Cozy bedroom with window to the garden.Bathroom with tub and shower.
Cozy Room in Bohemian Apartment Near Downtown

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This room is in a delightfully decorated vintage apartment. Located just a few minutes walk from Church St. and the lake, as well as both the UVM and Champlain College campuses. The petite vintage-inspired bedroom features a double bed, and view of the garden. The bathroom, kitchen and living room are shared with your hostess, Laura and her cat, Azalea. Care is given to providing you a sense of being welcomed in my home as well as a sense of privacy and utmost comfort .

The space

I am an eccentric artist so my apartment reflects that. If what you seek are clean and sterile Ikea lines, this isn't it. What you will find is a cozy, tidy, welcoming home influenced by my life growing up summering in an Adirondack Great Camp, living in the city, and my travels and experiences as a performer and artist. Please let me stress, if you are uncomfortable around anything not in the "main-stream norm", this is not for you.
I would love to share with like-minded and creative folks.
There are large windows, high ceilings and hardwood floors. The bathroom has a tub for relaxing baths and a powerful shower head.
You are welcome to relax and hang out on my back deck and look at the trees, the Adirondack Mountains and Lake Champlain, all in the distance.
The bedroom is small and cozy. You will snooze on a double mattress and look out the window into the garden and hear the tress whisper and the birds chirp!
There is generally plenty of free parking on my street.

Guest access

I try to keep things fairly simple as a host.
The room is in my apartment, which is an intimate space that you will be sharing with me. I do my best to make you feel welcome as well as to give you a sense of privacy.
Guests have access to their bedroom ,the living room, shared bathroom, and back deck.
I'm more than happy to make room in the fridge for delicious Vermont cheese and Heady Topper! And you may check in with me about using the kitchen.
I provide clean sheets, towels and fabulous hospitality. The full bathroom with tub/shower is shared with me. I promise that I'm not a bathroom hog.
Please note that check in time is no earlier than 2 pm and check out time is by 11 am. I will consider exceptions, if you ask!

Interaction with guests

The bedroom you will be staying in is right off of the living room and kitchen. I work freelance, so you may see me in apartment. However, I generally won't engage with you unless you feel like chatting. I like for guests to feel welcomed by my hospitality, but not overwhelmed by it.
I am happy to give you tips and info about Burlington and the surrounding areas, or just leave you to go about your business.
The place isn't huge, but I think that you will find it to be a nice place to relax when you are not out on the town, which is less than a 10 minute walk.

Other things to note

Please be aware that you renting a room in my apartment. I am around the house, when I'm not working various free-lance jobs, so don't expect complete privacy. I won't be in your face, but you will encounter me and my cat.
Myself and my home are an eclectic expression of a life well lived. If you like clean lines and Ikea furniture, this isn't the place for you. However, if you enjoy being in a place full of light, life and a few well-curated vintage items, this is your cozy spot for a respite during your stay in Beautiful Burlington, Vermont.
I live what some may consider "counter culture", varied and interesting and creative life,
and I encourage those with the same zest for variety and adventure to come and stay with me. However, I would suggest another place if you are not accustomed to vintage items and a "bohemian" lifestyle.
You will be warmly welcomed into a cozy, beautiful and delightful home.
I look forward to hosting you.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Some pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people $20 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $20
Supports Living Wage Pledge
People who clean this host’s listing are paid a living wage. Learn more
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM

When you arrive please call or text me at my number. Don't knock on the front door of my building as that is not where I live and I'd rather my neighbors don't feel bothered by my having guests.
No smoking in the house, but you may stare at the beautiful view and hang out on the back porch and puff.
I prefer that guests remove their shoes before entering my home, so consider bringing slippers. Otherwise, I am a very laid-back host.
I ask that my guests don't check in before 2 pm and are out by 11 am. But I am always open to exceptions if asked.
If you do forget toiletries, I do have some to borrow. Just ask!
Sorry, I am unable to host guests with pets.
I want you to feel at home. If there is anything that I can try to do to improve your stay, just ask!
Thank you!


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

239 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Emilie User ProfileEmilie is a superhost.
September 2017
Laura is the nicest. She lives pretty much downtown everything is accessible by a 10min walk. She has a lovely vintage appartement and was there to welcome me. I felt I had my own intimicy, but also had a great time with her. Seriously there is nothing more to say than get on it guys!

Chelsey User Profile
September 2017
Laura’s place was lovely! It’s in a really great location if you’re wanting to explore Burlington. Neighborhood was lively but super safe and the room is very quiet. The window at the end of the bed has the cutest garden view! The place was super clean and had a lot of nice decorations. Laura is an excellent communicator. Would go back anytime! Thanks !

Ronald User Profile
September 2017
This ia an amazingly tranquil and natural place in the heart of Burlington. The location is unbeatable if you want access to downtown Burlington or the Champlain College campus. The home is decorated with a sense of history and flair that make you want to know the story behind each object.

Peter User Profile
September 2017
This room was located in an apartment right across the street from Champlain College and very close to the University of Vermont and downtown Burlington. Very comfortable, furnishings include bed, dresser and a bureau. The bathroom was shared, though this is shared only with apartment owner and included a full bathtub/ shower, sink and extra supplies. The bedroom and bathroom are located off an tastefully decorated living room / kitchen area that provided ample seating to relax. Laura made me feel right at home offering me full run of the space. Very agreeable stay. I would definitely stay here again on a future trip to Burlington!

Karim User Profile
September 2017
The host is friendly, and the place is clean and comfortable. I'd happily come back.

Ariel User Profile
August 2017
Our stay at Laura's place was great. The apartment was extremely clean. The bed was very comfy. The location was perfect: walking distance to Lake Champlain and all the restaurants, bars, and shopping in Burlington.

Dawn User Profile
August 2017
Laura was a lovely host. I felt very welcome. It was a pleasure spending time in her home, meeting Azalea, the sweet cat and sitting with the stunning trees that are next to the house. I had the best night's sleep in a very long time. Such a great experience!

Burlington, Vermont, United StatesJoined in January 2014
Laura User ProfileLaura is a superhost.
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings