This beautiful Condo is located less than 10 minutes from Downtown Playas del Coco and less than 3 minutes from the beach.The Coco Sunset Hils Complex has 5 beautiful pools . Lush gardens and small shaded parks are along the poolside sidewalks .
This unit is on the third floor and has oceanviews from the bedroom and the livingroom. The living room area has a pullout couch for additionql guests .
The kitchen is small but well equipped .
The most magnificent part of this particular unit is the OCEANVIEW ROOFTOP PATIO!
That is great for entertainment ,BBQ,s and relaxing sunset evenings.
The town of Coco is a 100 year old fishing village that has turned into a vacation hotspot .
There are great seafood restaurants and gift shops , boat excursions ,waterfalls, and volcano tours .
All guests that stay with us are entitled to FREE USE OF A GAS BBQ GRILL.
There is also 2 Beach Clubs nearby and one has free weekend entertainment /LIVE MUSIC.
The CAFE de PLAYA Beach offers our guests discounts on great food and drinks.
tHERE ARE PENTY OF NEW BUSES , TAXIS , TOUR COMPANIES , SMALL PLANES , AND BOAT EXCURSIONS FOR ALL YOUR TRAVEL NEEDS .
Includes a VIP PASS to CAFE DE PLAYA..
Een super huisje met een super eigenaar die ons persoonlijk op kwam halen en naar het huisje bracht! Heel vriendelijk en bereid om altijd voor je klaar te staan.
Robert was a very helpful, understanding and accommodating host. My bus was delayed and he waited for me, my luggage was lost and he followed up on that for me, he offered to arrange a trip into Liberia for me to shop for clothing. He was prompt at following up when the water went off the very first night. He checked on bus schedules for me and arranged a pick up for departure. Thank you Robert!
Guanacaste was the last leg of our two-week stay in Costa Rica. We found the Playa del Coco condominium on Air bnb and contacted Robert to arrange our stay. From the beginning we were a little concerned because a month after the booking, Robert emailed us to let us know the condo that we had booked had been sold, and he had a replacement for us. Okay, we were flexible. That was fine. Then a week or so later he changed the second condo for unknown reasons and gave us options for a third condo...…we decided on a third choice.
The condo itself was fine in a great development. It was in a good location and relatively clean. Robert came with us to show us the set-up, give us keys, and let us know about local attractions etc. He then told us he would be very attentive to any needs we had, and would make sure they would be taken care of quickly. Because we didn’t have a phone, email was our form of contact.
We were tired after a long day of travel to get to the condo. In hindsight, I wish we would have been much more assertive when we saw how ill-equipped the condo was.
Robert showed me the kitchen, and its lack of amenities. There was practically nothing to cook with. Our stay was more expensive because we had to eat out rather than make a few meals. Bare bones would have been fine. This was less than bare bones.
We had two bedrooms, with three beds. Our first evening we discovered our sheets were not only dirty, but so thread barren that they were falling apart, and very pilled.
The second morning we immediately contacted Robert about the sheets, lack of a laundry room key, and a second house key (we were four adults), and the missing room safe key, that couldn’t be used either. Then we waited. And waited. We went about our vacation, but there was a nagging feeling that this was going to be an issue. It was. Plus on the second day the toilet broke.
I think Robert wanted to be helpful, but something wasn’t working. I can’t even guess what happened on his end, but the sheets got delivered, left in a hefty bag on our front porch (clean but still about 25 years old), the kitchen remained unfurnished (my fault, I just gave up). We got a second key on day two, on day three we got a safe key, the toilet never got fixed, and our vacation kind of ended with a fizzle rather than a bang. Bummer.
We do appreciate all reviews and this review and my my response, both, guests and hosts can learn from .
These guests made reservations months in advance which is a good thing however ownership and management of condominiums change on the average of every 2 to three years . The ownership of the original condo that these guests made reservations with had changed and the mangement as well .
I contacted the guests and we have numerous similar units and the reservation was made in a very similar unit with ocean view at the same price .
I am glad that these guests mentioned the following ítems .
1 / that I was there to let them in
2/ unit was clean , showed them the set up , explained things about the área ,
3/explained that we would be attentive and any needs would be taken care of quickly .
The above ítems are a hosts responsibility and both guests and myself as host were both present at check in and agreed to contact each other in a timely manner if any problems or needs arise .The above points are essential for all check ins .
This kitchen is equipped to make normal meals , it does not have pressure cookers , rice makers , waffle irons or crock pots . If a guest would like a particular ítem that we have in another unit we do let them borrow these ítems by request . No requests were made .
I did look at the sheets and yes they are old but are clean . I ask all owners to supply 2 sets of sheets . So the maids were at the unit to replace the sheets 4 times that day . The guests were out and the sheets were left at their door . The guests specifically asked that they prefered to not meet the maids .
The safe is an electronic safe and does not need a key but they prefered to have a key so we did supply one . Reading directions that are supplied on most safes would have solved this problem without an issue of looking for safe keys .
The toilet was functioning at check in and broke during the guests stay .
Dom the guest admits he gave up trying to have any ítems taken care of .
Most hosts including myself are not mind readers , Myself as a responsable seasoned host just need an email and a time allotment for any repairs or requested ítems to be taken care of .
We were in Costa Rica for a week in March and this condo was a great home base at such an affordable cost. The pool was clean and refreshing. We didn't have a car so it was perfect that there was a market, tour meeting location and the beach within a 5 to 10 minute walking distance. Robert was a great host who was very responsive and came very quickly to replace the lightbulb that had burnt out.
