you to enjoy yourselves in your own way.

Other things to note

Please note that the track to my place is steep, narrow and bumpy in places and not really suitable for low-slung sports cars.

The farm is located in a quieter part of the Lake District, and it's a 40-minute (scenic) drive to more popular visitor sites like Beatrix Potter's house and Windermere. The closest lake is Coniston, which is where 'Swallows and Amazons' was set, and where Donald Campbell attempted the world land speed record.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed, 2 single beds

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people $56 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) and other pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

397 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Madeline User Profile
September 2017
Kate' s home was such a wonderful, relaxing place to stay! The driveway was definitely a challenge as we had a large SUV that just barely fit up the road, but it was well worth it! The views are picturesque and the food at the local pub was some of the best I have ever had. Kate made us feel right at home and also provided breakfast including delicious homemade bread that we couldn't get enough of!

Maggie User Profile
September 2017
A friend's enthusiasm sent us looking for Kate's place and we were not disappointed. Just as we'd heard, it was lovely to look at, peaceful and relaxed, off the beaten track in beautiful hill farm surroundings. We were unfortunate with the weather (heavy rain every day for our week!), which kept us on the premises more than we'd planned. Although this was frustrating, Kate and her house made it a good holiday: we enjoyed her company, great breakfasts, log fire, library, chickens, bird-feeder, cats. We really were encouraged to treat the place as home. Views around the property are glorious and we enjoyed walking out when we could. This cat-lover couldn't believe her luck in being entertained by Kate's family of kittens, a happy accident of timing. "A perfect antidote to the angst and paranoia of metropolitan living."- my husband, Pete

Michael User Profile
September 2017
Incredible. First time using airbnb and I couldn't be happier. We had an amazing trip made even more amazing by staying at an adorable farm house with a fantastic host. P.S a must for animal lovers!

Claire User Profile
September 2017
A beautiful house in a stunning location. Kate is a great host, very friendly and welcoming. It was the perfect place to arrive after a long drive- and felt really cosy with an open fire. Tasty breakfast and lots of interesting things around the house which our 6 month old son loved! Hopefully we can stay again in he future. Thanks.

Megha User Profile
August 2017
Best Airbnb ever - my partner and I totally fell in love with Kate's beautiful home! Tucked away up on a hill near Broughton-in-Furness, Kate's farmhouse definitely provided the wonderful rural retreat promised. We stayed for two nights, arriving late at night without any difficult, thanks to Kate's detailed directions. Our stay was very comfortable and both Kate and her son Jesse made us feel at home. Kate offered a delicious breakfast of homemade bread, freshly-laid eggs from Dotty the hen, fruit, yogurt, cereal and an assortment of teas. With 5 very playful kittens and Mum around the kitchen (as well as an occasional wander in by Dotty), our breakfasts were never short of entertainment. For dinners in the village, do book ahead of time as per Kate's suggestion. Would highly recommend!

Clara User Profile
August 2017
Kate is a lovely host and the place is really sweet. Quite difficult to get to, but such a comfortable place- the national trust house, and wonderful to go for a quiet walk around the farmhouse. We really enjoyed fresh eggs and also the homemade bread that Kate baked for us :)

Julia User Profile
August 2017
I spent the weekend with Kate in her gorgeous farmhouse whilst visiting the Coniston area for a friend's wedding. I couldn't have wished for a more lovely, generous host and warm welcoming. Full of character and in the most stunning location, the farmhouse is beautifully furnished with every detail considered for a comfortable, cosy and peaceful getaway. Such a special place, thank you Kate! x

This host has 9 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
England, United KingdomJoined in November 2011
Kate User ProfileKate is a superhost.

I've lived in the Lake District for nearly 30 years, eighteen of those in this wonderful old house. I work for book publishers, and as a photographer, shooting weddings, real estate, documentary work and other things, and in my free time love tending my veggie garden or getting out on personal photographic projects. I'm fortunate to live in a place where simply walking out the door can be a sensuous adventure. I've watched my wonderful family grow up here and move on, and so there is space in my home to share with you, my guests.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings