Semi-Detached Home With Nice Views

House - Private room · Fairfield Ave, Bath, England BA1 6NH, United Kingdom
Petra
Your host, Petra
132 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

Our house is a 1940s semi-detached building in a residential area not far from the centre of Bath. We can offer one of our two sitting rooms which converts into a private bedroom. A sofa bed folds out to a king size comfortable double bed, all our bedding is made of 100% cotton and towels and hairdryer are provided. There is also a very small single bedroom (just space for sleeping in a full size single bed) available upstairs. It is very quiet in our street at night and many guests have commented on how well they have slept here. Bathroom and kitchen are shared with the host family. Guest are welcome to help themselves to hot drinks at all times and to store items of food in the fridge.

You will enjoy great views across the valley from the garden and its sheltered patio. We are a vegetarian household and provide a wholesome cold buffet style breakfast (muesli/ porridge/ yoghurt/ wholemeal toast or rolls with a number of different spreads or cheeses/ boiled eggs/ fresh fruit and tea, fresh coffee and juice ) included in the price with the option of an occasional vegetarian meal with us where I would ask for a contribution towards the cost. I'm happy to cater for people with special dietary needs providing I know in advance.

The house is situated on the north east side of the historical City of Bath, about 30 minutes on foot or less than 10 minutes by car from the centre, yet very close to open countryside with some lovely walks. One of those takes you to an old Norman chapel, surrounded by an old cemetery and a holy well in an enchanting garden.

The bus stops opposite the house and takes about 20 minutes to the bus and train station.

There's plenty of on-street parking and the neighbourhood is very pleasant.

Bath is a popular tourist attraction, with a cosmopolitan ambience but small enough to explore its historical sights and unique architecture on foot. The city has a variety of great restaurants, some of which are very reasonably priced . There are several Indian restaurants where you can bring your own wine, one in fact a mere 5 minute walk from our house.
The nearest local shop also is within easy reach on foot.

Theatres, cinemas, sport-centres, the famous spa-bath, museums, art galleries, pubs and night-clubs - it's all there.

Bristol is 15 mins away by train whilst Salisbury, Oxford and famous sites such as Stonehenge, Avebury and Glastonbury or the beaches of the south coast are within easy reach for a day out.

Non-smokers. No Pets.

Wi-Fi

The Neighborhood

Rolling green hills, lovely views, walks into the open countryside 5 minutes from our house, 25 minutes to walk to the city centre, hilly but with great views, the centre of Bath has lots of interesting shops and restaurants and tourist attractions.

Getting around

bus stop right opposite our house

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 2
Extra people: $21 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $353 /week
Security Deposit: $123
Cleaning Fee: $5
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Flexible
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • My stay at Petra's was perfect.
    The room was clean and spacious.
    The place is a bit away from the city center but can access by bus easily and the area was so nice and quiet.
    The health conscious breakfast was just perfect for me. (Very impressed with fresh raspberries picked straight from her garden!)
    I enjoyed chatting with Petra over a cup of tea and breakfast. I wish i could have stayed longer!

    July 2014
  • Dear Petra and Dick; It was really a pleasure to share 3 days with you. We felt really at home and we had the oportunity to meet your family, what was one of the best things of our trip to Bath. The room was clean and perfect, and the breakfast couldn't have been better. Perfect place to stay, quiet neighbourhood and plenty of space to leave the car.You were a perfect hosts ,warm and kind and we always remember our breakfast chats.
    Thank you very much for make our stay unforgettable

    June 2014
  • Really nice couple in the quiet city! We really enjoy it! Good sleep. Petra own a charming garden!

    June 2014
  • Fantastic Experience as they catered for myself with my parents and daughter. Very friendly and welcoming family. A fantastic house as well, with lovely views over the countryside, very worldly. Excellent and Filling Breakfast. Thankyou so much for the hospitality!

    June 2014
  • Petra and her husband are lovely people and we really had fun staying with them. The room is very comfortable and breakfast was more than adequate. The priceless part of the experience was meeting our hosts and having a chance to talk about Bath and the UK over coffee. Staying with the Majors is - in the best sense - an adventure.

    June 2014
  • My mom and I enjoyed staying at your place. You guys are very nice and hospitable. I would suggest to other to stay there.

    June 2014
  • This was my first airbnb experience and it was really lovely, Petra and Dick made me feel so welcome and the room was very spacious and comfortable.
    The bus into town is right outside the door or it's just a 15 minute walk downhill into town.
    They have a beautiful garden where we had breakfast together on a sunny day. Travelling on my own as I was it was really nice to have people to chat with about my experience, Petra and Dick are great hosts.

    May 2014
  • Petra and Dick are really kind.. really helpful. Provide really great service and nice breakfast.
    Thanks alot Petra! Love the place! ... definitely will visit you and Dick again someday..

    May 2014
  • Dick and Petra are wonderful host, they are very friendly and the house is beautiful
    We enjoy the breakfast very much
    Location is okay taxi takes around 8 pounds and its a nice walk to the city centre.

    May 2014
  • Petra was an excellent host. We had a very short time in Bath so we were out quite a bit, but it didn't bother her at all. She was willing to work around our running in and out and took great care of us. Room was big and comfy, half bath downstairs made getting ready in the morning very easy. We enjoyed breakfast with her and her husband as well, great stay overall.

    April 2014
Per Month
From
$60
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 212 times
Languages
Deutsch, English, Español
About
Hi, My name is Petra. Both my husband and I are quite sociable and enjoy meeting people. I work part-time teaching German which means that I can spend parts of the day at home. My favourite thing is dancing - Swing, Argentine Tango and a bit of Salsa and that keeps me busy two or three evenings a week. Otherwise I sew, experiment with cooking and in the summer we more or less live in the garden. When we can get away we usually head to southern Europe as we love the mediterranean climate and way of life. We would love to welcome you to our house, please send us a message if you have any questions. Thanks.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
5 days ago
Similar Listings