Muy decepcionada! Cuando llegamos, el apartamento "de lujo" no se parecía a las fotos publicadas. Estaba MUY sucio, no servia el internet, la cama doble estaba rota, las sabanas viejas, no tenia almohadas de verdad y 1 de las 2 sillas del balcón estaba rota. Tampoco estaba "totalmente equipado" como nos lo confirmó el host. Tuvimos que esperar hasta casi el mediodía del día siguiente para que reparasen la cama y el internet, así como la limpieza. El anfitrión no apareció ni llamó mas. Pasaron los días y nunca pusieron una segunda silla en el balcón ni nos trajeron las almohadas. Lo único bueno fue la ubicación muy tranquila y las piscinas del condominio buenas.
El condominio fue limpiado profesionalmente por nuestras camareras y la criada fue enviado por mi petición de limpiar y responder cualquier queja Susanna tenía. Si un cliente tiene problemas de limpieza que tomar esto muy en serio y nos hizo responder a esto de inmediato. Ella acababa de tener un bebé y entendemos la necesidad de una limpieza excepcional Cuando los invitados llegaron comprobaron el internet y me dijeron que todo estaba fine.During la noche, el internet se fue, a la mañana siguiente nos informó que el proveedor de internet, respondieron , y fue reparado por la mañana. había un listón que falta en la cama, así y esto también fue reparada en el momento oportuno. Nosotros tratamos de nuestro mejor esfuerzo para hacer las reparaciones necesarias antes de la llegada de invitados y acomodar todas las necesidades de los huéspedes y lo hacemos de buena gana y con alegría. Apreciamos todas las opiniones y que aprendemos de ellos y los clientes sólo tienen que tener un poco de paciencia cuando las reparaciones son necesarias durante su estancia.
Robert was an amazing host! He arranged transportation to and from the airport and when one of our friend's luggage did not make it, he stayed on top of Delta and coordinated the bag to be brought to our door. The condo was beautiful and the roof deck was breathtaking. The room was very clean and modern. The pools were beautiful and the people were so friendly. Robert was attentive and personable and really showed us the Pura Vida way! I would recommend Robert and his properties to anyone any time and we will definitely be back!!!!!
The good .... nice location, spacious unit, great view of the pool.
The bad ... poorly stocked with essentials. Had to have Robert get us some glasses and a pitcher. Toaster only half worked in our unit and the other unit rented by our friends didn't even have a toaster. It took several days to get the upstairs door and a/c fixed. All of the kitchen plug ins were located on the wall behind the stove top which could be a fire hazard.
The ugly ... Robert was supposed to pick us up at the airport but didn't show up. He later told me his car wasn't working. We took a taxi to Playa del Cocos arriving 2 pm and no one was at the condo with the keys. When we finally got a hold of Robert, he said the units were not cleaned yet. We finally got in around 4 pm. Any issues we expressed to Robert were me with the excuse that there were new owners and they were cheap. We found Robert unorganized and at times rude.
Joanne and her family were nice guests that had to experience a change in management . When a change in management occurs we do let guests know that the new management takes responsibility for all requested items . In the case of the toaster mentioned above the toaster worked the entire time of their stay but would only toast 2 pieces rather than 4 pieces at a time . The owner was made aware of this and was unwilling to replace it after Joanne and I both asked him . . I do not own the 30 condos that I manage and when owners say no, I do not beat around the bush,I tell guests the truth and in Joannes case the owner said no to several requests .Some guests take this as being rude , I just ask guests to be realistic about having to toast 2 slices at a time instead of 4 . We did compensate their entire group with free airport transportation and all the men in the family said all was ok with them and they had a very enjoyable, comfortable stay . I enjoyed having them stay and in my opinion I would have them all back again .
We stayed in C4 (I think) of the same units. It was good value for the money. Robert was easy to connect with online. He arranged a driver to pick us up in Liberia for $30, which was helpful.
The condo is a good price, considering it was 2b/2b, had access to a pool and was easy walking distance to the beach and reasonable walking distance to town. The condos are built around a pool area with a BBQ and outdoor showers. Not a lot of privacy but great access.
The condo itself was not terribly clean and the kitchen was poorly equipped (13 side plates, no bowls, 3 small tea cups, 3 ceramic and one plastic dinner plate and the strangest assortment of silverware) for a place designed to sleep 6 people. None of the pots and lids matched, there were no dish towels, and generally it wasn't great for cooking. There was a collection of beer bottles with cigarette butts on the back patio.
The condo was good for a family, though the stairs were very steep, tiled and without a handrail, which doesn't sound that bad until your dripping wet from the pool and your small kids are going up and down them.
Lastly, Robert didn't stop by to see us until several days into the stay after I called him (he was busy with clients). There was no welcome packet or anything. So we didn't know where to shop, where to return the keys (which the driver gave us), or what the wireless password was. It all worked out, but would have been nice to have some information via email or at the condo ahead of time.
All in all, a pretty good experience. We would probably stay there again if we went back to Coco.
Rebecca , thank you for your review and we do welcome you back .
I will ask the owners to install handrails in all of the units . I have gotten 3 done so far and would like to do nine more units .
I am glad you mentioned our driver picking you up in Liberia . Normally taxis charge $50 , we do our best to save our guests money .
We do ask guests to let us know if there is anything that they need including plates . When there are six guests we make sure that there are sufficient supplies to accommodate 6 guests .
We do not give out welcome packets . The owners are very concerned about cost and welcome packets are not in the budget .
This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.